We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: ALTUI : Tips & Tricks  (Read 12977 times)

Offline amg0

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3174
  • Karma: +210/-8
ALTUI : Tips & Tricks
« on: August 08, 2015, 05:43:00 am »
Thread for reporting a tip, tricks, cool feature but not very well known, etc

Offline amg0

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3174
  • Karma: +210/-8
1- How to rename a device
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2015, 06:00:05 am »
Click on the device name in the header bar, type the new name

Offline amg0

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3174
  • Karma: +210/-8
2- uninstalling/reinstalling without loosing your custom pages
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2015, 12:10:39 pm »
if you have custom pages you can do the following to not loose them:
1- before update, goto Misc / Options
2- click Save User Pages
3- on Vera, uninstall the device, the plugin, delete the files if possible
4- install v0.40 from the store , let the VERA unit reboot/reload
5- refresh cache browser
6- open ALTUI
7- goto More/Optimizations and click on "Restore From User Pages Cache"
8- click Save Pages
« Last Edit: August 09, 2015, 05:52:39 pm by amg0 »

Offline dklinkman

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: ALTUI : Tips & Tricks
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2015, 05:40:27 pm »
In my version, 596, the buttons for saving and restoring user pages is at Misc -> Options via the menus.  Had to hunt around for it a bit.

--David
VeraPlus, UI7, ALTUI on Chrome, Lots of devices and plugins including MQTT and MySensors.  Also playing around with openLuup

Offline amg0

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3174
  • Karma: +210/-8
Re: ALTUI : Tips & Tricks
« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2015, 05:53:22 pm »
In my version, 596, the buttons for saving and restoring user pages is at Misc -> Options via the menus.  Had to hunt around for it a bit.

--David
Thx ! Updated the post.

Offline amg0

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3174
  • Karma: +210/-8
3- displaying ALTUI in another language
« Reply #5 on: August 10, 2015, 01:48:07 pm »
By default ALTUI recognizes the language of your browser and displays itself in this language if the localization exists.  Today only English, French and very partially Italian exists

a) you can force a different language by passing lang=xx where xx = fr or en or it on the url. example
Code: [Select]
http://192.168.1.16/port_3480/data_request?id=lr_ALTUI_Handler&command=home&lang=fr
b) if people want to contribute to create the strings for another language, you can take J_ALTUI_loc_fr.js and rename it J_ALTUI_loc_xx.js where xx is the 2 letter code of the language following ISO code ( http://www.w3schools.com/tags/ref_language_codes.asp ) and upload the file along the ALTUI files.

c) I can add it into the distribution if you want

d) ALTUI application itself tells you if it find a terms which is supposed to be localized in your localization file and is it.  You can run ALTUI into as many screen/situation as you can, then go to MISC / OPTIONS / Localization and it will display the requested language on the url query,  the language detected in the brower, and the terms which were supposed to be localized but are not.

Code: [Select]
browser query:ko userlanguage: language:fr
 Unknown terms:{"Home":"Home","Away":"Away","Night":"Night","Vacation":"Vacation","Variable":"Variable","Value":"Value","Close":"Close","Action":"Action","Parameters":"Parameters","Favorite":"Favorite","Question":"Question","Search":"Search","Option":"Option","History":"History","Refresh":"Refresh","Remove":"Remove","Load":"Load","Info":"Info","Image":"Image","Run Scene":"Run Scene","Edit":"Edit","Camera":"Camera","On Off":"On Off","Gauge":"Gauge","Rooms":"Rooms","Category":"Category","Label":"Label","Device Icon":"Device Icon","Scene":"Scene","Multi State":"Multi State","Devices":"Devices","Scenes":"Scenes","More":"More","Plugins":"Plugins","Triggers":"Triggers","Power Chart":"Power Chart","Parent/Child Network":"Parent/Child Network","zWave Network":"zWave Network","zWave Routes":"zWave Routes","Network Quality":"Network Quality","Panels":"Panels","Use Custom Pages":"Use Custom Pages","Edit Custom Pages":"Edit Custom Pages","Misc":"Misc","Remote Access Login":"Remote Access Login","Reload Luup Engine":"Reload Luup Engine","Reboot Vera":"Reboot Vera","Lua Startup Code":"Lua Startup Code","Lua Test Code":"Lua Test Code","OS Command":"OS Command","Options":"Options","Localization":"Localization","Debug":"Debug","Credits":"Credits","Evolutions":"Evolutions","Welcome to VERA Alternate UI":"Welcome to VERA Alternate UI","Messages":"Messages","Control Panel":"Control Panel","Scene Edit":"Scene Edit","Custom Pages":"Custom Pages","Edit Pages":"Edit Pages","LuaTest":"LuaTest","LuaStart":"LuaStart","Editor":"Editor","ZWave":"ZWave","Localize":"Localize","Power":"Power","Parent/Child":"Parent/Child","zWaveRoutes":"zWaveRoutes","Quality":"Quality","TblDevices":"TblDevices","OsCommand":"OsCommand","This plugin is a work in progress, it will continuously evolve over time.":"This plugin is a work in progress, it will continuously evolve over time.","You may check out the evolutions on the Micasaverde <a href='http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,30310.msg216129.html#msg216129'>Forum</a>":"You may check out the evolutions on the Micasaverde <a href='http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,30310.msg216129.html#msg216129'>Forum</a>","Localizations":"Localizations","Localization information":"Localization information"}

Offline amg0

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3174
  • Karma: +210/-8
4- OS Commands can be customized
« Reply #6 on: August 11, 2015, 05:00:30 am »
By default ALTUI proposes a number of OS commands to be executed on the target controller of your choice.

