We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Virtual UI Plugin  (Read 10497 times)

Offline clippermiami

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1394
  • Karma: +27/-6
Re: Virtual UI Plugin
« Reply #30 on: March 03, 2015, 04:49:13 pm »
Folks,
  I am contemplating a new Plugin ... This is motivated by the memory utilization used by Virtual Device plugins. They each require their own LUA context and 2 stacks for threads. That's quite a bit of memory.

  This would just be a controller Device that would allow you to create any number of:
      a) Virtual Switches
      b) Virtual Dimmers
      c) Virtual Thermostats
      d) Maybe Rex will let me create Virtual Multi-Switches.
 
   You can then easily use any of these devices in your Automation Logic (i.e. interfaced with PLEG).
   Since they look like existing device types they should work with all of the 3rd party apps.
   Instead of large amounts of memory for each device ... their is only a large chunk of memory allocated to the "Virtual Device" plugin.
   All of the instances would be lightweight.  It would be trivial to add more virtual device classes.

I am concerned about rumors that UI6 is more memory hungry than UI5.

Richard, what ever became log this idea?
Two Vera Plus UI7 Linked via HTTP, 90+ Devices. PlugIns: PLEG, DSC, Blue Iris, MySensors,  AutoVera, ImperiHome, VeraAlerts, EventWatcher

Offline RichardTSchaefer

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 10091
  • Karma: +764/-143
Re: Virtual UI Plugin
« Reply #31 on: March 03, 2015, 07:59:41 pm »
I put it on hold when I heard Vera was coming out with new devices ... I ASSuMEd  that they would increase the memory and that this would not be needed.

But judging by the number of people with Vera Lites that are having problems ... maybe I will pick this up again ... I think that Vera 3 users are OK ...
I have not done a careful comparison of memory on Vera 3 (UI5) vs Vera Edge (UI7) ... but I think UI7 uses more memory than UI5 ... so it may even be useful for Vera 3 and Vera Edge users.

Offline clippermiami

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1394
  • Karma: +27/-6
Re: Virtual UI Plugin
« Reply #32 on: March 03, 2015, 08:20:13 pm »
I put it on hold when I heard Vera was coming out with new devices ... I ASSuMEd  that they would increase the memory and that this would not be needed.

But judging by the number of people with Vera Lites that are having problems ... maybe I will pick this up again ... I think that Vera 3 users are OK ...
I have not done a careful comparison of memory on Vera 3 (UI5) vs Vera Edge (UI7) ... but I think UI7 uses more memory than UI5 ... so it may even be useful for Vera 3 and Vera Edge users.

Thanks for the update. The whole memory thing with Vera is very confusing. The two Vera 3 units I use have plenty of available memory (generally 50+MB always available)  but my LuaUPnP is ALWAYS either right below 100%, my ZWave Vera or ALWAYS above 100%, my DSC/BLUE IRIS Vera. And I often have a half dozen restarts a day. So I don't see how PHYSICAL memory is a problem, it appears to me to be memory usage/allocation in LuaUPnP is the problem. I don't understand why LuaUPnP doesn't simply request more real memory to work in
Two Vera Plus UI7 Linked via HTTP, 90+ Devices. PlugIns: PLEG, DSC, Blue Iris, MySensors,  AutoVera, ImperiHome, VeraAlerts, EventWatcher

Offline TwannieM

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 522
  • Karma: +3/-2
Re: Virtual UI Plugin
« Reply #33 on: April 14, 2015, 05:16:28 am »
I put it on hold when I heard Vera was coming out with new devices ... I ASSuMEd  that they would increase the memory and that this would not be needed.

But judging by the number of people with Vera Lites that are having problems ... maybe I will pick this up again ... I think that Vera 3 users are OK ...
I have not done a careful comparison of memory on Vera 3 (UI5) vs Vera Edge (UI7) ... but I think UI7 uses more memory than UI5 ... so it may even be useful for Vera 3 and Vera Edge users.

How can I check the memory in hte Vera 3?

Offline Don Diego

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 534
  • Karma: +300/-3
Re: Virtual UI Plugin
« Reply #34 on: April 14, 2015, 05:49:32 am »
I put it on hold when I heard Vera was coming out with new devices ... I ASSuMEd  that they would increase the memory and that this would not be needed.

But judging by the number of people with Vera Lites that are having problems ... maybe I will pick this up again ... I think that Vera 3 users are OK ...
I have not done a careful comparison of memory on Vera 3 (UI5) vs Vera Edge (UI7) ... but I think UI7 uses more memory than UI5 ... so it may even be useful for Vera 3 and Vera Edge users.


Hi

  Suggest you use the "System Monitor" plugin. It is available for free on the "Apps" tab.

    Don
How can I check the memory in hte Vera 3?
Vera 3 (@1.5.622) (3); Vera Plus (2);
Trane/Schlage TStats (1); Schlage Deadbolt (2); Kwikset Lock (3);  GE 45602 Dimmer (14); GE 45603 Dimmer (17); HSM-100 (16); Everspring Siren (8), Everspring Temp/Humidity (4); HSM 200 (1)

EarlyMorningHours

  • Guest
Re: Virtual UI Plugin
« Reply #35 on: April 22, 2015, 10:20:02 am »
Deleted
« Last Edit: February 09, 2016, 01:53:52 pm by EarlyMorningHours »

Offline Don Diego

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 534
  • Karma: +300/-3
Re: Virtual UI Plugin
« Reply #36 on: April 22, 2015, 11:05:03 am »
I'd be willing to purchase in advance the max licensing for this plugin if it were to be a licensed plugin like PLEG and Vera Alerts.

Hi

  I think it is free.

    Don
Vera 3 (@1.5.622) (3); Vera Plus (2);
Trane/Schlage TStats (1); Schlage Deadbolt (2); Kwikset Lock (3);  GE 45602 Dimmer (14); GE 45603 Dimmer (17); HSM-100 (16); Everspring Siren (8), Everspring Temp/Humidity (4); HSM 200 (1)