We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: News about HomeKit and Vera  (Read 307619 times)

Offline Hackworth

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
  • Karma: +13/-8
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #375 on: December 22, 2015, 04:24:19 pm »
@Chris H. - Thanks so much! Glad it's working for you :) I too have an Apple Watch it works well on, I would however like an Apple TV so it's functional when I'm not on my local wifi.

@rlmalisz - Scenes have to match " - On" or " - Off" its all in the code. It won't create a duplicate named device, it'll log it to the console. Again, all in the code.

Offline Chris H.

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #376 on: December 22, 2015, 04:51:24 pm »
@Hackworth, yeah I just read today that I can use the AppleTV to allow me to control it out of the house, I plan on trying that out tonight when I get home.

Another question, this works great on my iPhone and Apple Watch but I went to install it on my Wife's iPhone and Apple Watch but when I opened the Elgato Eve app on her phone and tried to add the VeraHomeKitBridge to her app it never found it. Can this only be paired to one iPhone at a time? Do I need to setup another Raspberry Pi with VeraHomeKitBridge on the network just for her iPhone?

I didn't get mine up and running til about 2am so I may have missed something, I'll try again this evening, but was just wondering if anyone else had multiple iPhones pared to the same VeraHomeKitBridge.
Vera Lite (1), Trane Thermostat (1), Yale Deadbolt (1), Foscam FI9821w (4), GE 45602 (1), GE 45603 (2), Intermatic CA600(11)/CA3000(6)/CA5100(4)/CA3500(3), Aeon Labs MicroSmartSwitch (1), Aeon Door/Window Sensors (3), EnvisaLink 3 on DSC 1616 (1), OpenSprinklerPi

Offline Hackworth

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
  • Karma: +13/-8
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #377 on: December 22, 2015, 05:01:42 pm »
@Chris H. - So HomeKit lets you share your house to other iCloud members, no need to pair her phone separately.

Offline JuniorJedi

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
  • Karma: +3/-1
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #378 on: December 23, 2015, 05:13:06 am »
@Chris  H

In Eve app...settings cog / Guest Access / Invite People.

Apple TV support outside of the LAN only allows the primary icloud account remote access. Unless your wifes iphone is using your account she will not get remote access to Homekit.

Also "guests" do not need Eve installed to have Siri do their bidding.

HTH
« Last Edit: December 23, 2015, 05:16:58 am by JuniorJedi »

Offline Chris H.

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #379 on: December 23, 2015, 12:09:51 pm »
OK, I went into Settings->HomeKit->Home and invited my wife using her AppleID Email and everything worked great, she can now control everything I setup with Siri on her Apple Watch. The wife was happy... Happy Wife, Happy Life.

Spent all night trying to get Remote Access working with my AppleTV 3 but no luck.
1) Made sure I had the latest update on AppleTV,
2) Made sure I had "Allow Remote Access" enabled in Settings->HomeKit->Home,
3) Signed out and back in to my iCloud Account on my AppleTV,
4) Toggled "Allow Remote Access" off and back on, Signed back out and back in on AppleTV,
5) Reset HomeKit and repeated steps 2 & 3.

Am I missing something here? Did anyone else get Remote Access working with the AppleTV 3?

From what I was reading it looks like with iOS9 you shouldn't need the AppleTV to talk to the HomeKit Bridge remotely:
Quote
Starting with Apple's iOS 9 update, your iPhone can securely chat with your HomeKit bridges and accessories even while out of the house. It can do so because of the new HomeKit Accessory Protocol (HAP), which uses secure networking over iCloud to talk to your connected HomeKit accessories. HAP doesn't work with prior versions of Apple's mobile operating system; as such, if you're still using iOS 8, you'll still need to use and set up an Apple TV for controlling your house outside your local Wi-Fi network.
source: http://www.imore.com/everything-you-need-know-about-apple-tv-and-homekit

Can anyone else out there that is using HomeKit Remotely chime in and give us more input.
Vera Lite (1), Trane Thermostat (1), Yale Deadbolt (1), Foscam FI9821w (4), GE 45602 (1), GE 45603 (2), Intermatic CA600(11)/CA3000(6)/CA5100(4)/CA3500(3), Aeon Labs MicroSmartSwitch (1), Aeon Door/Window Sensors (3), EnvisaLink 3 on DSC 1616 (1), OpenSprinklerPi

Offline JuniorJedi

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
  • Karma: +3/-1
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #380 on: December 23, 2015, 02:31:59 pm »
Hmmm mine works remotely but I've done nothing different than you have.

