Author Topic: Migrating to VeraPlus  (Read 2987 times)

Offline br636

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
  • Karma: +2/-1
Migrating to VeraPlus
« on: February 18, 2016, 11:25:33 am »
Has anyone tried to migrate from one vera to another? Did you have to re-link all the devices in homewave? My VeraPlus will be here today and I want to know how much work I'm in for.

Offline oliverpe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Migrating to VeraPlus
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2016, 12:14:55 pm »
I followed this link when I switched from Vera  Lite to Vera Edge, I too am expecting my Vera Plus soon and will try the same procedure again.

http://support.getvera.com/customer/portal/articles/1840697-upgrade-from-ui7-on-veralite-or-vera-3

I have not seen any other official document for the Edge to Plus yet.

Also just seen this on another thread:
http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,32031.735.html
« Last Edit: February 18, 2016, 12:25:19 pm by oliverpe »

Offline br636

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
  • Karma: +2/-1
Re: Migrating to VeraPlus
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2016, 12:27:01 pm »
I followed this link when I switched from Vera  Lite to Vera Edge, I too am expecting my Vera Plus soon and will try the same procedure again.

http://support.getvera.com/customer/portal/articles/1840697-upgrade-from-ui7-on-veralite-or-vera-3

I have not seen any other official document for the Edge to Plus yet.

Also just seen this on another thread:
http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,32031.735.html

That is what I plan on doing. Did you have to re-link your devices in Homewave?

Offline hmspain

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 523
  • Karma: +16/-8
Re: Migrating to VeraPlus
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2016, 11:13:50 pm »
I received my Vera Plus this afternoon, and finished the migration from a Vera3 running UI7.

Short story; everything works.

Longer story.  The Vera migration guide works, and it's not too difficult.

Once your get your Vera Plus powered up, you can configure it for a fixed IP address, give it a name, and have it show up on the Vera web page.  Now you are ready to migrate.

1) On my Vera3, I backed up Zwave.  It's over 16,000 so it took several attempts, but finally completed (1,000 at a time).
2) I backed up my Vera 3 creating a file on my PC (you will need that file later).
3) You then put Z-wave on the Vera 3 in some sort of transfer mode (see the Vera migration instructions).
4) Go to the Vera Plus and migrate the Z-wave configuration; scary... no going back now!
5) Restore the backup you did on the Vera3 to the VeraPlus; all the devices, scenes, rooms etc migrated as did most of my 3rd party apps.

Except Hue didn't work.  No problem, the Vera Plus supports Zigbee.  I removed the Hue app, and tried (hoped for) my best to get the Zigbee protocol to see my Hue lamps/strips/blooms... no luck.

I re-added the Hue app, and started re-adding the Hue groups to my scenes.

I use the ha-bridge interface from Echo to Vera.  the HABRIDGE had to be told the new IP address of the Vera Plus, but this is in the main configuration, and only applies to NEW devices/scenes!  You have to go through and manually change all the device/scenes to make sure each one points to the new Vera Plus IP address.  Go into the habridge RPi (or in my case my QNAP) and change the script starting the habridge to use the new IP address and restart the process.  "Echo, discover devices".  Now is a good time to test things and see the result.  Make sure it's not still pointing back to the old IP address for some reason.

Unplug Vera3... :-).
VeraPlus, Nest Cameras (6), Siren, Hue Bulbs/Strips/Blooms (65), Fan Dimmer (6), Aeon 4-in-1s (10), Water Sensors (3), Z-Wave Switches (20), Nest Smoke/CO Protects (5), Ecobee 3, HEM Gen2s (2)

Offline hmspain

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 523
  • Karma: +16/-8
Re: Migrating to VeraPlus
« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2016, 11:23:00 pm »
Oh yes, my first impressions of the Vera Plus...

