We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: New Form Factor Vera with Beta UI Factory Installed  (Read 34101 times)

Offline pwhartman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
New Form Factor Vera with Beta UI Factory Installed
« on: February 10, 2010, 08:25:47 pm »
I ordered Vera last week and just received a apparently new model of this unit, no dongle (built-in) and using the flash-based UI. Can't get any devices to be recognized even though I had no issues with ThinkEssentials (yes this has been shutdown).

So far very unimpressed, I really don't appreciate getting a unit with beta software installed and scant documentation.

Any help or should i just return the unit?
« Last Edit: February 10, 2010, 08:50:45 pm by pwhartman »

Offline zmistro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 966
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: New Form Factor Vera with Beta UI Installed
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2010, 08:33:29 pm »
Can you tell us what version of the firmware and where you purchased the unit.

Offline pwhartman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: New Form Factor Vera with Beta UI Installed
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2010, 08:37:07 pm »
1.1.211 and purchased directly from micasaverde. Apparently I am one of the first (oh joy).

Offline zmistro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 966
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: New Form Factor Vera with Beta UI Factory Installed
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2010, 09:17:25 pm »
This is unbelievable. They sent you a new product with a Beta firmware.
When you purchased this were you aware of the beta status?

Offline mikeholczer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 413
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: New Form Factor Vera with Beta UI Factory Installed
« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2010, 09:43:55 pm »
@Zmistro: I have to agree with you on this.

http://micasaverde.com/specifications.php still shows pictures of the ASUS device and lists 5 ethernet ports as part of the spec.

Offline mikeholczer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 413
  • Karma: +0/-0

Offline CMRancho

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1008
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: New Form Factor Vera with Beta UI Factory Installed
« Reply #6 on: February 10, 2010, 09:53:25 pm »
Wow. This is the definition of a train wreck.
Vera123beta; Schlage, Kwikset, TZEMT400; Linksys cams, Smarteye cams, HSM100; Aeon, Everspring, Cooper, Leviton, Intermatic, FortrezZ, Global Caché, USB-UIRT, Somfy, etc.

Offline wseverino

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 854
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Da Man, Da Myth, Da Legend - in his own mind!
Re: New Form Factor Vera with Beta UI Factory Installed
« Reply #7 on: February 10, 2010, 10:11:36 pm »
MCV please advise on whats going on here. More and more new customers are coming on here pissed off since they are the guinea pigs that get stuck with UI3 and its issues with a beta product that really is an alpha release.

My ZWave Network: Too friggin big to list.....

Offline zmistro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 966
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: New Form Factor Vera with Beta UI Factory Installed
« Reply #8 on: February 10, 2010, 11:25:04 pm »
I thought that all products like the new form factor is needs to be Zwave certified.
MCV is this product certified?

Offline far182

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: New Form Factor Vera with Beta UI Factory Installed
« Reply #9 on: February 11, 2010, 12:20:01 am »
I was just about to buy another unit for my vacation home.  I will hold off until this is sorted.  Personally, I only want Vera units with the dongle.  It would be a major pain to have to take the unit to a device to configure it.  Talk about inefficient...

This whole new direction of MCV makes me start to consider other platforms.  Anyone have an alternative?  I really need something that works with the 3-way sensors that you can trigger a scene with temperature.


Offline denix

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1088
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: New Form Factor Vera with Beta UI Factory Installed
« Reply #10 on: February 11, 2010, 01:25:15 am »
Is it the same new unit (lovely called Vera2) as discussed in the other thread?

http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php?topic=3127.0
Veras (1, 2, 3, Lite, Plus), lots of different Z-Wave modules, Luup plugins and theater/security integration.

Offline twerdahl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: New Form Factor Vera with Beta UI Factory Installed
« Reply #11 on: February 11, 2010, 02:07:10 am »
UGH!  I'm brand new to Vera -- just received my unit today.  The HW and the UI DO NOT MATCH what I bought based on their web site.  The UI is TERRIBLE with tiny, unreadable, confusing controls.  Plus, since it comes with no docs, as a newbie I'm totally lost.

BAD, BAD, BAD initial experience.

mcvovidiu

  • Guest
Re: New Form Factor Vera with Beta UI Factory Installed
« Reply #12 on: February 11, 2010, 01:21:13 pm »
Hi all,

We are making progresses every day and we will release a firmware which has fixes and the CPU overload was fixed also.

Offline pwhartman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: New Form Factor Vera with Beta UI Factory Installed
« Reply #13 on: February 11, 2010, 01:56:01 pm »
Hi all,

We are making progresses every day and we will release a firmware which has fixes and the CPU overload was fixed also.

firmware 1.1.220-1 did not change Vera's apparent inability to join Z-wave devices to the network.

Offline zmistro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 966
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: New Form Factor Vera with Beta UI Factory Installed
« Reply #14 on: February 11, 2010, 02:08:03 pm »
Hi all,

We are making progresses every day and we will release a firmware which has fixes and the CPU overload was fixed also.

firmware 1.1.220-1 did not change Vera's apparent inability to join Z-wave devices to the network.
can you please elaborate?