We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Raspberry Pi Install - Embarrassing question?  (Read 8779 times)

Offline parkerc

  • Beta Testers
  • Sr. Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2479
  • Karma: +35/-48
  • Life Moves Pretty Fast....
Re: Raspberry Pi Install - Embarrassing question?
« Reply #30 on: April 17, 2016, 04:23:24 am »
Ok, thanks all, that Exit 0 seems to have helped things.

I'm now able to access the AltUI.

However that is still showing being 'Oxford' in the footer, and my location being Amsterdamn, yet I had changed that in the startup.lua. Need to work out what's going on there..

Offline akbooer

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6387
  • Karma: +292/-70
  • "Less is more"
Re: Raspberry Pi Install - Embarrassing question?
« Reply #31 on: April 17, 2016, 04:48:46 am »
Well, the 'factory reset' location is Greenwich, UK.  Oxford is used in the startup example.  So you can't have dome it right.  If you post your startup.lua, then we can see.
3x Vera Lite-UI5/Edge-UI7, 25x Fibaro, 23x TKB, 9x MiniMote, 2x NorthQ Power, 2x Netatmo, 1x Foscam FI9831P, 9x Philips Hue,
Razberry, MySensors Arduino, HomeWave, AltUI, AltHue, DataYours, Grafana, openLuup, ZWay, ZeroBrane Studio.

Offline parkerc

  • Beta Testers
  • Sr. Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2479
  • Karma: +35/-48
  • Life Moves Pretty Fast....
Re: Raspberry Pi Install - Embarrassing question?
« Reply #32 on: April 17, 2016, 05:10:12 am »
Well, the 'factory reset' location is Greenwich, UK.  Oxford is used in the startup example.  So you can't have dome it right.  If you post your startup.lua, then we can see.

I'm not sure what to tell you, other that it is different, ( although I'd prefer not to share the exact one as it has my lon/lat and city location etc.) , but rest assured it's not showing Oxford or Amsterdam anywhere. 

Let me try a reboot of the Pi and see if that helps .

Offline akbooer

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6387
  • Karma: +292/-70
  • "Less is more"
Re: Raspberry Pi Install - Embarrassing question?
« Reply #33 on: April 17, 2016, 08:28:31 am »
So have you explicitly set it to your location, as per the Oxford example in startup_example.lua ?
3x Vera Lite-UI5/Edge-UI7, 25x Fibaro, 23x TKB, 9x MiniMote, 2x NorthQ Power, 2x Netatmo, 1x Foscam FI9831P, 9x Philips Hue,
Razberry, MySensors Arduino, HomeWave, AltUI, AltHue, DataYours, Grafana, openLuup, ZWay, ZeroBrane Studio.

Offline parkerc

  • Beta Testers
  • Sr. Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2479
  • Karma: +35/-48
  • Life Moves Pretty Fast....
Re: Raspberry Pi Install - Embarrassing question?
« Reply #34 on: April 17, 2016, 12:18:49 pm »
Hi, yeah, the startup.lua in etc/cmh-ludl/ has been updated, but does not seem to be doing anything to change Altui?

See extract below

Quote
do -- define top-level attributes required to personalise the installation 
  local attr = luup.attr_set
 
  attr ("City_description", "London")
  attr ("Country_description", "UNITED KINGDOM")
  attr ("KwhPrice", "0.15")
  attr ("PK_AccessPoint", "24710289")   -- TODO: use machine serial number?
  attr ("Region_description", "England")
  attr ("TemperatureFormat", "C")
 
  attr ("currency", "?")
  attr ("date_format", "dd/mm/yy")
« Last Edit: April 17, 2016, 12:24:07 pm by parkerc »

Offline akbooer

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6387
  • Karma: +292/-70
  • "Less is more"
Re: Raspberry Pi Install - Embarrassing question?
« Reply #35 on: April 17, 2016, 12:30:31 pm »
Refresh the browser and look again under the AltUI > More > Controllers menu?

Or reload the luup engine.