1) It's pretty much the same as my Vera3, don't expect many UI differences.
2) It is noticeably faster.  Things I used to wait for like scene changes, device changes, just seem to move along.  The performance is not instant, just faster, less painful.
3) More memory; hopefully this will be reflected in better stability and performance.
4) More disk space; things are not so cramped that you feel forced to put your log files on a USB stick.  I think I'll resist that move for now.
5) Lots of new processes run on an updated kernal.  You see evidence of Blue Tooth processes etc.  It's a busy controller.
6) A "top" shows the system not working very hard; I hope that continues.
7) I miss the lights on the side/front.  It was easier to keep track of my Vera3 by looking at the lights; perhaps it will not be as important with the Vera Plus.

Wish 1) Someone convince me I can "see" my Hue devices directly from the Vera Plus somehow.
Wish 2) What would you use Blue Tooth for?

VeraPlus, Nest Cameras (6), Siren, Hue Bulbs/Strips/Blooms (65), Fan Dimmer (6), Aeon 4-in-1s (10), Water Sensors (3), Z-Wave Switches (20), Nest Smoke/CO Protects (5), Ecobee 3, HEM Gen2s (2)

Offline hmspain

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 523
  • Karma: +16/-8
Re: Migrating to VeraPlus
« Reply #5 on: February 19, 2016, 11:24:29 pm »
VeraPlus, Nest Cameras (6), Siren, Hue Bulbs/Strips/Blooms (65), Fan Dimmer (6), Aeon 4-in-1s (10), Water Sensors (3), Z-Wave Switches (20), Nest Smoke/CO Protects (5), Ecobee 3, HEM Gen2s (2)

Offline MLeBaugh

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
  • Karma: +8/-1
Re: Migrating to VeraPlus
« Reply #6 on: February 19, 2016, 11:38:37 pm »
I would avoid using a USB drive on the Vera, with the plus it doesn't seem like we need it. However I found there to be some serious performance problems using the USB thumb drive on my lite and edge. It seemed to increase the frequency of reboots and overall system instability.

After noticing that I searched the forum and found others had this issue as well.

I would also like to know what the use of the bluetooth is. I would like to see speaker support, but right now I can't get the vera to detect any bluetooth speakers.

« Last Edit: February 19, 2016, 11:42:02 pm by MLeBaugh »

Offline hmspain

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 523
  • Karma: +16/-8
Re: Migrating to VeraPlus
« Reply #7 on: February 19, 2016, 11:43:02 pm »
I would avoid using a USB drive on the Vera, with the plus it doesn't seem like we need it. However I found there to be some serious performance problems using the USB thumb drive on my lite and edge. It seemed to increase the frequency of reboots and overall stability.

After noticing that I searched the forum and found others had this issue as well.

Sent from my XT1096 using Tapatalk

Good advice, thank you!  I got to the point where I setup a cron job on my Vera3 to DELETE all the zipped log files daily just to keep the disk space under control.  I'll have to keep an eye on the new Vera Plus to see how it manages.  MIOS put a lot of processes up on the new controller.
VeraPlus, Nest Cameras (6), Siren, Hue Bulbs/Strips/Blooms (65), Fan Dimmer (6), Aeon 4-in-1s (10), Water Sensors (3), Z-Wave Switches (20), Nest Smoke/CO Protects (5), Ecobee 3, HEM Gen2s (2)

Offline br636

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
  • Karma: +2/-1
Re: Migrating to VeraPlus
« Reply #8 on: February 20, 2016, 10:36:39 am »
I followed this link when I switched from Vera  Lite to Vera Edge, I too am expecting my Vera Plus soon and will try the same procedure again.

http://support.getvera.com/customer/portal/articles/1840697-upgrade-from-ui7-on-veralite-or-vera-3

I have not seen any other official document for the Edge to Plus yet.

Also just seen this on another thread:
http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,32031.735.html

That is what I plan on doing. Did you have to re-link your devices in Homewave?

If anyone is wondering, after following the vera procedure to migrate controllers I changed the Vera IP address in Homewave and removed the controller ID and everything remained linked.