We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Sending "Say" command through homewave to sonos plugin  (Read 1328 times)

Offline goldriver

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
  • Karma: +0/-0
Sending "Say" command through homewave to sonos plugin
« on: October 16, 2015, 05:41:58 pm »
Is there anyway that Homewave can access the Sonos plugin Say command so that from my phone I could type in a phrase that could be speak through my sonos play 1 ?

Offline intveltr

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1741
  • Karma: +102/-5
Re: Sending "Say" command through homewave to sonos plugin
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2015, 04:45:14 pm »
If you figure out the right uPnP command for the Sonos plugin to run the Say command, you can use an Action button in HomeWave to make Sonos say something.  But there's no option to type a phrase and have it said, short of editing the Action control's properties and changing the uPnP command.
HomeWave is available in the App Store!  Turn your iPhone/iPad into an easy-to-use remote control for Vera.

Offline MNB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 689
  • Karma: +4/-9
Re: Sending "Say" command through homewave to sonos plugin
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2015, 02:38:29 pm »
@goldriver, did you have any success? I too would like to be able to do the same. Mike
Edge-1.7.2607, VRI06-1LX Dimr (6), VS05-1LX Sw (4), GE ZW3002 Dimr (1), HA01C Outlet (12), HA02C Sw (6), HA04C Sw (4), GE Sw (2), HA05 Sw (3), MiniMote Contr (5), HSM200/100 Sensor (2), ZW100A Sensor (8), Nest thermostat (1) & Protect Fire/CO (6) Kwikset Locks (3), F18918W (1) & IP3M-9 (6) Cam's

Offline goldriver

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Sending "Say" command through homewave to sonos plugin
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2015, 07:15:08 pm »
Unfortunatly no!

Offline bkanemios

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Sending "Say" command through homewave to sonos plugin
« Reply #4 on: November 11, 2015, 08:07:06 am »
i have a number of buttons set up in homewave to "say" certain things via Sonos.
i accomplish this by creating a scene in the Vera for each of the things i want to "say", and then trigger the scene with a button in Homewave. 

The scene is created using the advanced tab (in UI5), and parameters i use are on the screen shot.  This assumes that you have already have Sonos units added to your Vera system.

not sure if this is what you are aiming to do, but it has worked for me so far.



Offline MNB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 689
  • Karma: +4/-9
Re: Sending "Say" command through homewave to sonos plugin
« Reply #5 on: November 11, 2015, 02:26:42 pm »
@bkanemios, thanxs for the recommendation, it is an approach however it is not a dynamic solution and would require a number of "canned or preset" category scenario's in order to leave a verbal message. Mike
Edge-1.7.2607, VRI06-1LX Dimr (6), VS05-1LX Sw (4), GE ZW3002 Dimr (1), HA01C Outlet (12), HA02C Sw (6), HA04C Sw (4), GE Sw (2), HA05 Sw (3), MiniMote Contr (5), HSM200/100 Sensor (2), ZW100A Sensor (8), Nest thermostat (1) & Protect Fire/CO (6) Kwikset Locks (3), F18918W (1) & IP3M-9 (6) Cam's