We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: News about HomeKit and Vera  (Read 307621 times)

Offline rlmalisz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 400
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #360 on: December 14, 2015, 02:04:30 pm »
@rlmalisz Absolutely, once I'm home. In the meantime, I've been poking around for other people with the issue and they're suggesting one of your devices is causing it to die. I've got two ideas, one you could look at your http://IPADDRESS:51826/accessories file (after running it through a json formatter service) and see if anything looks wrong, for instance a value is outside a min or max value. The second is you could git checkout 15d263 which is the commit right before I converted this to bridge mode, then go add *every* device individually and note which fails to add.

Also, do you have window coverings or garage doors?

Can do, it may be a day or two before I get it done.

Yes on garage doors, using the garage door plugin.  And yes on window coverings, but they're being controlled as dimmable lights via a plugin I wrote myself.  They're Hunter Douglas, so they actually report position and can have position set explicitly, so the window covering Vera interface was underwhelming.

Offline Hackworth

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
  • Karma: +13/-8
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #361 on: December 14, 2015, 02:13:14 pm »
You might want to poke at those two first, especially the window covering. I too am using the garage door plugin, so I'm reasonably sure that's not causing the issue. I don't have any window coverings, so I'm less sure about that.

Offline rlmalisz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 400
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #362 on: December 14, 2015, 04:30:47 pm »
BTW, I am still on UI5 (early version) Vera 2.  Hope to migrate over the Christmas break to the V3 that's been sitting in a drawer for a year+.

I would hope that would make no difference.  But it's worth mentioning.

--Richard

Offline hollicgn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #363 on: December 15, 2015, 02:38:40 am »
I'm using VeraHomeKitBridge (latest updates) on my Raspberry (newest Desbian Jessie lite OS) and everything works fine so far  :D

But I have 2 questions:

1)
I start the HomeKitBridge in the appropriate directory with "nmp run start" but I'd like to start the Bridge automatically during the booting process of my raspberry.  I've tried to realize that with "Forever" and "PM2" but it doesn't work. Maybe I'm to stupid for that  ???
Can anybody explain me how I can realize the autostart of VeraHomeKitBridge, maybe with a script or something?

2)
I use several roller shutters (window coverings), controlled by Vera. In EVE or mytouchhome they were shown as dimmers. So I have to say ON or OF to Siri instead of OPEN or CLOSE. I know that Apple HomeKit actually supports no roller shutters. But is there a workaround? I found something in this forum to use it as a door lock  ???

Sorry in advance if these are stupid questions, but I'm a beginner  :-\
« Last Edit: December 15, 2015, 02:44:32 am by hollicgn »

Offline rlmalisz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 400
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #364 on: December 15, 2015, 10:15:19 pm »
@rlmalisz Absolutely, once I'm home. In the meantime, I've been poking around for other people with the issue and they're suggesting one of your devices is causing it to die. I've got two ideas, one you could look at your http://IPADDRESS:51826/accessories file (after running it through a json formatter service) and see if anything looks wrong, for instance a value is outside a min or max value. The second is you could git checkout 15d263 which is the commit right before I converted this to bridge mode, then go add *every* device individually and note which fails to add.

Also, do you have window coverings or garage doors?

So the formatted json from "accessories" for our system is just shy of 23K lines.  This is going to take some time.  Is there any chance that we're blowing out the end of some conservatively sized data structure?

--Richard

Can do, it may be a day or two before I get it done.

Yes on garage doors, using the garage door plugin.  And yes on window coverings, but they're being controlled as dimmable lights via a plugin I wrote myself.  They're Hunter Douglas, so they actually report position and can have position set explicitly, so the window covering Vera interface was underwhelming.

Offline rlmalisz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 400
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #365 on: December 15, 2015, 10:19:57 pm »
@rlmalisz Absolutely, once I'm home. In the meantime, I've been poking around for other people with the issue and they're suggesting one of your devices is causing it to die. I've got two ideas, one you could look at your http://IPADDRESS:51826/accessories file (after running it through a json formatter service) and see if anything looks wrong, for instance a value is outside a min or max value. The second is you could git checkout 15d263 which is the commit right before I converted this to bridge mode, then go add *every* device individually and note which fails to add.

Also, do you have window coverings or garage doors?

So the formatted json from "accessories" for our system is just shy of 23K lines.  This is going to take some time.  Is there any chance that we're blowing out the end of some conservatively sized data structure?

--Richard

Can do, it may be a day or two before I get it done.

Yes on garage doors, using the garage door plugin.  And yes on window coverings, but they're being controlled as dimmable lights via a plugin I wrote myself.  They're Hunter Douglas, so they actually report position and can have position set explicitly, so the window covering Vera interface was underwhelming.