Have you actually ever run the startup_lua code?
« Last Edit: April 17, 2016, 12:32:35 pm by akbooer »
3x Vera Lite-UI5/Edge-UI7, 25x Fibaro, 23x TKB, 9x MiniMote, 2x NorthQ Power, 2x Netatmo, 1x Foscam FI9831P, 9x Philips Hue,
Razberry, MySensors Arduino, HomeWave, AltUI, AltHue, DataYours, Grafana, openLuup, ZWay, ZeroBrane Studio.

Offline parkerc

  • Beta Testers
  • Sr. Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2479
  • Karma: +35/-48
  • Life Moves Pretty Fast....
Re: Raspberry Pi Install - Embarrassing question?
« Reply #36 on: April 17, 2016, 01:39:06 pm »
Refresh the browser and look again under the AltUI > More > Controllers menu?

Or reload the luup engine.

Have you actually ever run the startup_lua code?

Hmm it's very strange, a refresh of the browser and/or reload luup do not seem to do anything.. Still shows Ocford and Amsterdamn.

And under More / Controllers, it does still show Ocford etc? Nit sure why it is not seeing my start up?

Doesn't the start up.lua run when I reload/reboot etc?

Offline akbooer

  • Moderator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6387
  • Karma: +292/-70
  • "Less is more"
Re: Raspberry Pi Install - Embarrassing question?
« Reply #37 on: April 17, 2016, 01:48:34 pm »
And under More / Controllers, it does still show Ocford etc? Nit sure why it is not seeing my start up?

Doesn't the start up.lua run when I reload/reboot etc?

As described in the guide, the startup.lua is a way of configuring a system from scratch.  If you've never explicitly run it, as a parameter to openLuup_reload, then it's not been run.  When did you edit it to put your selections in?  Have you run it since then?  It is NOT run on every reload.

However, caution, if you run it now you will lose your system configuration.

The easiest way to set the top level attributes you want is to do so explicitly, on your running system, with code in the Test Lua box.

Code: [Select]
luup.attr_set ("City_description", "wherever")

Should do it.  You will probably need to refresh your browser for AltUI to register the change.
3x Vera Lite-UI5/Edge-UI7, 25x Fibaro, 23x TKB, 9x MiniMote, 2x NorthQ Power, 2x Netatmo, 1x Foscam FI9831P, 9x Philips Hue,
Razberry, MySensors Arduino, HomeWave, AltUI, AltHue, DataYours, Grafana, openLuup, ZWay, ZeroBrane Studio.

Offline parkerc

  • Beta Testers
  • Sr. Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2479
  • Karma: +35/-48
  • Life Moves Pretty Fast....
Re: Raspberry Pi Install - Embarrassing question?
« Reply #38 on: April 17, 2016, 03:56:56 pm »
Thanks @Akbooer

When you say 'if you run it now you will lose your system configuration." what does that mean exactly ? I've not set anything up yet ?

Offline CudaNet

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1401
  • Karma: +42/-11
  • Chimichanga !
Re: Raspberry Pi Install - Embarrassing question?
« Reply #39 on: April 17, 2016, 04:39:31 pm »
Meaning that the user_data.json file will be rebuilt startup. As rule of thumb, whenever installing a new plugin - backup the user_data.json file (e.g. user_data.{date_of_working_copy}) just in case. Also never stop openLuup by killing the PID, always use the id=exit within the URL... There have been incidents of people losing their .json file..

Thanks @Akbooer

When you say 'if you run it now you will lose your system configuration." what does that mean exactly ? I've not set anything up yet ?
« Last Edit: April 17, 2016, 04:44:34 pm by CudaNet »
openLuup, AltUI, Zway and HomeWave, enough said...

Offline parkerc

  • Beta Testers
  • Sr. Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2479
  • Karma: +35/-48
  • Life Moves Pretty Fast....
Re: Raspberry Pi Install - Embarrassing question?
« Reply #40 on: April 18, 2016, 07:01:14 pm »
Thanks will do..