We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: News about HomeKit and Vera  (Read 307626 times)

Offline dayfly

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: +9/-2
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #510 on: June 09, 2016, 06:20:21 am »
Dos anyone have a new manual for installing it on windows ?

i searched the forum but isnt really clear wich steps i need to follow, saw one on page 5 from aechelon and page 29 from goldriver

« Last Edit: June 09, 2016, 06:24:23 am by dayfly »

Offline CelticWebs

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 250
  • Karma: +10/-7
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #511 on: June 09, 2016, 06:24:17 am »
Does hacksworth VeraHomeKitBridge vary much from damianxd homebridge-Vera ?
« Last Edit: June 09, 2016, 06:29:07 am by CelticWebs »

Offline kman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #512 on: June 11, 2016, 09:55:47 am »
@dayfly can you access the wiki? https://github.com/Hackworth/VeraHomeKitBridge/wiki/Installation-instructions-for-Windows-7.

I created these when I installed on my machine.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2016, 09:59:02 am by kman »

Offline dayfly

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: +9/-2
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #513 on: June 12, 2016, 04:05:57 am »
@dayfly can you access the wiki? https://github.com/Hackworth/VeraHomeKitBridge/wiki/Installation-instructions-for-Windows-7.

I created these when I installed on my machine.
thanks I followed youre those steps,

edit
i followed this after the first steps,
https://github.com/nfarina/homebridge/wiki/Install-Homebridge-on-Windows

but getting this error now

C:\Users\Administrator>node homebridge
module.js:327
    throw err;
    ^
Error: Cannot find module 'C:\Users\Administrator\homebridge'
    at Function.Module._resolveFilename (module.js:325:15)
    at Function.Module._load (module.js:276:25)
    at Function.Module.runMain (module.js:441:10)
    at startup (node.js:139:18)
    at node.js:968:3


cant really say its easy to install and to get working, wil there ever be a app or an easy installer for vera and siri?
« Last Edit: June 12, 2016, 07:57:13 am by dayfly »

Offline rafale77

  • Community Beta
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1749
  • Karma: +101/-27
  • HA ≠ IoT as a blue sky is cloudless.
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #514 on: June 12, 2016, 11:14:13 am »
Does hacksworth VeraHomeKitBridge vary much from damianxd homebridge-Vera ?

Somewhat different. I am still using Hacksworth as I use Homekit (Siri) as only an input to the Vera. All the smart and all the plugins for other devices are on the Vera.
Homebridge allows you to shift your hub to Homekit and use the Vera only as a bridge to your zwave and whatever devices you have connected on it.
It comes down to convenience and quality of your device set. The Homebridge enables you also to have a bit of both.

Homebrige has many plugins so you can for example directly connect: a Harmony hub, a hue hub, a lifx, a thinking cleaner, a nest etc without connecting through the vera.
With the VeraHomeKitBridge, you have to connect everything through the Vera. (unless they are Homekit devices which already are on your Homekit network)

The hybrid solution would be for the Vera to execute some of the logic directly and have HomeKit execute some others for devices which have a plugin on Homebridge but not on the Vera for example. You can also have devices which are connected to both... My Hue hub comes to mind so I could control my Hue with the Vera or with HomeKit directly or using Homekit through the Vera... So many ways to do it once they are all interconnected...

I personally try to centralize all the logic on the Vera with scenes so I have no use for Homebridge yet.


openLuup (79 devices, 141 scenes, 19 apps) master to VeraPlus (142 zwave nodes, 8 Zigbee nodes, 221 devices,  20 scenes , 2 apps) +  Hubitat (15 Zigbee nodes) + Home-Assistant (API Integrations). Bridged to Siri and Alexa. Homewave. VeraPlus ExtRooted and mios server independent.

Offline Kryckmeister

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #515 on: June 12, 2016, 01:02:14 pm »
Which is the easiest way to sort out, A Raspberry Pi or Synology NAS (I have a DS 413j)?

Offline CelticWebs

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 250
  • Karma: +10/-7
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #516 on: June 12, 2016, 01:11:39 pm »
Does hacksworth VeraHomeKitBridge vary much from damianxd homebridge-Vera ?

Somewhat different. I am still using Hacksworth as I use Homekit (Siri) as only an input to the Vera. All the smart and all the plugins for other devices are on the Vera.
Homebridge allows you to shift your hub to Homekit and use the Vera only as a bridge to your zwave and whatever devices you have connected on it.
It comes down to convenience and quality of your device set. The Homebridge enables you also to have a bit of both.