So I am seeing some entries in the accessories file where the description is "BlaBla":

Code: [Select]
                  {

                     "iid": 9,

                     "type": "0000000E-0000-1000-8000-0026BB765291",

                     "perms": [

                        "pr",

                        "ev"

                     ],

                     "format": "int",

                     "value": 0,

                     "description": "BlaBla",

                     "maxValue": 4,

                     "minValue": 0,

                     "minStep": 1

                  },

Is this odd, or what?

guest20975

  • Guest
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #366 on: December 16, 2015, 10:38:44 am »
 Have 2 Vera edges covering my home. I want to use VeraHomeKitBridge to control both Vera's, how do I do this?(I have successfully set up for one Vera)

Offline rafale77

  • Community Beta
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1749
  • Karma: +101/-27
  • HA ≠ IoT as a blue sky is cloudless.
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #367 on: December 16, 2015, 12:17:26 pm »
You can setup two bridges on different ports of the same computer or use two computers each with its own bridge. You would also have to look into the code to find where the bridge port is defined and change it manually. If I remember correctly it is in app.js towards the end.
openLuup (79 devices, 141 scenes, 19 apps) master to VeraPlus (142 zwave nodes, 8 Zigbee nodes, 221 devices,  20 scenes , 2 apps) +  Hubitat (15 Zigbee nodes) + Home-Assistant (API Integrations). Bridged to Siri and Alexa. Homewave. VeraPlus ExtRooted and mios server independent.

Offline Hackworth

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
  • Karma: +13/-8
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #368 on: December 16, 2015, 02:12:30 pm »
@rlmalisz -  ;D Or What. That's actually in the HAP-NodeJS Garage Door accessory template.

@dsroberts1945 - You can't run it twice on the same box since it has to register a name in Bonjour. You could run it in a bridged VM or run it on a separate box.

Offline simol

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #369 on: December 17, 2015, 04:48:40 pm »
Hi,
I have the same issue of rlmalisz (or similar):

Code: [Select]
VeraLink ------ Temp sensor Added: Allarme in corso +0ms
  VeraLink ------ Temp sensor Added: Antincendio +11ms
  VeraLink ------ Switch Added: Luce Balcone +10ms
  VeraLink ------ Switch Added: Luce Cucina +3ms
  VeraLink ------ Switch Added: Luce Mobile +2ms
  VeraLink ------ Switch Added: Luci Natale +1ms
  VeraLink ------ Switch Added: Multimedia +3ms
  VeraLink ------ Temp sensor Added: Radar Balcone +1ms
  VeraLink ------ Temp sensor Added: Stato Allarme +2ms
  Accessory [Allarme in corso] Creating new AccessoryInfo for our HAP server +3ms
  Accessory [Allarme in corso] Creating new IdentifierCache +10ms
  Accessory [Antincendio] Creating new AccessoryInfo for our HAP server +15ms
  Accessory [Antincendio] Creating new IdentifierCache +1ms
  Accessory [Luce Balcone] Creating new AccessoryInfo for our HAP server +3ms
  Accessory [Luce Balcone] Creating new IdentifierCache +1ms
  Accessory [Luce Cucina] Creating new AccessoryInfo for our HAP server +2ms
  Accessory [Luce Cucina] Creating new IdentifierCache +1ms
  Accessory [Luce Mobile] Creating new AccessoryInfo for our HAP server +1ms
  Accessory [Luce Mobile] Creating new IdentifierCache +1ms
  Accessory [Luci Natale] Creating new AccessoryInfo for our HAP server +3ms
  Accessory [Luci Natale] Creating new IdentifierCache +1ms
  Accessory [Multimedia] Creating new AccessoryInfo for our HAP server +2ms
  Accessory [Multimedia] Creating new IdentifierCache +1ms
  Accessory [Radar Balcone] Creating new AccessoryInfo for our HAP server +2ms
  Accessory [Radar Balcone] Creating new IdentifierCache +0ms
  Accessory [Stato Allarme] Creating new AccessoryInfo for our HAP server +3ms
  Accessory [Stato Allarme] Creating new IdentifierCache +11ms
  EventedHTTPServer Server listening on port 5228 +12ms
  EventedHTTPServer Server listening on port 5336 +9ms
  EventedHTTPServer Server listening on port 5442 +8ms
  EventedHTTPServer Server listening on port 5446 +5ms
  EventedHTTPServer Server listening on port 5450 +5ms
  EventedHTTPServer Server listening on port 5406 +5ms
  EventedHTTPServer Server listening on port 5230 +5ms
  EventedHTTPServer Server listening on port 5212 +5ms
  EventedHTTPServer Server listening on port 5226 +4ms
  EventedHTTPServer [10.0.0.72] New connection from client +18s
  EventedHTTPServer [10.0.0.72] HTTP server listening on port 54826 +1ms
  EventedHTTPServer [10.0.0.72] HTTP request: /pair-setup +12ms
  HAPServer [D0:98:17:15:05:55] HAP Request: POST /pair-setup +1ms
  HAPServer [D0:98:17:15:05:55] Pair step 1/5 +3ms
  EventedHTTPServer [10.0.0.72] HTTP Repsonse is finished +36ms
  EventedHTTPServer [10.0.0.72] HTTP request: /pair-setup +6s
  HAPServer [D0:98:17:15:05:55] HAP Request: POST /pair-setup +0ms
  HAPServer [D0:98:17:15:05:55] Pair step 2/5 +2ms
  EventedHTTPServer [10.0.0.72] HTTP Repsonse is finished +24ms
  EventedHTTPServer [10.0.0.72] HTTP request: /pair-setup +9ms
  HAPServer [D0:98:17:15:05:55] HAP Request: POST /pair-setup +0ms
  HAPServer [D0:98:17:15:05:55] Pair step 3/5 +2ms
  HAPServer [D0:98:17:15:05:55] Pair step 4/5 +10ms
  HAPServer [D0:98:17:15:05:55] Pair step 5/5 +2ms
  Accessory [Luce Balcone] Paired with client 41A2BADC-E0E1-4141-BFA0-29093C7CCC48 +5ms
  EventedHTTPServer [10.0.0.72] HTTP Repsonse is finished +6ms
  EventedHTTPServer [10.0.0.72] Client connection closed +51ms
  EventedHTTPServer [10.0.0.72] HTTP connection was closed +2ms
  EventedHTTPServer [10.0.0.72] HTTP server was closed +1ms