These commands are unix commands executed remotely and the output is captured and displayed back into ALTUI without any need to use putty , SCP or things like that. there are of course a few limitation on the kind of commands you can run, you have to avoid commands which are not terminating / pipes or not sending things into the unix stdout.

The Tips & Trick is about the fact that users can add what ever command in ALTUI screens.  Just use the little wrench icon to open the command editing box where you can delete default commands, and /or add your own ones.

The little "yellow refresh" button will restore the defaults so use with care.

I attached screen shots

Offline dklinkman

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: 4- OS Commands can be customized
« Reply #7 on: August 11, 2015, 06:36:09 pm »
By default ALTUI proposes a number of OS commands to be executed on the target controller of your choice.

These commands are unix commands executed remotely and the output is captured and displayed back into ALTUI without any need to use putty , SCP or things like that. there are of course a few limitation on the kind of commands you can run, you have to avoid commands which are not terminating / pipes or not sending things into the unix stdout.

The Tips & Trick is about the fact that users can add what ever command in ALTUI screens.  Just use the little wrench icon to open the command editing box where you can delete default commands, and /or add your own ones.

The little "yellow refresh" button will restore the defaults so use with care.

I attached screen shots
That's pretty neat. I like that.  Suggestion: For the default du maybe change the command to du -h (for obvious reasons :))
VeraPlus, UI7, ALTUI on Chrome, Lots of devices and plugins including MQTT and MySensors.  Also playing around with openLuup

Offline amg0

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3174
  • Karma: +210/-8
5- openning ALTUI on a specific page
« Reply #8 on: August 13, 2015, 04:29:07 am »
You can force ALTUI to open directly on a specific page by adding "&home=xxxx" on the url where xx is one of these keywords:
pageHome , pageRooms , pageDevices , pageScenes , pageSceneEdit , pagePlugins , pageUsePages , pageEditPages , pageCredits , pageLuaTest , pageLuaStart , pageOptions , pageEditor , pageZwave , pageLocalization , pagePower , pageChildren , pageRoutes , pageQuality , pageTblDevices , pageOsCommand

example
Code: [Select]
http://192.168.1.16/port_3480/data_request?id=lr_ALTUI_Handler&command=home&home=pageDevices

Offline amg0

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3174
  • Karma: +210/-8
6- quickly accessing a device control panel
« Reply #9 on: August 14, 2015, 03:45:07 am »
Click on the device icon and it will bring you directly to the device control panel

Offline amg0

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3174
  • Karma: +210/-8
7- favorite devices appear on home page as clickable tiles with basic info
« Reply #10 on: September 01, 2015, 06:03:02 pm »
it says it all in the title...
once a device or scene has been selected as a favorite ( colored star ), it will then appear as a tile on the home page of ALTUI. You can allways return to the Home page by clicking on home or on the VERA logo.

light , dimmers and scene tiles are clickable

Offline amg0

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3174
  • Karma: +210/-8
8 - ALTUI as full page app on IOS
« Reply #11 on: September 14, 2015, 02:42:17 pm »
To have ALTUI opens as a full page APP like a native iOS app on your apple iDevice , proceed like this

1) open ALTUI home page ( with your prefered home page )
2) click on the Share icon on the top left
3) choose save to home screen ( not sure of exact wording, my devices are in french )
4) get the Icon as one of your App Icons

you can now open this Icon and ALTUI will open as a native app. no browser bar and no way to get a browser bar from here. close your app like any other app

Offline amg0

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3174
  • Karma: +210/-8
9 - Temporarly disabling a scene
« Reply #12 on: September 19, 2015, 04:31:27 am »
Click on the small on/off sign on the top left corner of the scene object to pause or resume a scene.
a paused scene, does not execute , even if its triggers are raised.

Offline amg0

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3174
  • Karma: +210/-8
10 - Testing Lua code
« Reply #13 on: September 28, 2015, 03:46:15 pm »
10 - Testing Lua code

ALTUI Misc / Lua test code enables to test some tibbits of Lua code and to display the return value of the code, as well as displaying in an output the result of any print() statement within that code

  • the code must be the body of a lua function. with or without a return statement
  • anything (value, table, object) can be returned, the return is displayed in JSON format in the return window
  • anything printed by the lua code via print statement is displayed in the output window

Offline fgallarday

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: 3- displaying ALTUI in another language
« Reply #14 on: November 09, 2015, 01:41:40 am »
b) if people want to contribute to create the strings for another language, you can take J_ALTUI_loc_fr.js and rename it J_ALTUI_loc_xx.js where xx is the 2 letter code of the language following ISO code ( http://www.w3schools.com/tags/ref_language_codes.asp ) and upload the file along the ALTUI files.

c) I can add it into the distribution if you want

Hi, I recently found about your Alternate UI and really think is a very good job, congratulations!!!

Please, find here my collaboration, a language localization for Spanish. Will be great if you can include it as part of the distribution.
Keep up the great work!

Fernando Gallarday
P.S. As I am not allowed to upload .js files, I renamed it to .txt