Author Topic: SQ Remote crashes  (Read 6844 times)

Offline Maartenvt

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
  • Karma: +0/-0
SQ Remote crashes
« on: April 09, 2010, 07:45:21 am »
After one day working with the app it crashes every time i open it. i updated my Ipod touch to 3.1.3. now it doesn't work anymore. i re-installed the app, withoud any luck.

On my Iphone 3G (3.1.2) the app is not working also. it say's something about "account is not for sandbox.......). Iphone is JB.

 ???
Vera Edge (Firmware rev. 1.7.2406), 1x Düwi INTERACT³ light switch, 1x  ZIR010 Motion Sensor.

Offline mikeholczer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 413
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: SQ Remote crashes
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2010, 08:54:01 am »

Offline Maartenvt

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: SQ Remote crashes
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2010, 12:12:04 pm »
Oke, thets clear. but still have the problem with my Ipod. SQ Remote crashes everytime. My Ipod is NOT JB
Vera Edge (Firmware rev. 1.7.2406), 1x Düwi INTERACT³ light switch, 1x  ZIR010 Motion Sensor.

Offline shady

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1324
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • This monkey knows his Window Coverings!
Re: SQ Remote crashes
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2010, 10:49:29 pm »
Are you deleting it off of the iPod, using the iPod home screen, AND deleting it off of iTunes and then reinstalling it into iTunes and re-syncing it?

That should work.
Vera3 1.5.346, Schlage (3)DB (2)Lever, Kwikset (1)Lever, RCS TZ43 Thermo, (2) Vizia RZI06-1LX 600W Dimmers, (17) Monster (Leviton) Dimmers (6) Monster (Leviton) IWC Scene Controllers (1) Etherrain-8, (3) HSM 100's (1)GE 3-Way set

Offline SquareConnectMat

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: SQ Remote crashes
« Reply #4 on: April 10, 2010, 12:42:54 am »
Oke, thets clear. but still have the problem with my Ipod. SQ Remote crashes everytime. My Ipod is NOT JB

Ouch. This is generally a sign that something has gone a wrong with the installation. We have definitely had issues with jail broken phones.... Did you share the control pad configuration? 

If it is not too much trouble, it would be good to find out if shady's suggestion fixes the issue.

If you are still having problems, pleasse raise a ticket on our system (http://www.squareconnect.com/ticket/index.php) and we will guide you through the process of getting the crash log that will help us identify the exact cause of the issues you are having.


Offline Maartenvt

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: SQ Remote crashes
« Reply #5 on: April 10, 2010, 05:25:44 am »
@SquareConnectMat
IPOD:
Oke, thank you. i will de-install everything and go back to factory defaults and tray again. if this isnt working, i will add a ticket.

IPHONE:
i am really dissapointed about the fact thet the app isnt working on a JB Iphone.
Vera Edge (Firmware rev. 1.7.2406), 1x Düwi INTERACT³ light switch, 1x  ZIR010 Motion Sensor.

Offline Maartenvt

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: SQ Remote crashes
« Reply #6 on: April 10, 2010, 07:51:03 am »
Oke, re-installed to factory defaults.
Removed the SQ app from iTunes.
Dowloaded the app new.
Sync the app to my Ipod

Still crashes :(

I will add a ticket to the SQ website
Vera Edge (Firmware rev. 1.7.2406), 1x Düwi INTERACT³ light switch, 1x  ZIR010 Motion Sensor.

Offline SquareConnectJohn

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 171
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: SQ Remote crashes
« Reply #7 on: April 10, 2010, 08:30:03 am »
IPHONE:
i am really dissapointed about the fact thet the app isnt working on a JB Iphone.

So are we, - this appears (at least in some cases) to be an issue with appSync.
Do you have an App called AppSync on your device? This is an application that is often used on jailbroken iPhones and iPod touches. This apparently stops the in-app purchase.

If you do have AppSync installed you might consider deleting it, and then re-trying the install of SQ Remote followed by the in-app purchase.

This has definitely worked in one instance.

We will look into the 3.1.3 OS issue of course. If there is an issue with the newer OS, then the fix will need to come through a new submission to the App Store, which might take a while.

Is there anyone else out there with OS 3.1.3 that is experiencing this crash.

Maartenvt - what firmware on Vera are you using?
Square Connect Co-Founder

Offline Maartenvt

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: SQ Remote crashes
« Reply #8 on: April 10, 2010, 02:34:55 pm »
I am using Vera 1.1.304
I downgraded my Ipod to 3.1.2 and it is still not working. i will tray to downgrade me vera. maybe this is the problem.
Vera Edge (Firmware rev. 1.7.2406), 1x Düwi INTERACT³ light switch, 1x  ZIR010 Motion Sensor.

