Author Topic: Aeotec Multisensor 6 (AEZW100A) - anyone used it?  (Read 106672 times)

Offline MNB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 689
  • Karma: +4/-9
Re: Aeotec Multisensor 6 (AEZW100A) - anyone used it?
« Reply #30 on: June 23, 2015, 01:55:00 pm »
Marc,
Any rough idea time wise as to when the user base might expect an update that incorporates this new sensor?


We are in the process of testing and integrating the Multisensor into the platform.
Edge-1.7.2607, VRI06-1LX Dimr (6), VS05-1LX Sw (4), GE ZW3002 Dimr (1), HA01C Outlet (12), HA02C Sw (6), HA04C Sw (4), GE Sw (2), HA05 Sw (3), MiniMote Contr (5), HSM200/100 Sensor (2), ZW100A Sensor (8), Nest thermostat (1) & Protect Fire/CO (6) Kwikset Locks (3), F18918W (1) & IP3M-9 (6) Cam's

Offline integlikewhoa

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 5624
  • Karma: +157/-380
Re: Aeotec Multisensor 6 (AEZW100A) - anyone used it?
« Reply #31 on: June 23, 2015, 06:52:13 pm »

Aaron, Like I said, we have not done anything to UI5 in over two years, any new functionality has come from users developing plugins. The issue with things in UI5 not working in UI7 is not one that we can help. We have published and created tools for plugin authors/developers to update their plugins so that they are compatible and we have even offered them a free VeraEdge to test with but we cannot make them do it. We are working diligently at natively integrating more and more things into the platform but understand that Rome wasn't built in a day. More and more gets integrated with every Firmware update. We also continue to add additional functionality and features that UI5 users can't take advantage of like geofencing and others and we will be introducing more later on in the year.

If your Vera system is functioning the way that you want it to and it does what you want it do, I'm not going to try to convince you to switch. If it aint broken don't fix it. If at some point you decide it's time to make the switch we are here to help, me and our entire Customer Care Team.

I couldn't agree with you more. Going back to work on the old ui5 is not going to help any of us move forward. As ui5 gets older and less supported, less plugins get made for it, less and less new devices will get full support or function (not only software based but hardware also) eventually people will have to let go and move on. But it's hard for some. 

Offline Aaron

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1985
  • Karma: +61/-193
Re: Aeotec Multisensor 6 (AEZW100A) - anyone used it?
« Reply #32 on: June 24, 2015, 11:14:26 pm »
Mark,
Looks like a few people have made the device work almost 100% in UI5. It would be nice if you can make a plugin for it, minus functions that TRULY requires 'plus'. Most of us don't see Vera adding any value these days. The easiest way for you t do so is to support new devices that many of the users want via UI5.

Many (I suspect a ton) of us are not moving to UI7 ...

a) We simply don't see it as stable

b) Many frequent reports of UI5 functions that no longer work in UI7 and I often see posts of 'was working, now broken', with every new UI7 build. 

c) Does not add any needed functionality over UI5... user built plugins like AltUI, PLEG, SmartSwitch, MultiSwitch, etc are 10x better than the UI7 interface and work great on UI5

As you can see if you read the forums... many of us have filling Vera's shortcomings by using user plugins and done things like: purchased/integrated Wink hub, OpenHAB, ISY, etc.
This is a clear sign that Vera is not doing making strides to keep the user base happy and locked into the Vera platform. If you want to keep your user base, you need to add value.

Interested to see if you will integrate this. I will be buying one to test and I suspect my Wink hub will support it. I'd like to not need a workaround, and to have it in my Vera directly.
Aaron, Like I said, we have not done anything to UI5 in over two years, any new functionality has come from users developing plugins. The issue with things in UI5 not working in UI7 is not one that we can help. We have published and created tools for plugin authors/developers to update their plugins so that they are compatible and we have even offered them a free VeraEdge to test with but we cannot make them do it. We are working diligently at natively integrating more and more things into the platform but understand that Rome wasn't built in a day. More and more gets integrated with every Firmware update. We also continue to add additional functionality and features that UI5 users can't take advantage of like geofencing and others and we will be introducing more later on in the year.

