Author Topic: Upgraded SQ remote and now no connection  (Read 3190 times)

Offline ksquared

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
  • Karma: +0/-0
Upgraded SQ remote and now no connection
« on: April 23, 2010, 12:09:26 am »
I was perfectly happy with SQ remote running what seemed to be a very stable 1.0988 firmware on Vera. I just upgraded the App and it now tells me I need to upgrade my MIOS firmware.

Why?!?  Is this an error?  Why force a firmware upgrade when the website still states that this firmware release is compatible?
« Last Edit: April 23, 2010, 12:11:42 am by ksquared »

Offline ksquared

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Upgraded SQ remote and now no connection
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2010, 12:28:42 am »
Update:  just upgraded to the new firmware on my iPad and am still unable to connect now. I didn't upgrade my iPhone SQ remote version and that still works. The iPad updated is now saying MIOS firmware "NULL" and directs me to the website.

I wonder if this is isolated but will not be upgrading other devices in my home until this is clarified.

Offline SquareConnectMat

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Upgraded SQ remote and now no connection
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2010, 02:15:52 am »
@ksquared,

Thanks for bringing this to our attention.

This is very frustrating and we are looking into it. If you havnt already, can you raise a ticket? we want to get a couple of files form you to find out what is happening.

Thanks,

Mat

Offline SquareConnectJohn

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 171
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Upgraded SQ remote and now no connection
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2010, 04:21:31 am »
Why?!?  Is this an error?  Why force a firmware upgrade when the website still states that this firmware release is compatible?

ksquared - many many many apologies for this happening. We had several defects that were preventing many people from using SQ Remote correctly so we had to release a defect-fix upgrade for this. Apple's process for this simply replaces the older version with the new one on the app-store and then notifies everyone that there is an upgrade. Unfortunately a new defect has slipped in with one of the fixes that we didn't catch prior to release. We have identified the error, and are hoping to have a fix for this as rapidly as we can.

Square Connect Co-Founder

Offline ksquared

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Upgraded SQ remote and now no connection
« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2010, 04:31:13 pm »
Thank you!  Good thing I only upgraded one of the copies, and my iPhone version (the older one) remains fine.  Thanks for the prompt intervention, and for confirming it's not just me.

Offline SquareConnectJohn

  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 171
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Upgraded SQ remote and now no connection
« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2010, 05:01:49 pm »
First a sincere apology. We goofed. We made a patch for 1.0.1 to fix some blockers for some of our customers (see http://www.squareconnect.com/wiki/doku. ... wn_defects from details of what we fixed). In the process we introduced another defect - and our "emergency patch QA process" missed it. We are really sorry for the inconvenience caused... needless to say we are improving the emergency release process to add some additional QA steps and will be reviewing the complete release process to try and ensure this doesn't happen again.

For those who like the details of a train wreck: It turns out there were some slight differences between how UI3 and UI2 branches of Vera firmware communicates what version is actually running. We added a check for firmware version to make sure that a compatible version was running when SQ Remote is run. Our testing missed this incompatibility, and the app was submitted to the app store.

To fix this, if you are on UI2 branch, is to upgrade the Vera firmware to 1.0.995 which has a firmware tag in the same format as UI3.

Here is the download link for the new UI2 version:
http://download.mios.com/betafirmware/w ... .995-1.trx
This is identical to the latest 1.0.994 release but has the fix for SQ remote.

Future versions of SQ Remote will not have this defect, and will work with earlier versions of Vera firmware, but we didn't want to have our users wait for this, and so asked MCV to do a special release for us to solve this problem. They were kind enough to do this for us.

The Square Connect Team
Square Connect Co-Founder