We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: News about HomeKit and Vera  (Read 307688 times)

Offline Jacesparks

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #90 on: June 07, 2015, 11:03:12 pm »
Also in reference to lock permission see https://github.com/npm/npm/issues/4815

This fixed it!!!  I'M LIVE!  Thank you so much!  Definitely going to pick up a Raspberry Pi now.

Offline rafale77

  • Community Beta
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1749
  • Karma: +101/-27
  • HA ≠ IoT as a blue sky is cloudless.
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #91 on: June 07, 2015, 11:32:33 pm »
Anhman, it would seem Brientim is correct. Apparently my garage door plugin is wrong. I've pushed a quick and dirty hack that should make light switch style garage doors work, go ahead and try.

Got some new white hair. Somehow every time I test it, it throws my garage opener out of my vera: it says the device fails to configure. The only way I found to recover is to add device again and push the pairing button on Linear GD00Z. Sometimes I even have to reboot the vera and force a configure now to the vera and push the pairing button again. At some point, I thought the vera was too far from the GD00Z...
It is difficult how sending a commend to the vera to open the garage door would make this happen... I just used the name garage door... Not working.
openLuup (79 devices, 141 scenes, 19 apps) master to VeraPlus (142 zwave nodes, 8 Zigbee nodes, 221 devices,  20 scenes , 2 apps) +  Hubitat (15 Zigbee nodes) + Home-Assistant (API Integrations). Bridged to Siri and Alexa. Homewave. VeraPlus ExtRooted and mios server independent.

Offline iamfd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #92 on: June 08, 2015, 01:34:37 am »
Nice, I got this to work, it's pretty sweet other than a few issues.  Does anyone else have these problems?

1. Siri/Homekit doesn't think I have any lights installed.  I have both dimmable switches and regular switches.  However, if I say "Turn off Family Room lights", Siri responds that she can't find any lights.  However, if I say "Turn off Family Room" (without the term 'lights'), the lights turn off just fine.
2. Siri won't turn off dimmable switches with 'on/off' commands.  I have to say "Dim Living Room lights to 0%" to turn off or "Dim Living Room lights to 100%" to turn on.
3. Siri doesn't seem to recognize multiple garage doors.  When referencing one garage door through the MyTouchHome app, I can raise lower them individually, but if I ask Siri to do it, both of them go up and down simultaneously.

If anyone has figured out how to resolve these issues, please let me know.  Otherwise, it's pretty fun!

Strange! When I say "Turn off Family Room Light", then Siri shows "Turn off Family Room Light custom" and does indeed turn the light off. However, when I say "Turn off Living Room light" then Siri says it can't find the light. Will need to try it out by skipping the word "light" and see how that goes.

Offline iamfd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #93 on: June 08, 2015, 01:36:56 am »
Thanks Hackworth! I got a hold of a Raspberry Pi 2 over the weekend and installed from your Git package and everything worked the first time, unlike my struggles before when trying it on Windows.

Offline Hackworth

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
  • Karma: +13/-8
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #94 on: June 08, 2015, 01:50:45 am »
@anhman, WTF??? My quick hack was to have it request both a door lock and switch state change, the Vera will just tell you there's no implementation if you used an urn that wasn't appropriate for that device ID. I haven't got a clue what's going on....

@iamfd, I've seen the "custom" thing too. I've also seen a weird flashing cursor half way off the screen? Doesn't seem to hurt anything. I've learned to just never say "light" to make Siri happy. Obviously we're finding out Siri + HomeKit still has some bugs to work out, it would be nice if I could use my shiny new Apple Watch but it just tells you to go use your iPhone for HomeKit commands. Sigh. Glad you got it working, and thanks!

Offline rafale77

  • Community Beta
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1749
  • Karma: +101/-27
  • HA ≠ IoT as a blue sky is cloudless.
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #95 on: June 08, 2015, 02:03:02 am »
@anhman, WTF??? My quick hack was to have it request both a door lock and switch state change, the Vera will just tell you there's no implementation if you used an urn that wasn't appropriate for that device ID. I haven't got a clue what's going on....


On the bright side, It is calling out the right device ID. Somehow it throws the Vera off. My guess is that the GD00Z must not like the door lock state change so it forces a reconfiguration.
One thing I noticed after I tried sending the command, the GD00Z acts really strange while trying to reconfigure (and failing) I can try to manually open and close and the switch appears to turn on and off on the Vera but the GD00Z does nothing. Maybe should go back to just a switch state change? The positive is really that it recognized the garage door and sent the command for the correct device to the Vera.
There is also needs to be a long period of time (maybe 10s) between the command is sent and a response from the device comes back to update the status for the door to actually complete the action. Not sure if it is part of the problem.
openLuup (79 devices, 141 scenes, 19 apps) master to VeraPlus (142 zwave nodes, 8 Zigbee nodes, 221 devices,  20 scenes , 2 apps) +  Hubitat (15 Zigbee nodes) + Home-Assistant (API Integrations). Bridged to Siri and Alexa. Homewave. VeraPlus ExtRooted and mios server independent.