If your Vera system is functioning the way that you want it to and it does what you want it do, I'm not going to try to convince you to switch. If it aint broken don't fix it. If at some point you decide it's time to make the switch we are here to help, me and our entire Customer Care Team.

Mark,
I understand that UI5 has not been updated in years... My ask was not to update UI5. My ask was that you provide assistance (plugin, whatever) so UI5 users could make it work properly. I suspect that this would be easy for an expert in your system (Vera devs) given that the user community has seemed to get it 80-90% working.  I sure hope it would not take updating libraries or the kernel. Seems like it does not, right?

Move to UI7? Sure... I and many, many others are waiting for it to be stable and provide usable function beyond UI5 - which it gives neither according to all the posts.  You state 1 thing that is "new" - Geofencing. All feedback I've read says it does not work properly, and you know this as you commented on a post outline a lot of the issues. It is still only working for 1 phone? funny. 

All the UI7 comments are similar to:
"Unstable, I had to go back to UI5"
"Every new build breaks something they just fixed or something else in core functionality"
"My Vera Edge came with UI7 but it was unusable, I put on UI5 and much happier"

I'm waiting for comment like:
"UI7 is much better than UI5 in so many ways, let me tell you... "
"Man I'm glad I moved to UI7"
"The Vera team has really got it right now"

Vera team seems to think that no one understands product development outside of your team. I have worked in product development (hardware & software) at Dell, Microsoft, and others. I'm currently a Product Category Manager and Chief Technologist at HP... I understand product dev fairly well.

I'm not complaining because I want Vera to fail... I'm hoping they don't but since the launch of UI7 there has been very little visible/tangible progress. Bug fixing a launched software version that was in Alpha, to Beta in a year is pretty lackluster. Releasing a Vera Edge, which was not a step forward either... and not necessary as Vera 3 is just as good.

Strive to make progress that your COMMUNITY thinks is progress. What you think is progress is not as important as what your customers think it progress. (unless you don't need money)

BTW... Rome, by experts estimates, took approximately 1,009,491 days (2764 years) to build.  Vera launched UI7, approx 1.2 years ago in beta & almost 1 year ago (Aug 2014) to RC. Yet all the users that have posted still seem to consider it beta.  So you are saying 2763 years more until UI7 is stable? ;-) 


Offline integlikewhoa

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 5624
  • Karma: +157/-380
Re: Aeotec Multisensor 6 (AEZW100A) - anyone used it?
« Reply #33 on: June 25, 2015, 12:28:19 am »
Mark,
I understand that UI5 has not been updated in years... My ask was not to update UI5. My ask was that you provide assistance (plugin, whatever) so UI5 users could make it work properly. I suspect that this would be easy for an expert in your system (Vera devs) given that the user community has seemed to get it 80-90% working.  I sure hope it would not take updating libraries or the kernel. Seems like it does not, right?

Move to UI7? Sure... I and many, many others are waiting for it to be stable and provide usable function beyond UI5 - which it gives neither according to all the posts.  You state 1 thing that is "new" - Geofencing. All feedback I've read says it does not work properly, and you know this as you commented on a post outline a lot of the issues. It is still only working for 1 phone? funny. 

So do you want the focus to be working on ui7 (or fixing it as you say) or do you want the focus to be on going back and making patches, plugins or workarounds on ui5 to keep it working on new z-wave plus devices? Vera new hardware don't even support ui5 and New devices are z-wave plus as this Aeotec Mulitsensor 6. Making a work around for this to work on outdated hardware should not be the focus, which it's not even if you request it. Vera has to keep on moving forward and I think we all want that.

I'm on UI7 by the way and have no more complaints then I did with UI5. Things are different is all, people don't like change.

Offline spulley

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-2
Re: Aeotec Multisensor 6 (AEZW100A) - anyone used it?
« Reply #34 on: June 27, 2015, 01:04:46 am »
Marc,
Any rough idea time wise as to when the user base might expect an update that incorporates this new sensor?


