Author Topic: Vera Edge won't calibrate Fibaro Roller Shutter 2 (FGRM-222)  (Read 3274 times)

Offline dirkies

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Hello all
this is my first post on this forum so don't be too hard on me :)

Basically I have 13 shutters in my home all controlled by the Fibaro FGRM-222. All paired fine with the Vera Edge server I bought at the same time (there are also a few Fibaro relay units connected to the same server)
Everything works just FINE regarding controlling and reading out the status of the device, over browser or Android app.
The local wall switch works just fine too with each shutter as before the Fibaros were installed, so all is wired up ok for me!

However one thing I cannot get to work at all is the calibration of ANY shutter. I did first search this forum of course, but none of the solutions from other threads apply to my setup (maybe because the older threads were running older firmware or not a Vera Edge?)

Basically I do know the Fibaro sets by default its parameter 10 to 1 (roller blind mode with positioning) and requires parameter 29 set to 1 to calibrate.

If I go to the device > device options > add configuration settings

and add 10 with 1xdec value 1 (it will say current value is 1 already), click save and then add 29 with 1xdec value 1 and save again (it will say current value is 0), then I click back to come the the device main menu and click Save changes, I already get an error saying "Device failed to configure". Hex or dec does not matter in this case, anything between 0 and 9 as a value will be the same in hex or dec anyway.

Obviously nothing happens on the shutter level, it does nothing, does not make a clicky sound on the inside (as it does when it receives Z-wave commands to open or close)

The shutter is closed 100% as I understood it needs to be that way to calibrate.

What I do notice is once you get errors trying to feed the Fibaro device these values, it will no longer respond to open/close/up/down as before. (it will say Transmit OK! as usual but nothing happens)
You need to go to the wall switch and push for a few seconds UP to "revive" the Fibaro it seems so it will accept again commands from the Vera.

The other method in the manual by pushing 3x a switch on the shutter control for 3s with a pause inbetween does nothing either, you do hear clicks when doing this operation but the shutter motor will never activate and no calibration takes place.

So can anyone with a Vera Edge and a Fibaro FGRM-222 explain how to do this, or is there a bug in the newer Vera Edge firmware where it won't handle value 29 anymore? (so it seems to me)  ???

If I only feed it param 10 with value 1, it seems to go fine with no error, but as soon as you try to add parameter 29, it starts to act up.  So for now I am stuck with shutters I can only open or close 100%, not exactly what I had in mind when I bought all this stuff 2 weeks ago :(

Offline zwavemotors

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
  • Karma: +0/-2
Re: Vera Edge won't calibrate Fibaro Roller Shutter 2 (FGRM-222)
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2015, 06:01:32 pm »
You mention the shutter is closed at 100%;
Z-Wave defines 0% as the shutter or shade closed (no or less light_ and 100% as open (maximum light), same as dimmers
See if it makes a difference in the way you start with the parameter.
I would love to try but I only have a US Vera Edge and EU Fibaro modules, but will let you know if I get somewhere
Contact if you have questions
info@zwavemotors.com


Offline dirkies

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Vera Edge won't calibrate Fibaro Roller Shutter 2 (FGRM-222)
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2015, 04:35:48 am »
Hi there

yes I mean if the shutter is closed 100%, it means 0% on the indicator bar in the Vera GUI.

For some bizarre reason it looks from the GUI as if the Fibaro rejects parameter 29, if at least you believe the Vera error code (error configuring device). But I fear there is some bug somehow.
And I tried with 1 Fibaro unit virtually next to the Vera box, so it is not some radio signal issue.

I am even tempted to buy a different brand Z-Wave server just to see if it is Vera to blame or something else. But that is why I come to this forum first :)

I also already started implementing a workaround to open some shutters only at 50%. Open the shutter and then with a delayed action stop it (need to use a stopwatch first to figure out how long that takes)
But here too the system acts bizarre (sequences and timings go haywire, sometimes works perfect, sometimes it is a complete mess!), but that is food for another topic on this forum ;)

Offline dirkies

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Vera Edge won't calibrate Fibaro Roller Shutter 2 (FGRM-222)
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2015, 12:05:14 pm »
ok, set polling to 0 but still same story :(

29 value 1 will not work, if sent, you hear a click in the Fibaro, and then it will not react to any command (not even a click) until you manually push the up (or down) button on the wall switch for a few seconds (push it shortly will do nothing), then you hear 3 clicks (reset?) and the device responds again to z-wave transmissions.

Offline Davit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Vera Edge won't calibrate Fibaro Roller Shutter 2 (FGRM-222)
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2017, 04:35:34 am »
Hi Dirkies.

I have the exact same problem. Were you able to solve it? would appreciate your help.

Offline chickenbox

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Vera Edge won't calibrate Fibaro Roller Shutter 2 (FGRM-222)
« Reply #5 on: May 20, 2017, 12:32:00 pm »
+1; same problem  :-[