We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Using a VeraLite as a secondary controller.  (Read 1126 times)

Offline zedrally

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1224
  • Karma: +15/-5
  • Black Cat Control Systems
Using a VeraLite as a secondary controller.
« on: May 28, 2016, 06:00:12 pm »
With new ZW+ devices appearing and the need to incorporate these into my HA, I am reluctant to upgrade to UI7 (ZW+ does not function with UI5).
The thought had crossed my mind whether the Lite could be used as a secondary controller to an Edge?
Is it possible?
Has anyone gone down this path?
Living in the Land of Oz, give me a vegemite sandwich. Home Seer, Vera Lite & Edge, Popp, Black Cat Smart Hub & Vera G, Black Cat Lite 1 & 2's a Black Cat Dimmer or 2, Fantem Tec and then some  Black Cat Cat's Eye PIR's & Door-Window Sensors, RFXComm, Broadlink RMPro & Mini plus a Z-UNO or 2.

Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2409
  • Karma: +112/-140
Re: Using a VeraLite as a secondary controller.
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2016, 08:46:24 pm »
Yes you can use multiple vera's and have them comminicate via HTTP calls so one can run scenes or control devices on the other. My current setup using that system is 2 vera 3's. One with Ui5 and one with Ui7. I intend to upgrade that to a Vera Plus and Vera Edge in the near future.

If you use eg Imperihome you can have it talk to both controllers and it will show devices and scenes as if it is 1 unit.
Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W

Offline dannieboiz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 415
  • Karma: +2/-3
Re: Using a VeraLite as a secondary controller.
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2016, 07:27:11 pm »
don't mean to hijack but why start a new thread...

I have a veralite sitting around and thinking about doing the same thing, so I can keep Vera 3 in UI5 and use Veralite in UI7. Is the the process found in the article below?

http://docs5.mios.com/doc.php?language=1&platform=3Lite&page=multiple_units