We have moved at community.getvera.com

Poll

Vote: Who prefers UI3 over UI2

I installed UI3 and love it
3 (8.6%)
I'm still on UI3 because UI2 is EndOfLife
9 (25.7%)
I uninstalled UI3 because it's unusable
14 (40%)
I uninstalled it, UI2 is much better
9 (25.7%)

Total Members Voted: 32

Author Topic: Who is using the UI3 and hasn't gone back?  (Read 13895 times)

Offline shady

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1331
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • This monkey knows his Window Coverings!
Re: Who is using the UI3 and hasn't gone back?
« Reply #30 on: February 19, 2010, 07:04:47 pm »
Understood WSeverino, I guess my post was really trying to illustrate the internet delay for the command to hop across the country, it sounds like yours would have been 18-19 seconds with inner delays.  I always wondered about a 5,000 sq ft Z-Wave house that had all 255 various devices all controlled though multiple control points from Key FOBs to Remotes to Gateways.  If that elusive Z-Wave test house exists I don't know, but it sounds like you have a fifth of the maximum amount of devices and you are having considerable delays.

It makes you wonder if it is Z-Wave itself or the mix of different devices and manufacturers that is causing the slow down.  I could see myself with maybe 50 devices one day, but I hope it remains useable at that size.
Vera3 1.5.346, Schlage (3)DB (2)Lever, Kwikset (1)Lever, RCS TZ43 Thermo, (2) Vizia RZI06-1LX 600W Dimmers, (17) Monster (Leviton) Dimmers (6) Monster (Leviton) IWC Scene Controllers (1) Etherrain-8, (3) HSM 100's (1)GE 3-Way set

Offline wseverino

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 854
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Da Man, Da Myth, Da Legend - in his own mind!
Re: Who is using the UI3 and hasn't gone back?
« Reply #31 on: February 19, 2010, 08:35:44 pm »
Ok - I did something today.....I built the network from scratch today and started with UI3. I have to say that I am actually pleased with the responsiveness of UI3. Must have been some ghosts in the memory that was causing the issues.
My ZWave Network: Too friggin big to list.....

Offline huwu

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 233
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Who is using the UI3 and hasn't gone back?
« Reply #32 on: February 20, 2010, 07:07:17 am »
I miss the box "I'm still on UI3 because I dread to downgrade and the UI is not that relevant to me."

My Z-Wave:Vera3, VeraEdge, 4*Dimmer, 14*RollerShutter, 4*PlugIn,9*Binary, 8*SmokeSensor, 2*Remote, 1*Siren, 1*RangeExtender, 1*Sensor, 1*BatterySwitch. Devices from:Duewi, Merten, HomePro, Trickle, Everspring, Fibaro, Aeon, Vision and MiCasa Verde

Offline strangely

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3722
  • Karma: +34/-2
  • Vera 1,3 & V light
Re: Who is using the UI3 and hasn't gone back?
« Reply #33 on: March 29, 2010, 12:50:22 am »
Ok - I did something today.....I built the network from scratch today and started with UI3. I have to say that I am actually pleased with the responsiveness of UI3. Must have been some ghosts in the memory that was causing the issues.
I built mine from scratch with UI3 due to a self induced Vera Bricking after an accidental download :) For the most part its pretty instantaneous and the only time i notice delays is when going through the findvera/mobile interface.
Kwickset locks, HA01C, HA14C, HA02C, HA03C, HA05C, HA04C, HA07C, HA09C, Aeon HEM, GE 45604, 45606, 45609, ZDP100, VRF01-1LZ, WDTC-20, HA18WD, WDHA-12R, HRDS1, HM-TS001, AC1-ZW, TV-IP110, BL-C210A, LUUP control- EtherRain8, DSC Alarm, HDMI matrix, HR24-200, Panasonic TV, SQblaster

Offline shady

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1331
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • This monkey knows his Window Coverings!
Re: Who is using the UI3 and hasn't gone back?
« Reply #34 on: March 29, 2010, 01:01:02 am »
UI3 was pretty responsive for me too, with a fresh network.  I just downgraded to UI2 so I could use the EtherRain Sprinkler PlugIn, which works great through SQ Remote too.  I had to rebuild my setup except for the devices and I think some of the delays I had with UI3 in the end migrated over.  It must be corrupted tables/data on the stick and the best cure is to reset and re add all devices, I guess.
Vera3 1.5.346, Schlage (3)DB (2)Lever, Kwikset (1)Lever, RCS TZ43 Thermo, (2) Vizia RZI06-1LX 600W Dimmers, (17) Monster (Leviton) Dimmers (6) Monster (Leviton) IWC Scene Controllers (1) Etherrain-8, (3) HSM 100's (1)GE 3-Way set