Author Topic: Hunter Douglas PowerView control with Vera and Amazon Echo  (Read 24510 times)

Offline angelstar12

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Hunter Douglas PowerView control with Vera and Amazon Echo
« Reply #45 on: January 19, 2018, 08:40:59 pm »
Hi
I have the HD hub but is the original one and have set up a scene in vera to open and close the blind which works as expected.  However when I discover these scenes in Alexa nothing happens. 

Does anyone have any suggestions on what I need to look at here to fix this? 

I'm really new to this and just learning as I go so really appreciated any help I can get.


Offline wulften

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Hunter Douglas PowerView control with Vera and Amazon Echo
« Reply #46 on: January 26, 2018, 07:09:58 am »
If you have searched devices in the Alexa app, did you see the new scenes? Otherwise you have to relogon in Vera and before you select your controller click on the upper right pull Down menu and select manage Alexa.

Offline mcummings1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Hunter Douglas PowerView control with Vera and Amazon Echo
« Reply #47 on: March 10, 2018, 06:17:10 pm »
I have tried both codes with scences?sceneid and shades?shadeid and get nothing. Anyone have any suggestions on how to get my powerview shades connected to my Veraplus system? i just had the hunter douglas system installed yesterday so i assume i have the new hub.

Offline wulften

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Hunter Douglas PowerView control with Vera and Amazon Echo
« Reply #48 on: March 30, 2018, 07:01:14 am »
Apparently you got reply from: http://PowerviewIp/api/scenes?
If you got the reply with scenids it is supposed to ativate the scene with http://PowerviewIp/api/scenes?sceneid=12345 in you local browser.
You do not mention if this is not working in your browser or in a vera scene.

Offline mcummings1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Hunter Douglas PowerView control with Vera and Amazon Echo
« Reply #49 on: March 30, 2018, 08:00:52 am »
Sorry for lack of info. I'm getting a reply in my browser with the scene is but not getting any movement when putting the address with the scene I'd in my browser from the shade. All it does is pull up the same page as the http://IP/API/scenes? I don't it for both scenes?scenid and shades?/shadeid and it yields the same result.

Offline wulften

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Hunter Douglas PowerView control with Vera and Amazon Echo
« Reply #50 on: April 11, 2018, 03:19:25 am »
It seems there must be a difference in setup between the V1 and V2 hub, mine is still V1 and is working for the http part of scenes.
Perhaps you can ask the hunter douglas rep for this?

Offline cw-kid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1567
  • Karma: +16/-2
Re: Hunter Douglas PowerView control with Vera and Amazon Echo
« Reply #51 on: June 18, 2018, 05:52:11 am »
So does the Hunter Douglas v2 hub work with Vera? Do they still have an API for sending http commands to it ?

I see Hunter Douglas has IFTTT support, Vera can send webhooks to IFTTT to control devices.


Offline filthyjason

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Hunter Douglas PowerView control with Vera and Amazon Echo
« Reply #52 on: June 20, 2018, 05:51:34 pm »
Ok, so I've done a bit of work here myself with a V2 Hub.

Similar to the V1, you can pull the Scenes from the hub directly at http://hub.ip.addy.here/api/scenes  - The Hub only encrypts this data in Base64 so you can easily determine the names with an online decoder https://www.base64decode.org/

You can see from the OP reply 4:
{"id":22215,"name":"RmFtaWx5IFJvb20gT3Blbg==","roomId":17513,"order":0,"colorId":3,"iconId":0},

just plug that Hash in (RmFtaWx5IFJvb20gT3Blbg - you don't need the trailing =='s) & it comes out "Family Room Open"

I think w/ the newer Vera OS you have to enable WGET, which I didn't want to do just yet.

I then used the scene ID number in the beginning with a CURL request.  I'm guessing the Hub requires a lot of info in the request header, which I pulled from a Wireshark capture. I set all of those and built a manual scene to map it out.

