Author Topic: Samsung Smart Home Plugin  (Read 5670 times)

Offline kdschlosser

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
  • Karma: +3/-5
Re: Samsung Smart Home Plugin
« Reply #45 on: December 02, 2017, 06:28:53 pm »
any word on this?? The UI explicitly states these model numbers for the washer and dryer. and from what I am seeing according to those directions in the manuals for the washer and the dryer they reference plugins that have to be installed for the smart home app to control the devices. I searched and searched and have not been able to locate them. I am guessing that support for these 2 items has never been tested.

The devices show in the app on my phone albeit they state disconnected. but according to what you told me they should still show up as devices in the UI. which they do not.


Offline mios.toddbt

  • Connected Objects
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: I am a geek!!
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • NaN
Re: Samsung Smart Home Plugin
« Reply #46 on: December 03, 2017, 09:59:55 am »
We rely on Samsung's Smart Home Cloud.

Using the account info you input, we get a list of devices from that cloud system ( as you saw my device list ) and we create the required devices on our interface.

You are right about the explicit wizards and i get your problem, that's why i'm trying to help.

We test with Samsung's sandbox environment, because as they put it, if it's WiFi connected, it's in the cloud. From 2 years ago, until now, they launched a lot of products.

Now onto the issue. From what we saw from the logs, the devices list is empty coming from Samsung. Maybe something happened on Samsung's side.

When i said that even though in their app it shows disconnected, it should show on our interface, was with the intention that i do get the devices from their API.

Offline mios.toddbt

  • Connected Objects
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: I am a geek!!
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • NaN
Re: Samsung Smart Home Plugin
« Reply #47 on: December 03, 2017, 11:09:07 am »
At any rate, we're investigating the issues.

Offline kdschlosser

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
  • Karma: +3/-5
Re: Samsung Smart Home Plugin
« Reply #48 on: December 04, 2017, 07:56:10 am »
ok cool. I didn't know if this had stalled for some reason. me calling samsung would get no where as the people at their call center really have no idea about anything. that is even if i get someone on the line that at best speaks 3 words of english.

when i first got these units their own application for them wouldn't even run on their own tablet. so as you can see I have never really even got to use this feature of these machine. and this one feature is the reason why i purchased them.

Offline onepointbrewing

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: +2/-1
Re: Samsung Smart Home Plugin
« Reply #49 on: April 13, 2018, 12:26:19 am »
Ive been toying around with my vacuum cleaner and the Smarthome plugin/cloud has managed to find it, however the Smarthome plugin has got a "cant detect device" error flag - any ideas?

Also, do these not show up in the scene editor???? I cant seem to find mine.

Regards

Offline kocujeff

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Samsung Smart Home Plugin
« Reply #50 on: September 12, 2018, 10:33:07 pm »
hi, i can't seem to get vera to add any devices that my samsung account has in it.  I have a washer and dryer added that I can see on my iPhone app...  am I doing something wrong with the plugin?

thanks

Jeff

Offline kocujeff

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Samsung Smart Home Plugin
« Reply #51 on: September 12, 2018, 10:34:59 pm »
hi, i can't seem to get vera to add any devices that my samsung account has in it.  I have a washer and dryer added that I can see on my iPhone app...  am I doing something wrong with the plugin?  i added the beta plugin, went into configure and added my credentials, then nothing happens.  I can't find any other devices anywhere... no dryer no washer. 

thanks

Jeff

Offline kdschlosser

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
  • Karma: +3/-5
Re: Samsung Smart Home Plugin
« Reply #52 on: September 17, 2018, 02:38:34 pm »
I believe that Samsung is going through some pretty sizeable API changes. and these changes are causing lost of issues. And with how Samsung is with their API i wouldn't hold your breath on being able to connect your device to the Vera.