Homebrige has many plugins so you can for example directly connect: a Harmony hub, a hue hub, a lifx, a thinking cleaner, a nest etc without connecting through the vera.
With the VeraHomeKitBridge, you have to connect everything through the Vera. (unless they are Homekit devices which already are on your Homekit network)

The hybrid solution would be for the Vera to execute some of the logic directly and have HomeKit execute some others for devices which have a plugin on Homebridge but not on the Vera for example. You can also have devices which are connected to both... My Hue hub comes to mind so I could control my Hue with the Vera or with HomeKit directly or using Homekit through the Vera... So many ways to do it once they are all interconnected...

I personally try to centralize all the logic on the Vera with scenes so I have no use for Homebridge yet.

Thanks for the reply..

I'm currently using homebridge-Vera as a standalone, I did have it as a homebridge plugin but I purely just want Siri control of my Vera devices.  I wasn't sure which would be better for me.  It looks like they're both very similar.  I couldn't get hacksbridge one to work so looks like there isn't much point in me spending more time on that. They appear very similar for the my intended use anyway.

Thanks again for the reply!

Offline kman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #517 on: June 12, 2016, 07:23:11 pm »
@dayfly did you install the necessary components, i.e. Visual Studio / Bonjour, etc.?

I don't know what step you may be missing - to ensure you running the bash in Administrator mode right?

Offline kman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #518 on: June 16, 2016, 12:08:20 pm »
Hello, an aside question, I am using the VeraHomeKitBridge (thank you Hackworth), however it takes Siri a few attempts to get the lights to respond. I am using this on Windows 7. Is this a known issue or am I doing something wrong?

Thank you!

I have run the debug it appears to be the ECONNRESET error. Any idea how to resolve this?

Code: [Select]
Error 'Error: read ECONNRESET' turning the Chandelier on/off:  undefined
Error 'Error: read ECONNRESET' turning the Chandelier on/off:  undefined
Error 'Error: read ECONNRESET' turning the Chandelier on/off:  undefined
Error 'Error: read ECONNRESET' turning the Pendants on/off:  undefined
Error 'Error: read ECONNRESET' turning the Stairs on/off:  undefined
Error 'Error: read ECONNRESET' turning the Kitchen Main on/off:  undefined
Error 'Error: read ECONNRESET' turning the Foyer on/off:  undefined
Error 'Error: read ECONNRESET' turning the Chandelier on/off:  undefined
Error 'Error: read ECONNRESET' turning the Bulk Head on/off:  undefined
Error 'Error: read ECONNRESET' turning the Kitchen Pots on/off:  undefined
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:31:52 GMT EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.1.142] Sending HTTP event 'keepalive' with data: {"characteristics":[]}
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:31:52 GMT EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.1.149] Sending HTTP event 'keepalive' with data: {"characteristics":[]}
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:31:52 GMT EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.1.142] Sending HTTP event 'keepalive' with data: {"characteristics":[]}
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:32:04 GMT EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.1.142] Client connection error: read ECONNRESET
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:32:04 GMT EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.1.142] Client connection closed
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:32:04 GMT EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.1.142] HTTP connection was closed
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:32:04 GMT EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.1.142] HTTP server was closed
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:41:52 GMT EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.1.149] Sending HTTP event 'keepalive' with data: {"characteristics":[]}
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:41:52 GMT EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.1.142] Sending HTTP event 'keepalive' with data: {"characteristics":[]}
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:42:11 GMT EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.1.142] Client connection error: read ECONNRESET
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:42:11 GMT EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.1.142] Client connection closed
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:42:11 GMT EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.1.142] HTTP connection was closed
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:42:11 GMT EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.1.142] HTTP server was closed
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:47:25 GMT EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.1.142] New connection from client
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:47:25 GMT EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.1.142] HTTP server listening on port 54826
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:47:25 GMT EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.1.142] HTTP request: /pair-verify
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:47:25 GMT HAPServer [CC:22:3D:E3:CE:F6] HAP Request: POST /pair-verify
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:47:25 GMT HAPServer [CC:22:3D:E3:CE:F6] Pair verify step 1/2
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:47:25 GMT EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.1.142] HTTP Repsonse is finished
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:47:25 GMT EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.1.142] HTTP request: /pair-verify
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:47:25 GMT HAPServer [CC:22:3D:E3:CE:F6] HAP Request: POST /pair-verify
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:47:25 GMT HAPServer [CC:22:3D:E3:CE:F6] Pair verify step 2/2
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:47:25 GMT HAPServer [CC:22:3D:E3:CE:F6] Client 8C6EDF55-7EA0-4F49-984B-8FDBB82E8DEA verification complete
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:47:25 GMT EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.1.142] HTTP Repsonse is finished
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:47:25 GMT EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.1.142] HTTP request: /accessories
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:47:25 GMT HAPServer [CC:22:3D:E3:CE:F6] HAP Request: GET /accessories
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:47:25 GMT EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.1.142] HTTP Repsonse is finished
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:47:25 GMT EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.1.142] HTTP request: /characteristics?id=2.3
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:47:25 GMT HAPServer [CC:22:3D:E3:CE:F6] HAP Request: GET /characteristics?id=2.3
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:47:25 GMT Accessory [Vera Bridge] Getting value for Characteristic "Manufacturer"
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:47:25 GMT Accessory [Vera Bridge] Got Characteristic "Manufacturer" value: Z-Wave
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:47:25 GMT EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.1.142] HTTP Repsonse is finished
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:47:25 GMT EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.1.142] HTTP request: /characteristics?id=3.3
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:47:25 GMT HAPServer [CC:22:3D:E3:CE:F6] HAP Request: GET /characteristics?id=3.3
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:47:25 GMT Accessory [Vera Bridge] Getting value for Characteristic "Manufacturer"
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:47:25 GMT Accessory [Vera Bridge] Got Characteristic "Manufacturer" value: Z-Wave
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:47:25 GMT EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.1.142] HTTP Repsonse is finished
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:47:25 GMT EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.1.142] HTTP request: /characteristics?id=4.3
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:47:25 GMT HAPServer [CC:22:3D:E3:CE:F6] HAP Request: GET /characteristics?id=4.3
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:47:25 GMT Accessory [Vera Bridge] Getting value for Characteristic "Manufacturer"
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:47:25 GMT Accessory [Vera Bridge] Got Characteristic "Manufacturer" value: Z-Wave
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:47:25 GMT EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.1.142] HTTP Repsonse is finished
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:47:25 GMT EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.1.142] HTTP request: /characteristics?id=4.10
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:47:25 GMT HAPServer [CC:22:3D:E3:CE:F6] HAP Request: GET /characteristics?id=4.10
Thu, 16 Jun 2016 15:47:25 GMT Accessory [Vera Bridge] Getting value for Characteristic "Change the power state"