On the client (Insteon, EVE, ecc) the error is "Unable to comunicate with the device".

As attached the accessories list.

Thanks for the support

Offline rlmalisz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 400
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #370 on: December 18, 2015, 11:01:45 am »
You might want to poke at those two first, especially the window covering. I too am using the garage door plugin, so I'm reasonably sure that's not causing the issue. I don't have any window coverings, so I'm less sure about that.

Have finally gotten around to doing this.  Partially.  Have reverted to the non-bridge version, and started adding things onesies.  Once it failed to add one of three identical garage doors, but on a second pass (after blowing everything away and starting over), that went fine.  Have added all of my hand-written dimmers, virtual switches, etc.  All added successfully.  Have not added all of the z-wave devices yet, but will be surprised if they are an issue.  So thus far, nothing has shown up as suspect.

I have a ton of scenes, none of which are the nice "turn blah on"/"turn blah off" genre.  I have to wonder if the scene aggregation logic you've got in the bridge version is falling down a flight of stairs on that.  But starting up the bridge seems to get through device enumeration just fine.  Dunno.

Anyway, I'll try to finish adding the z-wave devices over the weekend, but am not expecting much by way of enlightenment.

--Richard

Offline Hackworth

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
  • Karma: +13/-8
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #371 on: December 18, 2015, 12:57:21 pm »
@rlmalisz The scenes are fine. I thought of another way you could troubleshoot. On the current commit, in app.js there's some case statements for each category of device, you could comment out categories one by one to single out which category is causing the issue.

Offline rlmalisz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 400
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #372 on: December 18, 2015, 09:56:48 pm »
@rlmalisz The scenes are fine. I thought of another way you could troubleshoot. On the current commit, in app.js there's some case statements for each category of device, you could comment out categories one by one to single out which category is causing the issue.

Good hint.  I went through this methodically, and commented everything out but switches, and things came up.  But I was annoyed at the enormous number of "switches" for scenes (how do you invoke those using Siri, anyway?), so I commented out the "processScenes" line in app.js.  Added things back in onesies.  Worked every time.  Finally uncommented out the scene processing.  Breaks.

So there's something odd going on here.  It appears having scenes processed with just the light switches works.  But having them processed with everything else enabled breaks.  I can try to do a binary search this weekend to see which thing + scenes breaks the pairing.  But it's odd.  For now, I am happy to leave the scenes commented out and have something to play with.

--Richard

Offline rlmalisz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 400
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #373 on: December 20, 2015, 08:15:56 pm »
One more question about scene-pair conversion.  From the code and from your github instructions, it looks like the only time a pair of scenes would get converted to a virtual device/accessory is when the pair is exactly of the form:

whatever - on
whatever - off

Is that the case, or is it more general than that?

In either case, what happens if "whatever" is a real device and you create a "whatever" virtual device/accessory from the pair of scenes?  Do both get exposed with the same name?  I can see where HomeKit would refuse to accept that as a valid response, and cause Eve tp drop the connection.

If the regular expression matching is as strict as it appears, this isn't what's happening to me.  But it may be something to look at.

--Richard

Offline Chris H.

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #374 on: December 22, 2015, 11:32:50 am »
@Hackworth, @Albeebe and others - Thank you for your time on this project. I posted a video of it working on the Apple Watch, you can see it on YouTube here: https://youtu.be/T5kibmQiTuM

With WatchOS 2 I don't have any of the Siri handoff issues people where reporting before. It works great and is very responsive.

For those just looking to set this up, don't use the instructions on the first post. Use @Hackworth's repo on github and the instructions there.
« Last Edit: December 22, 2015, 04:44:29 pm by Chris H. »
Vera Lite (1), Trane Thermostat (1), Yale Deadbolt (1), Foscam FI9821w (4), GE 45602 (1), GE 45603 (2), Intermatic CA600(11)/CA3000(6)/CA5100(4)/CA3500(3), Aeon Labs MicroSmartSwitch (1), Aeon Door/Window Sensors (3), EnvisaLink 3 on DSC 1616 (1), OpenSprinklerPi