We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Vera 3 / UI7.0.11 and ZCOMBO may cause issues!  (Read 12890 times)

Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2409
  • Karma: +112/-140
Vera 3 / UI7.0.11 and ZCOMBO may cause issues!
« on: September 07, 2015, 11:57:19 pm »
Making a seperate topic to let people know.

If you have First Alert ZCOMBO smoke detectors, be careful about installing the upgrade. Please read below first.

I have a scene that if one of them alerts to smoke, all zwave controller lights in the house switch on. (to aid me in looking for smoke and/or escape the house) Luckily I do not have a siren yet as in the last hour, this scene was fired twice due to Vera falsely thinking the ZCOMBO had detected smoke. Which it had not. Needless to say this is not amusing at around freaking midnight having just fallen asleep. The first time I thought one of my dogs had pushed the 'all on' button on a remote but that wasn't the case.

As I type this, my Vera 3 is being rolled back to 7.0.10 as there is no way I'm going to deal with this.

Firmware thread with URL's to most recent versions: http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,32278.0.html
« Last Edit: September 08, 2015, 07:19:17 pm by BOFH »
Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W

Marc Shenker

  • Guest
Re: Vera 3 / UI7.0.11 and ZCOMBO. DON'T DO IT!!!!
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2015, 09:20:15 am »
BOFH, I was just going to respond to your message.

I have seen two reports of this since the new FW was pushed out. I have 6 of these myself. I am upgrading my system now, enabaling verbose logging and Customer Care will be looking at my system right away to see what the problem is.

I will keep you posted.


UPDATE: I have replicated the issue, Customer Care is already looking at my controller to identify and resolve the issue.
« Last Edit: September 08, 2015, 10:34:15 am by Marc Shenker »

Offline RobotsFearMe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Vera 3 / UI7.0.11 and ZCOMBO may cause issues!
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2015, 06:27:00 am »
Hello,
I'm experiencing this same issue with my ZCOMBO, so I'm glad to know it's not just me.  Is there an ETA on a fix for this issue? It's quite aggravating, to say the least.

Offline squatingyeti

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Vera 3 / UI7.0.11 and ZCOMBO. DON'T DO IT!!!!
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2015, 08:43:41 am »
BOFH, I was just going to respond to your message.

I have seen two reports of this since the new FW was pushed out. I have 6 of these myself. I am upgrading my system now, enabaling verbose logging and Customer Care will be looking at my system right away to see what the problem is.

I will keep you posted.


UPDATE: I have replicated the issue, Customer Care is already looking at my controller to identify and resolve the issue.

Has it come to no one else's attention that Marc seems to have setups that include a lot of hardware most of us have? Has it also not come to anyone else's attention that they don't, you know, maybe test the firmware with someone that is frequently seeing the same issues we get upon release? I mean, especially since you work for them. I'm not a rocket scientist, but uhh, maybe they should be giving you a RC before dumping it on us.

Marc Shenker

  • Guest
Re: Vera 3 / UI7.0.11 and ZCOMBO may cause issues!
« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2015, 10:48:39 am »
An update.

I have made contact with First Alert, although not someone with the information that we need but hopefully the people that I have spoken to can get the documentation that we need. Ideally this will be fixed as soon as we get the documentation we need, hopefully in the next update but I couldn't say yet.

squatingyeti, that would be ideal but I am not part of the QA team and currently they do the testing. Two members of the management team are in Iasi this week and they are meeting with the senior members of the Dev Team to discuss many things, I will make sure that the QA process gets discussed.

Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2409
  • Karma: +112/-140
Re: Vera 3 / UI7.0.11 and ZCOMBO may cause issues!
« Reply #5 on: September 10, 2015, 12:35:31 pm »
Thanks for the update Marc!

Hopefully they do give the info so the test button and CO part of these detectors can be supported. That would make a lot of us very happy.

I must admit I was surprised this particular 'undocumented feature' slipped through the QA process as the ZCOMBO is quite a popular unit (At least in the USA) and one of the few ZWave smoke detectors on the market. I only know of the Kidde that Homedepot carries and the Vision and Everspring units as other alternatives. But only the ZCOMBO does CO to the best of my knowledge.
Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W

Marc Shenker

  • Guest
Re: Vera 3 / UI7.0.11 and ZCOMBO may cause issues!
« Reply #6 on: September 11, 2015, 12:11:41 pm »
BOFH, no problem. There is no reason to keep everyone in the dark. I try to work from the ethos that a task isn't done until you finish communicating to those who need to know.