Offline Kryckmeister

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #519 on: June 18, 2016, 02:18:42 am »
So I had a run with a new R Pi3 (Raspbian fresh install) and followed the guides around http://blog.bram.co.nl/howto-homebridge-on-raspberry-pi-3-for-ios-and-smart-devices/

So I get to pi@raspberrypi:~ $ sudo npm install -g homebridge
and get the reply:

/usr/local/bin/node: 1: /usr/local/bin/node: cannot create @@%@@@@@?@@@??/??/??/??p??px{????/??p??p0@@DDQ?tdR?td??/??p??ppp/lib/ld-linux-aarch64.so.1GNUGNUh?????n???7
   ^o??J?: Directory nonexistent
/usr/local/bin/node: 1: /usr/local/bin/node: ELF?кw@?W: not found
/usr/local/bin/node: 1: /usr/local/bin/node: Syntax error: word unexpected (expecting ")")


Anyone who can help me out a bit?
« Last Edit: June 18, 2016, 02:35:01 am by Kryckmeister »

Offline gregorito

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +2/-0
It breaks with iOS10!!!
« Reply #520 on: June 20, 2016, 08:06:38 pm »
I just installed it iOS 10 on my iPhone and Verahomekitbridge no longer works. Devices are seen but unable to control them via native app nor any previously working ones.. So if you are eager to try iOS 10, you may need to wait till an update is provided.
« Last Edit: June 20, 2016, 08:15:19 pm by gregorito »

Offline CelticWebs

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 250
  • Karma: +10/-7
News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #521 on: June 21, 2016, 02:42:02 am »
Let's hope that it's something that is just "broke" rather than somethings that's been changed and that is how it's supposed to be in a ios10!

Offline kman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #522 on: June 26, 2016, 03:32:28 pm »
I have found Vera HomeKit Bridge to be most stable/responsive in Linux environment. Hence I created a Ubuntu VM within my Win 7 and launching it headless in the background. It's been running fairly responsively for the past 48 hours.