Here's the exact Luup code I set for one of my scenes.  I just got this working yesterday so I haven't tuned it but wanted to share in case anyone else needed the info.  Ideally, it wouldn't be an os.execute call either, but I'm quite the noob with Luup coding and this worked for now.  My main hub has a DHCP reservation of 10.3.3.244 and I'm on Firmware 2.0.741 per the Hub about page.


os.execute('curl -i -H "Host: 10.3.3.244:80" -H "Content-Type: application/json" -H "Accept: application/json" -H "User-Agent: PowerView/7245 CFNetwork/901.1 Darwin/17.6.0" -H "Accept-Language: en-us" -H "Accept-Encoding: gzip, deflate" -H "Connection: keep-alive" http://10.3.3.244/api/scenes?sceneId=47478')


Something odd I found with the wireshark capture, a Scene request is just an HTTP GET, but an individual blind control is an HTTP PUT. Perhaps because it sets the position too. I'm happy to share up a wireshark of these events if anyone wants to look through them, the requests are all unencrypted clear text other than the Base64 hash entries.

~Jason

Offline wulften

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Hunter Douglas PowerView control with Vera and Amazon Echo
« Reply #53 on: July 06, 2018, 07:15:36 am »
Ok, so I've done a bit of work here myself with a V2 Hub.

~Jason

Thanks for this info, as I am a total noob can you share a curl command with an example on how to set a blind with certain top bottom margins?

Offline filthyjason

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Hunter Douglas PowerView control with Vera and Amazon Echo
« Reply #54 on: August 14, 2018, 08:10:34 pm »
Looks like I had notifications off on this thread. Anyway, I am only using this currently for full up or full down control. I haven't looked into doing a partial as that's per window vs per scene. The scene method was a lot easier to get going, and I suppose you could create a bunch of scenes for individual windows, perhaps at various heights too.

I'll poke around more with this in a few days hopefully.

Offline Kmitchel

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
  • Karma: +1/-2
Re: Hunter Douglas PowerView control with Vera and Amazon Echo
« Reply #55 on: September 18, 2018, 10:18:49 am »
Has anyone run into the issue where you can get the scene IDs using

http://192.168.2.210/api/scenes


but it doesn't do anything when you enter

http://192.168.2.210/api/scenes?sceneId=29976

from Chrome or Edge?

I deleted all of my scenes and created one scene to open the blind.  I'll have the blind in the close position and enter the URL with the scene ID and nothing happens.

Offline wulften

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Hunter Douglas PowerView control with Vera and Amazon Echo
« Reply #56 on: October 12, 2018, 02:26:06 am »
but it doesn't do anything when you enter  http://192.168.2.210/api/scenes?sceneId=29976

I think you have the Powerview v2 hub? Seems to work only with the V1 hub :-\.

Offline jbfoster

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
  • Karma: +8/-24
Re: Hunter Douglas PowerView control with Vera and Amazon Echo
« Reply #57 on: October 12, 2018, 04:47:53 pm »
They sure are loud


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline XA44Owq26HxCq88

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Hunter Douglas PowerView control with Vera and Amazon Echo
« Reply #58 on: October 13, 2018, 11:59:17 am »
reading this conversation, I'm gathering that there are differences in HD Hub 1 and HD Hub 2 when trying to call a scene via VeraPlus Lua code.

filthyjason seems to have gotten it working, but the "code" he/she posted is completely foreign to me.

I got a response to my question on another thread (HD Gen2 Hub and Vera) from a Vera rep looking for more info on the unit, saying he'd put in a request to support the unit. He couldn't find any info on the unit and my Ver2 hub is not arriving until next week. If anyone has any information on the unit, please send in a request for support to Vera and maybe, maybe, they'll do something.

meanwhile, if anyone has any suggestions on how to get the Ver2 hub working with Vera, I'm all ears. And if filthyjason is following this discussion, maybe he/she could point me in the direction to decipher/learn the code that he/she said was working for him. I've got 24 scenes from Powerview that I need to run from Vera.

thanks

Offline XA44Owq26HxCq88

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Hunter Douglas PowerView control with Vera and Amazon Echo
« Reply #59 on: October 23, 2018, 06:53:29 pm »
Got my Gen 2 hub today and was able to successfully use a -

http://192.168.1.XX/api/scenes?sceneId=20659

command in LUA to execute a scene on the new hub.

NOTE: The command  would not operate the scene if the letter I (eye) in ?sceneID= was a lower case i (eye) as was the case when sending this command to the Gen 1 hub.

BUT... there is no way to make a static IP address if you are using the wifi connection to your router.

BTW I only needed one Gen 2 repeater where the Gen 1 hub needed 3.

Hopefully this will be a successful strengthening of one of the links in my HA system!