Author Topic: Verasecure notification if power loss  (Read 122 times)

Offline uros76

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
Verasecure notification if power loss
« on: January 17, 2019, 03:55:12 am »
Hi. Pretty new to UI7 and VeraSecure and wondering if anyone managed to get this done.

Since Verasecure has its battery it will keep working if I have power loss. I am looking to triger an action when verasecure switches to internal battery power. Is this possbile?
I looked on scene triggers under verasecure device and couldnt find much useful. There is chance to get notified if battery of verasecure drops under certain %. But that cant be instant notification of power loss.

Any ideas?

Offline rigpapa

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 903
  • Karma: +144/-1
Re: Verasecure notification if power loss
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2019, 07:36:10 am »
Hi. Pretty new to UI7 and VeraSecure and wondering if anyone managed to get this done.

Since Verasecure has its battery it will keep working if I have power loss. I am looking to triger an action when verasecure switches to internal battery power. Is this possbile?
I looked on scene triggers under verasecure device and couldnt find much useful. There is chance to get notified if battery of verasecure drops under certain %. But that cant be instant notification of power loss.

Any ideas?

The Reactor plugin pulls the current power source (utility or battery) and battery charge level. You can make conditions for either (i.e. send you a notification when the unit has been on battery power more than some amount of time, or when the battery level becomes lower than X%). Since I don't have a VeraSecure, it is an unverified feature, but if you go that direction, I'll follow it with you and address anything that comes up.
Author of Reactor, DelayLight, SiteSensor, Rachio, Deus Ex Machina II, Intesis WMP Gateway, Auto Virtual Thermostat and VirtualSensor plugins. Vera Plus w/100+ Z-wave devices. Vera3 sandbox.

Offline uros76

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Verasecure notification if power loss
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2019, 09:11:52 am »
Thanks for reply. I just installed Reactor and trying to find right condition. Attaching screenshot of options visible under verasecure.
Not sure where to go from here. Should I try with status? But then what kind of status is there? Any chance I can see status names change when I disconect power?
Sorry for noob questions :).

Offline rigpapa

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 903
  • Karma: +144/-1
Re: Verasecure notification if power loss
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2019, 09:37:14 am »
Thanks for reply. I just installed Reactor and trying to find right condition. Attaching screenshot of options visible under verasecure.
Not sure where to go from here. Should I try with status? But then what kind of status is there? Any chance I can see status names change when I disconect power?
Sorry for noob questions :).

Choose the Reactor master device, and you'll see two variables listed: SystemPowerSource (possible values are "battery" and "utility"), and SystemBatteryLevel (0-100, percent).
Author of Reactor, DelayLight, SiteSensor, Rachio, Deus Ex Machina II, Intesis WMP Gateway, Auto Virtual Thermostat and VirtualSensor plugins. Vera Plus w/100+ Z-wave devices. Vera3 sandbox.

Offline uros76

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Verasecure notification if power loss
« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2019, 10:01:06 am »
Cool, it worked. On newly created reactor sensor I used reactor master device and its SystemPowerSource battery variable as condition. Attaching condition screenshot. Hope your recomendation was going into this direction :).
Takes 20 seconds to get the trigger working after I take off power but this delay doesn't bother me. By the way I love the untrip action option, brilliant function implemented in plugin.

Thanks a bunch :). Off to next automation tasks.


Offline rigpapa

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 903
  • Karma: +144/-1
Re: Verasecure notification if power loss
« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2019, 12:00:30 pm »
Cool, it worked. On newly created reactor sensor I used reactor master device and its SystemPowerSource battery variable as condition. Attaching condition screenshot. Hope your recomendation was going into this direction :).
Takes 20 seconds to get the trigger working after I take off power but this delay doesn't bother me. By the way I love the untrip action option, brilliant function implemented in plugin.

Thanks a bunch :). Off to next automation tasks.

Yes. The delay is because the power source and battery level are not event-driven data in Vera/Luup, they have to be polled. They are updated every minute.
Author of Reactor, DelayLight, SiteSensor, Rachio, Deus Ex Machina II, Intesis WMP Gateway, Auto Virtual Thermostat and VirtualSensor plugins. Vera Plus w/100+ Z-wave devices. Vera3 sandbox.