We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Help with Aeotec Smart Switch Gen5 zw075 & VeraEdge  (Read 10043 times)

Offline morhimi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Help with Aeotec Smart Switch Gen5 zw075 & VeraEdge
« on: June 05, 2015, 01:11:34 pm »
Hi all,

first time here, tried searching for info on this smart switch but got references to Vera light and UI5.
I have Vera Edge updated to latest firmware and I paired it with the gen5 smart switch but I have a few issues:
1. the device is identified as BinaryLight1 (device type: urn:schemas-upnp-org:device:BinaryLight:1)
2. I have a lot of alerts:
     Device responding again 10 minutes ago
     Device responding again 10 minutes ago
     Device NOT responding 10 minutes ago
     Device NOT responding 10 minutes ago
3. power metering is no where to be seen...

Note: I'm able to control the on off functionality of the device

I'd appreciate any help with its configuration

Thanks....
« Last Edit: June 05, 2015, 03:52:48 pm by morhimi »

Offline morhimi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Help with Aeotec Smart Switch Gen5 zw075 & VeraEdge
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2015, 03:23:20 am »
Anyone succeeded working with this device and read power usage?

Offline morhimi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Help with Aeotec Smart Switch Gen5 zw075 & VeraEdge
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2015, 01:24:33 am »
Anyone?

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk


Offline Dansker

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Help with Aeotec Smart Switch Gen5 zw075 & VeraEdge
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2015, 06:23:03 pm »
I got two Smart Switch 6, Gen 5, a week ago. Same log messages as you receive. Using VeraEdge, latest firmware. Also have some Smart Energy Switch devices, Schlage doorlock; they get 5 stars in VeraEdge's reports. The SS6 gets 1 or 2 stars, sometimes none. All devices within 25 feet in two rooms with ordinary framing/drywall.

Search www for ("Gen5 (Z-Wave Plus) Range Issues") for seemingly related situation.

Aeotec have not responded yet to support request made via e-mail.

FWI: it got these because of the latest chipset mostly for use as repeaters. Did try to add them both secured and unsecured-works, but same problem.


Offline VetteGuy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Help with Aeotec Smart Switch Gen5 zw075 & VeraEdge
« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2015, 12:33:47 pm »
I got two Smart Switch 6, Gen 5, a week ago. Same log messages as you receive. Using VeraEdge, latest firmware. Also have some Smart Energy Switch devices, Schlage doorlock; they get 5 stars in VeraEdge's reports. The SS6 gets 1 or 2 stars, sometimes none. All devices within 25 feet in two rooms with ordinary framing/drywall.

Search www for ("Gen5 (Z-Wave Plus) Range Issues") for seemingly related situation.

Aeotec have not responded yet to support request made via e-mail.

FWI: it got these because of the latest chipset mostly for use as repeaters. Did try to add them both secured and unsecured-works, but same problem.

I recently picked up a Smart Switch 6, Gen 5.  The problem I am having is that the device appears to be added correctly, but it does not respond to commands from the UI to switch the load On/Off.  Power monitoring is reported correctly in the UI, but its not terribly useful for controlling a load at this point.  I've noticed a reviewer on Amazon appears to be having the same problem.

I'm running latest firmware, and have tried adding the device first as a Aeotec Smart Switch and then tried adding as a generic Z Wave device, but still get the same result.  I'm wondering if Vera fully supports these devices yet?  If anyone has had any luck with getting the devices to respond to load control commands, I'd like to hear how you did it.



Offline Dansker

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Help with Aeotec Smart Switch Gen5 zw075 & VeraEdge
« Reply #5 on: July 14, 2015, 06:20:12 pm »
I did hear back from Aeotec, asked for firmware version number (no updates are available from their www) and that I heal again.

I have taken my VeraEdge and Smart Switch 6 to the doctor more in the last week than I have gone in a lifetime.

Did move one of the Smart Switch 6 10 feet away in direct line of sight, now it gets 4 stars and the error messages stopped. I have three of the older Smart Energy Switch which scores 4-5 stars 30 feet away with 2 walls in between and always solid. Looks like very poor range for the Smart Switch 6.

Reading PR, Z-wave goes 100-250 feet. My experiences and Vera knowledge base says much less. It seems I need to wire wireless repeaters every 10-15 feet apart. I have 8 Schlage Connect Locks around the edge of the house (obviously) and from all I can deduce it is advantageous to get the "Gen 5" Z-Wave 500 chips as the basis for a Z-Wave system. Anybody with suggestions for good repeaters?

Offline glith

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Help with Aeotec Smart Switch Gen5 zw075 & VeraEdge
« Reply #6 on: July 19, 2015, 09:12:08 am »
I have the same issue with aeon smart switch gen5.
I also have a stuck "Purging associations" and every 6 hours it logs not responding/responding.