Offline Hackworth

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
  • Karma: +13/-8
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #96 on: June 08, 2015, 02:07:46 am »
You went back to the unmodified, out of the box XML file, right? This is what it would be sending:

Code: [Select]
http://IPADDRESS:3480/data_request?id=lu_action&output_format=xml&DeviceNum=DEVICEID&serviceId=urn:upnp-org:serviceId:SwitchPower1&action=SetTarget&newTargetValue=1
Can you run that manually and tell me what happens?

Offline rafale77

  • Community Beta
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1749
  • Karma: +101/-27
  • HA ≠ IoT as a blue sky is cloudless.
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #97 on: June 08, 2015, 02:20:24 am »
Yes the XML file is the default D_binaryswitch one. When I tested the URL, the garage door opens.

If you could get the bridge to send this very command to the device which was succesfully recognized, it would be great.
« Last Edit: June 08, 2015, 04:26:57 am by anhman »
openLuup (79 devices, 141 scenes, 19 apps) master to VeraPlus (142 zwave nodes, 8 Zigbee nodes, 221 devices,  20 scenes , 2 apps) +  Hubitat (15 Zigbee nodes) + Home-Assistant (API Integrations). Bridged to Siri and Alexa. Homewave. VeraPlus ExtRooted and mios server independent.

Offline cybrmage

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1104
  • Karma: +113/-43
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #98 on: June 08, 2015, 05:15:35 am »
Do not change your device file, it is correctly defined. A Garage Door should Category 1 Sub Cat 5.  You should be able to see this in the Advanced section variables.

http://ip_address:3480/data_request?id=user_data&output_format=xml

For more information, see wiki below:

http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Luup_UPNP_Files#Device_Categories

Actually... A garage door should be Category 3 (a Switch) Subcategory 5 (Garage Door)... See http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Luup_Device_Categories

Offline Hackworth

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
  • Karma: +13/-8
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #99 on: June 08, 2015, 10:27:43 am »
@anhman - What does this command do?

http://IPADDRESS:3480/data_request?id=lu_action&output_format=xml&DeviceNum=DEVICEID&serviceId=urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:DoorLock1&action=SetTarget&newTargetValue=1

@cybrmage - Correct. VeraHomeKitBridge will handle Category 3 and Cat 5 devices named in the config.json. Or at least, is supposed to.

Offline rafale77

  • Community Beta
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1749
  • Karma: +101/-27
  • HA ≠ IoT as a blue sky is cloudless.
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #100 on: June 08, 2015, 11:46:13 am »
@anhman - What does this command do?

http://IPADDRESS:3480/data_request?id=lu_action&output_format=xml&DeviceNum=DEVICEID&serviceId=urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:DoorLock1&action=SetTarget&newTargetValue=1

@cybrmage - Correct. VeraHomeKitBridge will handle Category 3 and Cat 5 devices named in the config.json. Or at least, is supposed to.

This throws the GD00Z out of the Vera. I get a message that the lock is not configured and the Vera is trying to configure the lock.
openLuup (79 devices, 141 scenes, 19 apps) master to VeraPlus (142 zwave nodes, 8 Zigbee nodes, 221 devices,  20 scenes , 2 apps) +  Hubitat (15 Zigbee nodes) + Home-Assistant (API Integrations). Bridged to Siri and Alexa. Homewave. VeraPlus ExtRooted and mios server independent.

Offline Hackworth

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
  • Karma: +13/-8
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #101 on: June 08, 2015, 11:59:06 am »
What the actual I will not swear? That should NOT happen. Okay, I'll have a fix together for you when I have a chance to work on it, I'll have to make it care about the actual urn of devices instead of simply categories.

Edit: Apparently this forum replaces curse words with "I will not swear." Cute.

Offline Brientim

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2497
  • Karma: +78/-7
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #102 on: June 08, 2015, 12:36:00 pm »
If there is an issue as being described above, I would recommend the lu_invoke syntax using the following process:

You can confirm what services, commands and html syntax are available using the command below in your browser:
http://<VeraIP>:3480/data_request?id=lu_invoke&DeviceNum=<DeviceID>
Replace <VeraIP> and <DeviceID> with details from you unit and device.
E.g. http://192.168.1.2:3480/data_request?id=lu_invoke&DeviceNum=402

Drill down as required, click the link and then copy the command from your browser command line.

Once you have the information,  and if it is different, as per the last post set the "newTargetValue=1" and do you experience the same outcome?



Offline Brientim

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2497
  • Karma: +78/-7
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #103 on: June 08, 2015, 12:38:48 pm »

Do not change your device file, it is correctly defined. A Garage Door should Category 1 Sub Cat 5.  You should be able to see this in the Advanced section variables.

http://ip_address:3480/data_request?id=user_data&output_format=xml

For more information, see wiki below:

http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Luup_UPNP_Files#Device_Categories

Actually... A garage door should be Category 3 (a Switch) Subcategory 5 (Garage Door)... See http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Luup_Device_Categories

Correct, good pick up. That was just rushing to type in a few minutes window before I had to go and do sometime else, but failed to insert the correct data.

Offline Hackworth

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
  • Karma: +13/-8
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #104 on: June 08, 2015, 04:12:08 pm »
@anhman - I just pushed a change, can you try it? I'm not home and can't test it, so hopefully I didn't break anything...