When I was on AppleTV 3 it just worked...I struggled on ATV4 but it just seemed to start working on it's own eventually.

Offline Chris H.

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #381 on: December 23, 2015, 03:12:32 pm »
I wonder if I'm having some sort Sync issue. The Eve app my iPad Air worked until I reset HomeKit and set it up again, now the Eve app on the iPad won't get the settings from my iPhone. If I click Add Accessory it tells me I set it up on my iPhone 6 wait for it to be synced but never does now.

I'll try to mess with it again this evening. Would love to get it to work remotely. I normally don't remember to turn off the lights until I pull out of the drive way and I'm off wifi.

/** UPDATE - 12.23.15 **/
I was able to get Eve to work on my iPad and mirror my iPhone settings by signing out of iCloud on the iPad and back in.

I also changed my username in the app.js file to see if maybe it needed a unique ID for this field, then Reset HomeKit on my iPhone, Re added the VeraBridge then signed out of iCloud on my iPhone and back in and then Signed Out of iCloud on the AppleTV and back in and still no change.
« Last Edit: December 23, 2015, 09:25:11 pm by Chris H. »
Vera Lite (1), Trane Thermostat (1), Yale Deadbolt (1), Foscam FI9821w (4), GE 45602 (1), GE 45603 (2), Intermatic CA600(11)/CA3000(6)/CA5100(4)/CA3500(3), Aeon Labs MicroSmartSwitch (1), Aeon Door/Window Sensors (3), EnvisaLink 3 on DSC 1616 (1), OpenSprinklerPi

Offline Chris H.

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #382 on: December 23, 2015, 08:11:58 pm »
@JuniorJedi - what app are you using on you iPhone for HomeKit? I am wondering if it is an issue with Eve. Also are you using the repo from @Hackworth?
« Last Edit: December 23, 2015, 09:58:28 pm by Chris H. »
Vera Lite (1), Trane Thermostat (1), Yale Deadbolt (1), Foscam FI9821w (4), GE 45602 (1), GE 45603 (2), Intermatic CA600(11)/CA3000(6)/CA5100(4)/CA3500(3), Aeon Labs MicroSmartSwitch (1), Aeon Door/Window Sensors (3), EnvisaLink 3 on DSC 1616 (1), OpenSprinklerPi

Offline JuniorJedi

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
  • Karma: +3/-1
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #383 on: December 24, 2015, 05:24:59 am »
@JuniorJedi - what app are you using on you iPhone for HomeKit? I am wondering if it is an issue with Eve. Also are you using the repo from @Hackworth?

Nope, I'm using Eve and @Hackworth repo.

Offline Chris H.

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #384 on: December 24, 2015, 12:51:29 pm »
Got a reply from @KhaosT on his github page.

Quote
Apple TV 3 had lots of problems with HomeKit Remote Access due to the old iOS (8.3), if you have 2-Step Authentication enabled for your iCloud account, disable that may help.

If it still won't work, I'd suggest consider getting an ATV 4😅

I checked and I don't have 2-Step Authentication enabled so that's not it. I have an older AppleTV 2 on my network, I wonder if that may be a problem. I may try to remove it this evening and see if that makes a difference.
Vera Lite (1), Trane Thermostat (1), Yale Deadbolt (1), Foscam FI9821w (4), GE 45602 (1), GE 45603 (2), Intermatic CA600(11)/CA3000(6)/CA5100(4)/CA3500(3), Aeon Labs MicroSmartSwitch (1), Aeon Door/Window Sensors (3), EnvisaLink 3 on DSC 1616 (1), OpenSprinklerPi

Offline JuniorJedi

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
  • Karma: +3/-1
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #385 on: December 25, 2015, 06:52:06 am »
@ Chris H.

You have the ATV logged into your account and not your wife's right?


See if there's anything here that may help http://www.imore.com/everything-you-need-know-about-apple-tv-and-homekit


I have an ATV 2 on the same LAN - no ill effect.

The one thing that comes to mind - Do you have UPNP on your router?  If so try toggling it off for testing.


Offline rlmalisz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 400
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #386 on: December 28, 2015, 07:00:45 pm »
So this had been working pretty well.  The SSD on the Ubuntu NUC that had been running this (and a lot of other stuff) died two days back, and I've just gotten it all pretty much reassembled.

Eve pairs the bridge fine.  I can use Eve to actuate devices.  But now Siri says something akin to "Sorry Richard, I couldn't find any devices"...sometimes with "at this time" tacked on at the end.

I'll futz with it some more as time permits, but was curious if anyone had seen this behavior?