Any suggestions? I have made a reset of the device and unpaired/paired multiple times already.
« Last Edit: July 23, 2015, 06:13:22 am by glith »

Offline Dansker

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Help with Aeotec Smart Switch Gen5 zw075 & VeraEdge
« Reply #7 on: July 25, 2015, 08:01:56 am »
Does anybody have VeraEdge UI7 working reliably with Aeotec Smart Switch 6 (Gen 5) model #ZW096-A02 ?

Offline MNB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 689
  • Karma: +4/-9
Re: Help with Aeotec Smart Switch Gen5 zw075 & VeraEdge
« Reply #8 on: October 10, 2015, 02:25:10 pm »
Well, I too have been able to include the device (appears as a binary light) am able to turn the device Icon Off/On but it does not make the actual switch turn On/Off. I had to depress the device action button to turn the switch On (green light). Has anyone else got this device to work e.g do we have to change the XML and JSON file to something else? Mike
Edge-1.7.2607, VRI06-1LX Dimr (6), VS05-1LX Sw (4), GE ZW3002 Dimr (1), HA01C Outlet (12), HA02C Sw (6), HA04C Sw (4), GE Sw (2), HA05 Sw (3), MiniMote Contr (5), HSM200/100 Sensor (2), ZW100A Sensor (8), Nest thermostat (1) & Protect Fire/CO (6) Kwikset Locks (3), F18918W (1) & IP3M-9 (6) Cam's

Offline Dansker

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Help with Aeotec Smart Switch Gen5 zw075 & VeraEdge
« Reply #9 on: October 10, 2015, 04:49:38 pm »
Same here: Aeotec says support will be in the next Vera release; Vera says they are working on it, but no promises about when.

Offline sauce

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Help with Aeotec Smart Switch Gen5 zw075 & VeraEdge
« Reply #10 on: October 13, 2015, 02:13:54 am »
Hey newbie here, still working all this out. Everything seems more difficult than it should be.

I've got a Smart Switch Gen5, Model: ZW075-B09 (NZ/AU freq) and I'm able to turn it on and off via my Vera 3 running latest firmware 1.7.690

Pretty sure I just followed the instructions to set it up, it seems to be setup as a 'On/Off Switch'

If it helps, under Params I've got: urn:schemas-upnp-org:device:BinaryLight:1 / D_BinaryLight1.xml / D_BinaryLight1.json

It reports energy usage when switched to on position, but no idea how to log that or track it over its lifetime without Ergy.


Offline MNB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 689
  • Karma: +4/-9
Re: Help with Aeotec Smart Switch Gen5 zw075 & VeraEdge
« Reply #11 on: October 13, 2015, 09:16:05 am »
@sauce, thanxs for the Parms; just checked and have the same with my Edge, I'm able to make the icon turn on/off and am able to see wattage when the washer comes on. I had assumed that the switch would also turn On/Off when changing the icon from On/Off, can you verify? Mike
Edge-1.7.2607, VRI06-1LX Dimr (6), VS05-1LX Sw (4), GE ZW3002 Dimr (1), HA01C Outlet (12), HA02C Sw (6), HA04C Sw (4), GE Sw (2), HA05 Sw (3), MiniMote Contr (5), HSM200/100 Sensor (2), ZW100A Sensor (8), Nest thermostat (1) & Protect Fire/CO (6) Kwikset Locks (3), F18918W (1) & IP3M-9 (6) Cam's

Offline sauce

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Help with Aeotec Smart Switch Gen5 zw075 & VeraEdge
« Reply #12 on: October 13, 2015, 02:00:08 pm »
Which switch did you think would also turn on/off? A physical one?  ???

Offline MNB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 689
  • Karma: +4/-9
Re: Help with Aeotec Smart Switch Gen5 zw075 & VeraEdge
« Reply #13 on: October 13, 2015, 03:11:10 pm »
I was expecting the smart switch (physical) to turn power on/off to the device plugged into it like a z-wave binary light switch via z-wave command. I can physically depress the smart switch action button (depression on the face of the switch) and am able to turn on/off the attached device.
Edge-1.7.2607, VRI06-1LX Dimr (6), VS05-1LX Sw (4), GE ZW3002 Dimr (1), HA01C Outlet (12), HA02C Sw (6), HA04C Sw (4), GE Sw (2), HA05 Sw (3), MiniMote Contr (5), HSM200/100 Sensor (2), ZW100A Sensor (8), Nest thermostat (1) & Protect Fire/CO (6) Kwikset Locks (3), F18918W (1) & IP3M-9 (6) Cam's

Offline kdasilva03

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Help with Aeotec Smart Switch Gen5 zw075 & VeraEdge
« Reply #14 on: November 01, 2015, 08:33:25 am »
Recently purchased 5 units to control window candles for the holidays, thinking my wife wouldn't have to go around and plug them all in. Looks like she'll still need to manually do it anyway. (Haven't told her yet :)

I opened a support ticket with Vera support stating "Guaranteed Compatibility" as their website states. So I'm hoping to get a response soon. If I hear anything, I'll update this thread.