We are in the process of testing and integrating the Multisensor into the platform.

Mine arrived today.  I'm on UI7..  Any idea when this will be functional?

Offline Vito

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Aeotec Multisensor 6 (AEZW100A) - anyone used it?
« Reply #35 on: June 27, 2015, 06:43:37 pm »
All the UI7 comments are similar to:
"Unstable, I had to go back to UI5"
"Every new build breaks something they just fixed or something else in core functionality"
"My Vera Edge came with UI7 but it was unusable, I put on UI5 and much happier"

I'm waiting for comment like:
"UI7 is much better than UI5 in so many ways, let me tell you... "
"Man I'm glad I moved to UI7"
"The Vera team has really got it right now"

It's been about nine months since I've been on UI5 (so I can't compare UI5 to UI7) - but I can tell you that, with the June update, UI7 had all of my devices (around 100) working without errors.  That is until I installed four of the new 6in1 Multisensors from Aeon Labs.  These devices do throw an error, though the temperature and humidity sensors are working.  I've opened up a ticket with Vera and they claim to be working on support for them.  I do think that UI7 has matured to the point that it will work fine for most people.

Offline LHD

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Aeotec Multisensor 6 (AEZW100A) - anyone used it?
« Reply #36 on: June 28, 2015, 04:06:14 pm »
Multisensor6 has been released.
All pre-orders are now fulfilled and regular sale starts Tuesday, Jun 30.

MAP : $49.99

http://www.thesmartesthouse.com/products/aeotec-by-aeon-labs-z-wave-5-in-1-multisensor

Caution :
manufacturer does not include batteries !
TheSmartestHouse include the batteries ( 2 x CR123A ) for the first 100 orders.

Offline Tek420

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Aeotec Multisensor 6 (AEZW100A) - anyone used it?
« Reply #37 on: June 30, 2015, 11:18:25 am »
Looks like this thing does all sorts of stuff... http://aeotec.com/z-wave-sensor

Anyone tried one, or know if Vera UI5 will actually support all the functions properly?

I received my new MultiSensor 6 today, but it installaed as a GenericIO device. To get it working, I did the following with my VeraLite running UI5 Ver-1.5.672.

Under the Advanced Tab, change the following:

device_type:
DELETE: urn:schemas-micasaverde-com:device:GenericIO:1
ADD: urn:schemas-micasaverde-com:device:MotionSensor:1

device_file:
DELETE: D_GenericIO1.xml
ADD: D_MotionSensor1.xml

Hope that helps,
Tom

Hi Tom,

Would you please mind sharing how you added this as a GenericIO device?  I have tried to pair mine and for the life of me cannot get my Vera Lite running UI5 Ver-1.5.672 to recognize the MultiSensor 6 in any way, shape, or form.  I Google'd how to add a GenericIO and nothing I've seen is working.  Thanks in advance!!

Dave

Online ZW-Tom

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: +4/-1
ZW-Tom
« Reply #38 on: July 04, 2015, 05:20:16 pm »
I have figured out how to get the MultiSensor 6 to work on VeraEdge UI7.

Do the following:
1.) Add the sensor to the Edge using the Aeon 4 in 1 sensor. It will add as a "D_GenericIO1" device.
2.) After the device has been added, the LED will blink on the sensor, don't touch the sensor.
3.) Select the new device, then click the Advanced line.
4.) Under the Params tab, change the following. Be sure to click outside each box to add the change.
5.) device_type: urn:schemas-micasaverde-com:device:MotionSensor:1
6.) device_file: D_MotionSensor1.xml
7.) device_json: D_MotionSensor1.json
8.) Now you must wait for the blinking light on the sensor to stop blinking. Don't touch the sensor until it does.
9.) When the LED on the sensor stops blinking, reboot Vera.

The MultiSensor 6 should now be working. You will have a child device called "_GET_LANG(generic_sensor,sensor)". This is the UV sensor and is not supported by Vera.