I am working on my weekly update to the Management Team on the issues of the week and I'm going to include your comment.

I have all those ZCOMBOs mostly because someone else paid for them (former owner of my house, its a long but funny store to be shared over a beer) and they were in stock and we were in a hurry. I also have a Vision smoke and CO, would have been fine if they were available that day. All are good choices.

Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2409
  • Karma: +112/-140
Re: Vera 3 / UI7.0.11 and ZCOMBO may cause issues!
« Reply #7 on: September 11, 2015, 12:27:41 pm »
I currently run 2 ZCOMBO"s and 2 Vision smoke only units (Monoprice version) I've not seen Vision combo units yet. I'm not to worried about CO as I have no gas or fireplace in my house. But I put one of the ZCOMBO's in the garage just in case and the other is near the master bedroom. The Visions are in my home office and kitchen area. So most of the house is covered. with some conventional units as backups. Until reach their 10 year (End of life) anniversary in a few years.


Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W

Offline solarshine

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Vera 3 / UI7.0.11 and ZCOMBO may cause issues!
« Reply #8 on: September 14, 2015, 11:33:47 am »
Just posted in the main 7.0.11 thread that I had several zsmoke false scene triggers - the local detector's sounders did not activate, only the scene.

I have certainly had a few false positives from the zsmokes before with actual false detection/local sounder activation - but this is crazy. I have 14 devices and one scene triggers every few minutes... About to downgrade.

Offline solarshine

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Vera 3 / UI7.0.11 and ZCOMBO may cause issues!
« Reply #9 on: September 14, 2015, 12:23:45 pm »
I can't seem to clear the triggered status of my devices... so I can't re-arm them. I have downgraded to .649 and rebooted several times. I have also recycled battery power on a few detectors which is a major PITA and no help.

Any ideas?

Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2409
  • Karma: +112/-140
Re: Vera 3 / UI7.0.11 and ZCOMBO may cause issues!
« Reply #10 on: September 14, 2015, 04:18:21 pm »
There's an easy way to do it manually. Create a Virtual Panel with persistent toggle buttons for each of your smoke alarm.
Then set the off state for that button to set either Tripped or ArmedTripped (depending which one is set to 1) to value 0.
Now you can untrip your smoke sensor with a click on the button.

An added bonus is that at a glance you can see which alarms are tripped or not. I've created a panel that shows all my door/window sensors, motion sensors (and their temp values) and smoke sensors. As well as my glass break one. All on one panel.

Rstrouse's excellent Virtual Panel plugin can be found in the UI7 app store. 
Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W

Offline jprafter

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Vera 3 / UI7.0.11 and ZCOMBO may cause issues!
« Reply #11 on: September 14, 2015, 05:45:51 pm »
I now have an issue with two ZCOMBO's that stay stuck on alert status. I deleted the one as it was triggering scenes.

Marc Shenker

  • Guest
Re: Vera 3 / UI7.0.11 and ZCOMBO may cause issues!
« Reply #12 on: September 22, 2015, 10:58:02 am »
An update: Today I received the in documentation we needed from First Alert. Hopefully we will get it integrated and tested in time for the 7.0.12 update.

Offline integlikewhoa

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 5630
  • Karma: +157/-382
Re: Vera 3 / UI7.0.11 and ZCOMBO may cause issues!
« Reply #13 on: September 22, 2015, 11:32:29 am »
An update: Today I received the in documentation we needed from First Alert. Hopefully we will get it integrated and tested in time for the 7.0.12 update.

I thought we test after the release? 2 weeks shouldn't be an issue to fix what you broke in the last update. 

Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2409
  • Karma: +112/-140
Re: Vera 3 / UI7.0.11 and ZCOMBO may cause issues!
« Reply #14 on: September 22, 2015, 12:15:56 pm »
An update: Today I received the in documentation we needed from First Alert. Hopefully we will get it integrated and tested in time for the 7.0.12 update.

Great! Did they provide enough info so support for the test button and CO part can now be implemented? As that would rock!
Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W