We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Hunter Douglas PowerView control with Vera and Amazon Echo  (Read 33589 times)

Offline wulften

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Hunter Douglas PowerView control with Vera and Amazon Echo
« Reply #60 on: November 01, 2018, 04:25:05 am »
BUT... there is no way to make a static IP address if you are using the wifi connection to your router.
This info will help Gen2 users I think, with Gen1 it is possible to set the Hunter Douglas hub to a fixed ip, I find it strange that the Gen2 hub cannot be set fixed.

Offline XA44Owq26HxCq88

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Hunter Douglas PowerView control with Vera and Amazon Echo
« Reply #61 on: November 01, 2018, 11:01:27 am »
Let me clarify the no static IP comment - the HD app does not have a function to make it a static IP when using the wifi connection. It does when you are using the cabled connection. I don't know if you can work it from the other direction, ie having your router make a static IP address for the HD hub.

My hub is now hard wired, with a static IP assigned via the HD app and has been working very nicely. I rebooted the router just to check. The router reassigned all my IP addresses (and wrecked havoc with a wifi printer) except the HD Hub, which remained the same.

I believe the new hub/repeater resolved some of my issues with the HD system (so far).

Offline XA44Owq26HxCq88

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Hunter Douglas PowerView control with Vera and Amazon Echo
« Reply #62 on: November 01, 2018, 11:07:18 am »
BTW, I was remiss in not acknowledging Mike Q for the original posting of how to access the HD system via LUA code. Thanks Mike! If you had not done the work to discover this method, I would have been forced to rely on the rudimentary controls offered by the HD App.

Offline wulften

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Hunter Douglas PowerView control with Vera and Amazon Echo
« Reply #63 on: November 06, 2018, 01:19:10 am »
Mine is also wired, which allows me to set a static ip 8)
Seems to have been reset after a automatic firmware update :(

Offline XA44Owq26HxCq88

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Hunter Douglas PowerView control with Vera and Amazon Echo
« Reply #64 on: November 06, 2018, 01:44:41 am »
Wulften - Automatic firmware update??? The HD Gen2 hub does this? I'm away from home and have no way to determine this I think. If it has done this then all my Vera scenes will not be working. That stinks! I think I better activate my HD automations.

Offline XA44Owq26HxCq88

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Hunter Douglas PowerView control with Vera and Amazon Echo
« Reply #65 on: February 12, 2019, 10:34:50 pm »
Has anyone figured out the http command to stop a shade?

Activating an HD scene works fine, but it would be nice to have the ability to stop a shade instantly.

I'd add it to my Imperihome page for my shades.

Offline XA44Owq26HxCq88

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Hunter Douglas PowerView control with Vera and Amazon Echo
« Reply #66 on: February 20, 2019, 01:41:18 pm »
Found this on the web

https://github.com/drbrain/indigo-powerview/blob/master/PowerView%20API.md

Explains some of the commands for the hub (like how to calibrate a shade).

What I can't figure out, in my programming ignorance, is how to structure a LUUP command to get Vera to send to the shade the command to calibrate, or anything else other than what Mike Q has provided us.

This would allow me to re-calibrate my shades remotely (while I'm not on my local network). The calibration command via the PV App is my stop-gap command to restore shades to working order. Not sure why they keep losing this information, but it happens all too frequently and they don't come back without the 10sec press of the button on each shade or doing the re calibration via the app. That does not work while I'm away from home.

any help would be greatly appreciated.