Author Topic: WiFi on Vera Plus (Resolved)  (Read 15088 times)

Offline shallowearth

Re: WiFi on Vera Plus
« Reply #30 on: December 18, 2016, 12:38:23 am »
Just get of of these guys https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004UAKCS6/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1 or something similar to connect your Vera to Wi-fi been running my Vera Edge for 2 years this way, network connect has been completely solid.

You other option would be to get one of those power line adapters to run a network connection through your outlets to your location(though probably more expensive)

Offline Z-Waver

• Master Member
« Reply #31 on: December 18, 2016, 09:42:25 am »
How the hell am I supposed to get my vera plus within 10ft of a z-wave outlet so I can pair it if I can't use wifi???...

...I'm a computer engineer.
If you can't answer the above question yourself, with several easy and viable options, then I'd have to say that you aren't a very good computer engineer(whatever that is exactly).

You could use a long ethernet cable.
You could include the outlet before installing it to a remote location.
You could try including in situ, even if it does exceed 10 feet.
You could use a WiFi bridge such as the TP-Link N300
You could set a manual IP address and plug a laptop into the Vera directly.
You could connect a tablet/laptop/desktop as a client to the Vera AP network and configure that way.

Or, you could just plug Vera into the outlet(for power) and then use the pairing buttons on Vera to include the outlet into Vera.

Offline integlikewhoa

• Master Member
« Reply #32 on: December 18, 2016, 11:44:53 am »
How the hell am I supposed to get my vera plus within 10ft of a z-wave outlet so I can pair it if I can't use wifi???...

...I'm a computer engineer.
If you can't answer the above question yourself, with several easy and viable options, then I'd have to say that you aren't a very good computer engineer(whatever that is exactly).

Ahahahaha