Author Topic: Cooper Aspire RF9500  (Read 1437 times)

Offline joeko18

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Cooper Aspire RF9500
« on: May 07, 2015, 11:35:34 pm »
Has anyone been able to get this battery operated switch to work with Vera firmware 1.7.569?
I would like to use the switch as a scene controller, either 1 or 2 button. I am able to add it to Vera, but I can't get it to control a scene.

Offline shallowearth

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 919
  • Karma: +42/-9
Re: Cooper Aspire RF9500
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2015, 02:53:12 am »
I have a few on UI7, but I only use them for direct association not as a scene controller.  I did try it once, if you set the number of buttons on the device option tab, it does appear to put it into scene mode (as direct association stops working at that point), but I don't think I was able to get a scene to trigger based on it after that.  The only reliable scene controller that I know of for UI7 is the Aeotec Minimote.

Offline vc88

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Cooper Aspire RF9500
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2015, 11:13:29 am »
Dragging up an old topic...

Forgive me... as I'm a bit new to using these types of devices.  I have an RF9500 that I want to use as a remote light switch.  One button turns the light on, the other turns the light off as listed above.  I can't for the life of me understand how to configure this unit to do that.  I was able to add it to my vera, but once I get there, nothing seems logical. 

Can anyone provide some guidance?

Thanks in advance!

Offline shallowearth

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 919
  • Karma: +42/-9
Re: Cooper Aspire RF9500
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2015, 01:43:13 am »
You need to associate the switch to you light switch. You do this in the device options tab of the battery switch, first add association group 1, then you click the set button and check the name of the light switch you wan to control)then you save because it is a battery device it can take a couple of hours for the configuration to apply, it will show an error on the device (waiting toto wake up to config) until it wakes up and accepts the changes.  You should then beagle to control you light switch from the battery powere one.

Offline vc88

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Cooper Aspire RF9500
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2015, 11:08:52 am »
You need to associate the switch to you light switch. You do this in the device options tab of the battery switch, first add association group 1, then you click the set button and check the name of the light switch you wan to control)then you save because it is a battery device it can take a couple of hours for the configuration to apply, it will show an error on the device (waiting toto wake up to config) until it wakes up and accepts the changes.  You should then beagle to control you light switch from the battery powere one.

Thanks, shallowearth.  This worked perfectly.  I really appreciate the insight.

Offline k7jv

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Cooper Aspire RF9500
« Reply #5 on: June 25, 2017, 04:51:07 pm »
I'm still trying to get the Cooper RF9500 to operate a switch.  I followed "shallowearth" instructions, and it appears the values were accepted, but pressing the buttons on the RF switch do nothing.  Is there more that has to be configured to get it to work???

Offline k7jv

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Cooper Aspire RF9500
« Reply #6 on: June 25, 2017, 05:04:23 pm »
Update!  I gave up on trying to program the RF switch, for a bit.  When I came back to it, it worked!  So apparently it takes several minutes for the configuration to become operational.  CRAZY!  I so wish manufacturers of devices would at least make the needed information to use their products on their websites, if nothing else.  A site where device make/model numbers could be matched with controller make/model numbers and yield configuration and use information.

Offline Don Phillips

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 900
  • Karma: +18/-18
    • Worthington Engineering, Inc.
Re: Cooper Aspire RF9500
« Reply #7 on: June 25, 2017, 06:19:03 pm »
Sometimes it is Vera that needs the time. Many times I reboot Vera or reload LUUP to get changes to appear.
Vera 3, UI7 1.7.947, CT101 t-stat, Everspring motion detector, GE/Jasco switch, Leviton outlet, AeonLabs door sensor, Insteon garage control, Blue Iris, Sricam SP011, iPhone locator, APCUPSD, VeraMate, VeraAlerts, PLEG, House Modes, Countdown Timer, DVR, Virtual & Multi Switch, Weather, Sys. Mon.

Offline shallowearth

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 919
  • Karma: +42/-9
Re: Cooper Aspire RF9500
« Reply #8 on: June 26, 2017, 02:19:35 am »
In this case it can take a while for the button to wake up and apply all changes.
You can hurry the process along by pressing configure Node now (in advanced settings) then reaptedly pushing the up/down buttons on the switch to keep it awake.