Author Topic: No further development on existing Nest plugin  (Read 3808 times)

Offline watou

No further development on existing Nest plugin
« on: April 14, 2015, 08:28:22 pm »
Hello all,

There will not be another release of the Nest plugin that I have been evolving since 2012.  With the new firmware and with no advanced notice to me, Vera has obsoleted the existing plugin by writing their own. 

Since last year I have been trying to get a better answer to the UI7 problems than "you just can't make a thermostat plugin look correct on UI7 as it did on UI5."  So instead of empowering this plugin developer with the full tools and documentation to meet this very long-standing need, they simply stepped right over the external developer with their own (closed) integration.

Maybe this will be good for users, maybe not.  I do know that a number of useful telemetry values cannot be available with the Vera integration, such as battery percentage, precise temperatures and humidity values, what equipment is currently running, and a lot more.  Existing plugin users will likely notice the loss of information and function.

I also know, as a plugin developer who worked very hard since 2012 to make the best plugin that was possible, that this is just one more disincentive for external developers to spend their precious time and resources adding to the platform.  It is certainly Vera's right to do this, just as it's my right to return to the market for other solutions.

All the best,
watou

P.S. Site administrator, please find a new moderator for the Nest sub-forum.  I am unlikely to play that role well in future.

Offline integlikewhoa

• Master Member
Re: No further development on existing Nest plugin
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2015, 08:57:44 pm »
Hello all,

There will not be another release of the Nest plugin that I have been evolving since 2012.  With the new firmware and with no advanced notice to me, Vera has obsoleted the existing plugin by writing their own.