We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: New TTS engine: Microsoft Translator  (Read 65735 times)

Offline johanto

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: New TTS engine: Microsoft Translator
« Reply #195 on: January 24, 2017, 07:23:16 am »
Hi everyone! i just e-mailed with:

http://responsivevoice.org/

"Hi Johan,
ResponsiveVoice does work with a variety of operating systems, but we can't offer a final answer about integrating with Vera and Sonos as we have no direct experience in the matter. You can test directly by using the free version of the API (for non-commercial, not-for-profit projects, available at http://responsivevoice.org/ ), or by starting a trial of the Developer API, which is free for 30 days (http://responsivevoice.com/api-trial-application).

It will be great if you can reach out to an app developer who is willing to take on this project, since we are only able to provide the Text-to-speech solution. Hope this helps!

Kind regards,
Suzanne
ResponsiveVoice Support"

SOOOO... reaching out to the app developer who is willing? =) or is there a way to make this work without developer skills?

Offline cybrmage

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1104
  • Karma: +113/-43
Re: New TTS engine: Microsoft Translator
« Reply #196 on: January 24, 2017, 06:10:23 pm »

SOOOO... reaching out to the app developer who is willing? =) or is there a way to make this work without developer skills?

Actually... quite trivial...

Update with the attached files to enable ResponsiveVoice TTS...


Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2409
  • Karma: +112/-140
Re: New TTS engine: Microsoft Translator
« Reply #197 on: January 24, 2017, 07:22:50 pm »
You rock! tried the free API and it's a bit less robotic then MaryTTS. Downloaded your fixes and moving them to my test Vera now. Support is checking on my production one as a ZCOMBO is acting wierdly.

Update: works pretty good. Use the dropdown for TTS Engine and responsevoice is listed. I'm quite happy it defaults to the female US voice.

Thanks Cybrmage!
« Last Edit: January 24, 2017, 07:31:07 pm by BOFH »
Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W

Offline korttoma

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 729
  • Karma: +26/-5
Re: New TTS engine: Microsoft Translator
« Reply #198 on: January 26, 2017, 05:48:21 am »
Maybe this ResponsiveVoice TTS solution deserves a thread of its own? Maybe even a sticky thread? So more people may find it.
- Tomas

Offline mvader

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 397
  • Karma: +29/-75
Re: New TTS engine: Microsoft Translator
« Reply #199 on: January 26, 2017, 10:12:27 am »
will this work with the DLNA plugin?

Offline markoe

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
  • Karma: +4/-3
Re: New TTS engine: Microsoft Translator
« Reply #200 on: January 26, 2017, 02:13:57 pm »

Actually... quite trivial...

Update with the attached files to enable ResponsiveVoice TTS...

Awasome ... This might be the solution for me also, need to test this during weekend. Are you able to switch the language as on the demo web page?

Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2409
  • Karma: +112/-140
Re: New TTS engine: Microsoft Translator
« Reply #201 on: January 26, 2017, 09:43:12 pm »
Only within the constraints of the current sonos plugin. So not all the languages and male/female options seem to be supported. en-US defaults to the female voice so I am happy. I still have the MS TTS as default until it drops.
Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W

Offline fyford

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: New TTS engine: Microsoft Translator
« Reply #202 on: January 27, 2017, 06:41:44 am »
Hi guys,

real newby question, but where / how  do I install the files you attached?

Many thanks

Offline wezley69

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 289
  • Karma: +6/-6
Re: New TTS engine: Microsoft Translator
« Reply #203 on: January 27, 2017, 01:05:28 pm »
Wow!  So easy and some much better TTS!

Offline don key

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: New TTS engine: Microsoft Translator
« Reply #204 on: January 27, 2017, 06:25:14 pm »
First off thanks so much to cybrmage for adding this. It seems to work for me every time when testing directly in the sonos plugin. However if i try to create a scene with the sonos "Say" command from the Advanced Editor page and save. Ill run the scene but nothing is played. Any ideas on what i could be doing wrong here or an easier approach than the Advanced Editor section of the scene creation? Thanks in advance guys!

Offline korttoma

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 729
  • Karma: +26/-5
Re: New TTS engine: Microsoft Translator
« Reply #205 on: January 28, 2017, 03:30:13 pm »
Tested the responsivevoice implementation today and it works nicely with Swedish but the rate of the speech is way to fast. Is there any way to change this?
- Tomas

Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2409
  • Karma: +112/-140
Re: New TTS engine: Microsoft Translator
« Reply #206 on: January 28, 2017, 03:39:38 pm »
@don key: I just use a one liner LUUP code for it instead .

Code: [Select]
luup.call_action("urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:Sonos1", "Say",{Text="Text you want spoken ", Language="en-US", GroupZones="ALL", Volume=75, SameVolumeForAll="true"}, DEVICE_ID)
Replace DEVICE_ID with the device ID of your main Sonos speaker.
I've set GroupZoes to ALL so it goes to all speakers but that's up to you.
Volume is a value between 0 and 100. I set all speakers to be the same volume.
Make sure to set Language to the one you want to use.
 
Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W

Offline cybrmage

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1104
  • Karma: +113/-43
Re: New TTS engine: Microsoft Translator
« Reply #207 on: January 28, 2017, 04:31:26 pm »
it works nicely with Swedish but the rate of the speech is way to fast. Is there any way to change this?

There is... BUT the Sonos TTS implementation does not have a "rate" option... It could be added, but is not trivial...

As a workaround....

1) upload the attached file to your vera with the reload Luup engine option selected. Allow your Vera to finish reloading.
2) find your Sonos device and go to the setup page
3) select "advanced"
4) select "new service"
5) enter:
   new service:  urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:Sonos1
   new variable: TTS_RV_rate
   new value:  (enter a rate value from 0 to 1 - 0.5 is the default value, 0 is extremely slow, 1 is extremely fast)
6) click on "Add"
7) refresh your browser (F5 or CTRL-F5)

Once you have created the variable, you can update it's value from the advanced/variables page.



Offline korttoma

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 729
  • Karma: +26/-5
Re: New TTS engine: Microsoft Translator
« Reply #208 on: January 29, 2017, 02:00:38 am »
thanks a million @cybrmage. works like a charm!
- Tomas

Offline markoe

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
  • Karma: +4/-3
Re: New TTS engine: Microsoft Translator
« Reply #209 on: January 29, 2017, 04:19:46 am »

There is... BUT the Sonos TTS implementation does not have a "rate" option... It could be added, but is not trivial...

As a workaround....

1) upload the attached file to your vera with the reload Luup engine option selected. Allow your Vera to finish reloading.
2) find your Sonos device and go to the setup page
3) select "advanced"
4) select "new service"
5) enter:
   new service:  urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:Sonos1
   new variable: TTS_RV_rate
   new value:  (enter a rate value from 0 to 1 - 0.5 is the default value, 0 is extremely slow, 1 is extremely fast)
6) click on "Add"
7) refresh your browser (F5 or CTRL-F5)

Once you have created the variable, you can update it's value from the advanced/variables page.

This works beautifully and the processing time in cloud is very fast. :D The "rate" 0.4 did work for me . Thank you all very much!
« Last Edit: January 29, 2017, 10:20:13 am by markoe »