I created a Wiki page if anyone interested in this or has better suggestions - https://github.com/Hackworth/VeraHomeKitBridge/wiki/Ubuntu-VirtualBox-on-Windows-7

I want to understand why turning on a light, turns it on 100% and doesn't remember the state it was turned off in.

Offline chezpaul

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #523 on: July 03, 2016, 08:25:54 pm »
It's me again. I have finally had a few cycles to try to sort out why, when I allow Hackworth's VeraHomeKitBridge (an excellent piece of work, BTW) to "ProcessScenes", I cannot get the iOS apps to pair.  Still don't know which one is causing the issue, but have determined that it's not something general about my setup--I can add a few scenes selectively, and it's all good.

Which brings me to this: in general, I don't *want* all my scenes accessible via HomeKit.  Almost all of them are time or event driven, that I would never launch by hand except for testing.  I am no nodeJS wiz, but made two simple changes that allow me to tell the bridge which scenes I want instantiated.

My config.json now looks like this:

Code: [Select]
{
  "VeraIP": "192.168.1.8",
  "PIN": "031-45-154",
  "GarageDoors":[
    "North Door",
    "Center Door",
    "South Door"
  ],
  "DesiredScenes":[
    "TV time",
    "Shade open",
    "Shade close",
    "Shade evening",
    "Lights out",
    "Lava for 20",
    "Outside on for 10",
    "Garage door check"
  ]
}

And the function "processScenes" in app.js now looks like this:

Code: [Select]
function processScenes(scenes) {
  scenes.forEach(function(scene) {
    if (config.DesiredScenes.indexOf(scene.name) > -1){
        if (scene.name.indexOf(" - Off") == -1){
            offScene = _.find(scenes, function(offScene){ return offScene.name \
== scene.name.replace(" - On", " - Off")});
            createScene(scene, offScene);
        }
    }
  });
}

I can now specify the names for scenes I want included into the bridge in config.json.  A simple change.  We really only have eight scenes (out of about 70) that we would ever invoke through Homekit, so this allows me to utilize Hackworth's bridge without having a lot of long-winded, sound-alike scenes get sucked in that are only there for automation.

Thought I'd share.  Thanks again, Hackworth.

--Richard

Hey Richard, do you have the exact same scene names in Vera ? Same spelling, same uppercase and lowercases? That's all it takeS?

Online rlmalisz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 400
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: News about HomeKit and Vera
« Reply #524 on: July 04, 2016, 12:47:48 pm »
It's me again. I have finally had a few cycles to try to sort out why, when I allow Hackworth's VeraHomeKitBridge (an excellent piece of work, BTW) to "ProcessScenes", I cannot get the iOS apps to pair.  Still don't know which one is causing the issue, but have determined that it's not something general about my setup--I can add a few scenes selectively, and it's all good.

Which brings me to this: in general, I don't *want* all my scenes accessible via HomeKit.  Almost all of them are time or event driven, that I would never launch by hand except for testing.  I am no nodeJS wiz, but made two simple changes that allow me to tell the bridge which scenes I want instantiated.

My config.json now looks like this:

Code: [Select]
{
  "VeraIP": "192.168.1.8",
  "PIN": "031-45-154",
  "GarageDoors":[
    "North Door",
    "Center Door",
    "South Door"
  ],
  "DesiredScenes":[
    "TV time",
    "Shade open",
    "Shade close",
    "Shade evening",
    "Lights out",
    "Lava for 20",
    "Outside on for 10",
    "Garage door check"
  ]
}

And the function "processScenes" in app.js now looks like this:

Code: [Select]
function processScenes(scenes) {
  scenes.forEach(function(scene) {
    if (config.DesiredScenes.indexOf(scene.name) > -1){
        if (scene.name.indexOf(" - Off") == -1){
            offScene = _.find(scenes, function(offScene){ return offScene.name \
== scene.name.replace(" - On", " - Off")});
            createScene(scene, offScene);
        }
    }
  });
}

I can now specify the names for scenes I want included into the bridge in config.json.  A simple change.  We really only have eight scenes (out of about 70) that we would ever invoke through Homekit, so this allows me to utilize Hackworth's bridge without having a lot of long-winded, sound-alike scenes get sucked in that are only there for automation.

Thought I'd share.  Thanks again, Hackworth.

--Richard

Hey Richard, do you have the exact same scene names in Vera ? Same spelling, same uppercase and lowercases? That's all it takeS?

Yes.  I'm sure someone who knows more about JS (or is excited to learn more) could make the match case-insensitive, but I didn't.

--Richard