Some final comments on the VeraLite and UI5.
I originally installed the MultiSensor on my VeraLite using the instructions I posted before. However over time, my Z-Wave functionality degraded. Other devices such as switches and automation controlled by scenes stopped working. I could get things back to normal by rebooting Vera, but overnight it would degrade again. I setup an auto-reboot scene to reboot Vera in the A.M. and P.M. but that did not solve the problem, it just slowed the degrading time. The more a device switch is used, the worse it gets. I even had one switch loose connection permanently. The switch is in high use throughout the day. It may be caused by the 500 series chip in the MultiSensor 6 causing problems with the older z-wave devices in the same network, I don't know. On Monday I removed the MultiSensor 6 from my VeraLite and have not had any problems since.

I have now switched over to the VeraEdge, and with the recent updates to UI7 everything is working including the MultiSensor 6 using the above procedure. ;D

Tom
« Last Edit: July 05, 2015, 05:34:17 pm by ZW-Tom »

Offline spulley

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-2
Re: Aeotec Multisensor 6 (AEZW100A) - anyone used it?
« Reply #39 on: July 06, 2015, 02:57:19 am »
I can confirm.. Following these directions on the VeraLite led to a complete lockup.  May consider upgrading to the edge and selling the lite.  What the advantages to upgrading besides the sensor working better?

Offline sdhibit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Aeotec Multisensor 6 (AEZW100A) - anyone used it?
« Reply #40 on: July 06, 2015, 01:46:57 pm »
I am also getting a similar reaction when adding this sensor to my veralite (UI7 latest firmware)using the instructions posted above. All the sensors initially showed up but never updated the values (lux, temp, humidity). Motion was occasionally detected but I was flooded with alerts saying that connectivity was lost with the device.

I'm in the process of migrating to openhab but I wanted to try this sensor out on vera and communicate with it via the binding in openhab first. I guess I will also be looking to sell my veralite in exchange for a newer z-wave usb stick.

Offline glavewu

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Aeotec Multisensor 6 (AEZW100A) - anyone used it?
« Reply #41 on: July 07, 2015, 02:20:37 pm »
I updated to the latest UI7 1.7.619, still this multi 6 sensor is not supported...

Offline jmutnick

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Aeotec Multisensor 6 (AEZW100A) - anyone used it?
« Reply #42 on: July 09, 2015, 10:04:24 am »
Does anyone have any insight as to when this will be a supported device?

Offline integlikewhoa

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 5624
  • Karma: +157/-380
Re: Aeotec Multisensor 6 (AEZW100A) - anyone used it?
« Reply #43 on: July 09, 2015, 04:24:24 pm »
Does anyone have any insight as to when this will be a supported device?

Nope, only been a month.

Online ZW-Tom

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: +4/-1
Re: Aeotec Multisensor 6 (AEZW100A) - anyone used it?
« Reply #44 on: July 09, 2015, 06:41:57 pm »
It has been one week since I installed the MultiSensor 6 on my VeraEdge UI7 ver. 1.7.1248 using the the procedure I posted here on July 4th, and it has been working great!

The MultiSensor 6 has a default motion trigger reset of 240 seconds (4 minutes). That is to say following a motion trigger, it will wait 4 minutes before motion can trigger the device again. Any motion detected by the sensor during the delay will reset the delay trigger to 4 minutes again.

You can change the motion reset delay time using the following procedure:
1.) Select the MultiSensor 6 Motion device.
2.) Select "Device Options".
3.) Click on "Add configuration settings".
4.) For the "Variable" enter 3
5.) "Data Size" select 2 byte dec.
6.) "Desired Value" ... enter the motion reset time in seconds. The default is 240 seconds (4 minutes). I set mine for 30 seconds.
7.) Click "Save Changes".

It will take up to 30 minutes for the sensor to "wakeup" for the changes to be made. Do NOT try to force the sensor to wake up by pushing the button on the back of the sensor. The default wakeup time for the sensor is 1,800 seconds (30 minutes).

Tom
« Last Edit: July 09, 2015, 06:46:00 pm by ZW-Tom »