--Richard

Offline Chris H.

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #387 on: December 28, 2015, 11:45:47 pm »
@JuniorJedi turning off UPNP on the router didn't help, still no access over cellular.
Vera Lite (1), Trane Thermostat (1), Yale Deadbolt (1), Foscam FI9821w (4), GE 45602 (1), GE 45603 (2), Intermatic CA600(11)/CA3000(6)/CA5100(4)/CA3500(3), Aeon Labs MicroSmartSwitch (1), Aeon Door/Window Sensors (3), EnvisaLink 3 on DSC 1616 (1), OpenSprinklerPi

guest20975

  • Guest
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #388 on: December 30, 2015, 09:33:32 am »
have 2 vera's running my home and have set up 2 VeraHomeKitBridges on separate raspberry pi 2s to run with homekit. Unfortunately i get the following error on the 2nd Pi
"> VeraHomeKitBridge@1.0.0 start /home/pi/VeraHomeKitBridge
> node app.js

*** WARNING *** The program 'node' uses the Apple Bonjour compatibility layer of Avahi.
*** WARNING *** Please fix your application to use the native API of Avahi!
*** WARNING *** For more information see <http://0pointer.de/avahi-compat?s=libdns_sd&e=node>
*** WARNING *** The program 'node' called 'DNSServiceRegister()' which is not supported (or only supported partially) in the Apple Bonjour compatibility layer of Avahi.
*** WARNING *** Please fix your application to use the native API of Avahi!
*** WARNING *** For more information see <http://0pointer.de/avahi-compat?s=libdns_sd&e=node&f=DNSServiceRegister>
Starting Vera HomeKit Bridge...
Create accessory: Coffee_Pot
Create accessory: ConsHeat
Create accessory: ConsHeatOff
Create accessory: ConsHeatOn
/home/pi/VeraHomeKitBridge/lib/HAP-NodeJS/node_modules/mdns/lib/advertisement.js:56
  dns_sd.DNSServiceRegister(self.serviceRef, flags, ifaceIdx, name,
         ^
Error: dns service error: name conflict
    at Error (native)
    at new Advertisement (/home/pi/VeraHomeKitBridge/lib/HAP-NodeJS/node_modules/mdns/lib/advertisement.js:56:10)
    at Object.create [as createAdvertisement] (/home/pi/VeraHomeKitBridge/lib/HAP-NodeJS/node_modules/mdns/lib/advertisement.js:64:10)
    at Advertiser.startAdvertising (/home/pi/VeraHomeKitBridge/lib/HAP-NodeJS/lib/Advertiser.js:43:30)
    at Bridge.Accessory._onListening (/home/pi/VeraHomeKitBridge/lib/HAP-NodeJS/lib/Accessory.js:352:20)
    at HAPServer.emit (events.js:104:17)
    at HAPServer._onListening (/home/pi/VeraHomeKitBridge/lib/HAP-NodeJS/lib/HAPServer.js:159:8)
    at EventedHTTPServer.emit (events.js:104:17)
    at EventedHTTPServer.<anonymous> (/home/pi/VeraHomeKitBridge/lib/HAP-NodeJS/lib/util/eventedhttp.js:62:10)
    at Server.emit (events.js:104:17)

npm ERR! Linux 4.1.13-v7+
npm ERR! argv "/usr/local/bin/node" "/usr/local/bin/npm" "run" "start"
npm ERR! node v0.12.6
npm ERR! npm  v2.11.2
npm ERR! code ELIFECYCLE
npm ERR! VeraHomeKitBridge@1.0.0 start: `node app.js`
npm ERR! Exit status 1
npm ERR!
npm ERR! Failed at the VeraHomeKitBridge@1.0.0 start script 'node app.js'.
npm ERR! This is most likely a problem with the VeraHomeKitBridge package,
npm ERR! not with npm itself.
npm ERR! Tell the author that this fails on your system:
npm ERR!     node app.js
npm ERR! You can get their info via:
npm ERR!     npm owner ls VeraHomeKitBridge
npm ERR! There is likely additional logging output above.

npm ERR! Please include the following file with any support request:
npm ERR!     /home/pi/VeraHomeKitBridge/npm-debug.log"

all my pi's have different names so not sure what problem is, anyone out there can help?

Offline hellovn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 279
  • Karma: +19/-46
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #389 on: January 01, 2016, 10:32:14 pm »
Hi All,

I could control my devices with Siri now. It took me 0.5 hours to install Verahomekitbridge and Eve. I love my vera and home automation more and more  :D :D