Offline Maartenvt

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: SQ Remote crashes
« Reply #9 on: April 10, 2010, 02:46:36 pm »
Oke, i downgraded vera to 1.1.228 still it crashes.
It is strange, it worked great with this configuration (Vera 1.1.228 and Ipod 3.1.2)

I don't know what the problem is.
Vera Edge (Firmware rev. 1.7.2406), 1x Düwi INTERACT³ light switch, 1x  ZIR010 Motion Sensor.

Offline SquareConnectMat

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: SQ Remote crashes
« Reply #10 on: April 10, 2010, 06:30:38 pm »
Oke, re-installed to factory defaults.
Removed the SQ app from iTunes.
Dowloaded the app new.
Sync the app to my Ipod

Still crashes :(

I will add a ticket to the SQ website
@ maartenvt.

I am running sq remote on the iPod touch 2nd gen with 3.1.3. I found that this version of the touch with this version of the OS has network issues in general fro me. Nothing to do with SQ Remote, it often hangs on Safari and adhoc network fails completely in safari on this config.

I will try exactly your versions of vera on this device and see if I can reproduce.

In the mean time we'll follow up on the ticket and get our developers to examine the crash report to find out what is happening.

Thanks for your patience.

Offline SquareConnectMat

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: SQ Remote crashes
« Reply #11 on: April 10, 2010, 06:44:53 pm »
@SquareConnectMat


IPHONE:
i am really dissapointed about the fact thet the app isnt working on a JB Iphone.


As much as I would like to, It is extremely difficult for us to test and support jb phones. Obviously apple does not support or condone developers doing so, and in fact have been know to revoke the developers license....

It is a practical matter, we have very limited resources for a very niche market, which of course we believe in long term, but where should we invest our time and money? Supporting the many different set up environments of jb phones (very small number of users) or make existing functionality rock solid and add iPad support. We currently have to consider and test 5 different iPhone platforms... All have subtle differences in behaviour, especially how they behave on the network. We are about to head into an even more challenging era, with simultaneous support of devices with os 3 (gen 1 iphone and 3G, gen one touch), Os4 ( new phones, gen 2 touch and 3GS) and iPad with 3.2 and 4...

We will have to certify and test on each of these platforms, yikes.

Once the community has found the version of Vera that seems to work best for everyone, we will be setting that as the gold standard fro support, and then will have planned testing and certifications for Vera releases on some regular timed basis...


Mat

 

Offline umtauscher

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 223
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: SQ Remote crashes
« Reply #12 on: April 11, 2010, 12:36:50 pm »
Hi Mat,

I feel your pain.
If it's any help, I am running SQ with iPod touch 2nd Gen 3.1.2 and vera 989.
Works without problems. Vera is connected with static IP, not Findvera.com.

Cheers
Umtauscher

Offline SquareConnectMat

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: SQ Remote crashes
« Reply #13 on: April 11, 2010, 03:02:13 pm »
Oke, i downgraded vera to 1.1.228 still it crashes.
It is strange, it worked great with this configuration (Vera 1.1.228 and Ipod 3.1.2)

I don't know what the problem is.

@Maartenvt

If I understand, you had this config and it worked... did upgrades, downgrades and now it doesnt work still?

We have a couple of files that we hold between sessions that are read at start up. I am concerned that one of these is now corrupt or out of step with the various versions. It is possible that this is causing the crash.

The first is a file we get from vera when we first do device discovery. Basically when we launch we use findvera.com to see if you have any local veras. If we do, we pull your configuration and get a couple of key pieces of data plus what devices you have configered etc. We do a compare on subsequent loads, to see if anything has changed. Of particular interest the first time is which specific findvera server your particular vera unit uses... (hence there are some tricky use cases around this).

What I have found is that sometimes when switching between versions of vera and the app, this file gets corrupted or confused and this could be the case. It is very hard to create reproducible test cases for these behaviours... especially as ther is still such turbulance in the Vera Firmware version. As I mentioned in another post, when we get a build that the majority of our users feel is stable and works for them, we will make that the gold support firmware and then go into planned, structured testing of firmware releases that we will support SQ Remote against.

For now, I would ask that you make sure you delete the app from the iPod touch before re-syncing... then reinstall the app.  Be warned that the control pads will be deleted... If you had saved to box.net, you can download using the sharing option... and if that then casues problems, we know that somehow the control pads had got corrupted. As you have already purchased the license, you can restore the license from setup->feature sets-> restore purchased feature sets.

It will, of course be best, if you can, to do this locally on the same Network as the vera...

Mat