Author Topic: Zooz ZSE40 4-in-1 Sensor  (Read 7020 times)

Offline Wekurtz74

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 226
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Zooz ZSE40 4-in-1 Sensor
« Reply #30 on: January 23, 2017, 08:05:55 pm »
I have the monoprice version of this device.  I tried pairing it using the generic z wave option, but it would not allow me to name the device, although it would successfully exchange security keys.  When I used the Vision 4 in 1 device option it worked. 

Mine engages in a strange (at least by my perception) behavior.  Every flew minutes it flashes a rather bright light.  Is this supposed to happen?  I wanted to use this in a bedroom setting, but it is annoying to say the least.  If you have seen this behavior and found a way to eliminate it, please let me know.  Thanks in advance for any replies.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Offline rge

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 94
  • Karma: +10/-0
Re: Zooz ZSE40 4-in-1 Sensor
« Reply #31 on: January 24, 2017, 03:18:39 am »
The flashing light is a temperature indicator - if you set parameter 7 to 1 it will switch it off.

Annoyingly it also switches off the movement indication flash.

http://products.z-wavealliance.org/ProductManual/File?folder=&filename=Manuals/1572/ZP3111-5_R0_20151113%20-%20VISION.pdf

Offline jbfoster

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 178
  • Karma: +6/-19
Re: Zooz ZSE40 4-in-1 Sensor
« Reply #32 on: January 29, 2017, 11:44:05 pm »
Anyone have this with small pets? I want tp put this in a 20 foot hallway but I have several small dogs and a cat. I want to set it up so when someone comes out of the bedroom it will detect motion and turn on a night light in the hallway.

Thanks
Jim

Offline GLD

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Zooz ZSE40 4-in-1 Sensor
« Reply #33 on: January 30, 2017, 11:56:19 am »
My 65 lb dogs set this off even if I reduce the sensitivity.

Offline Aaron

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1984
  • Karma: +61/-193
Re: Zooz ZSE40 4-in-1 Sensor
« Reply #34 on: January 30, 2017, 02:06:30 pm »
These are very sensitive... They detect 24" tall grass plants swaying in my yard!

Sent from my SM-G935U using Tapatalk


Offline rge

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 94
  • Karma: +10/-0
Re: Zooz ZSE40 4-in-1 Sensor
« Reply #35 on: March 01, 2017, 02:53:27 am »
Anyone else have problems with battery level reports?

Mine ran for three weeks at 100%, then dropped to 1% and is still going fine after two more weeks. When I check with a battery tester they look fine - I'd guess 90%.

Is there any way to calibrate this?

Offline Priest

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
  • Karma: +5/-0
Re: Zooz ZSE40 4-in-1 Sensor
« Reply #36 on: June 06, 2017, 07:12:40 am »
For the parameters listed in the document above.... How do I find those in UI7 for this device. Under advanced>parameters I have no options that look like those.

Offline rge

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 94
  • Karma: +10/-0
Re: Zooz ZSE40 4-in-1 Sensor
« Reply #37 on: June 06, 2017, 07:29:08 am »
In Device Options - do "Add Configuration Settings" then the number of the param you want; set it intially to Monitor Only to see what is currently set, then change it if desired.

Offline Priest

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
  • Karma: +5/-0
Re: Zooz ZSE40 4-in-1 Sensor
« Reply #38 on: June 10, 2017, 11:44:08 am »
The flashing light is a temperature indicator - if you set parameter 7 to 1 it will switch it off.

Annoyingly it also switches off the movement indication flash.

http://products.z-wavealliance.org/ProductManual/File?folder=&filename=Manuals/1572/ZP3111-5_R0_20151113%20-%20VISION.pdf

In the paperwork that came with mine, parameter 7 being set to 4 will show a flash for motion but nothing for temp, which is what I believe you want.  I did this last night and it worked like a champ.  Once I finish getting it set up and know it's aimed correctly I will be turning all lights off for battery conservation.



Once the 4-in-1 sensor is added to your ZWave network, you are able to monitor the
values reported by the device on your computer or mobile device.
Please refer to your controller's user guide for advanced programming instructions as
they are a little different for every software.

Temperature Sensor
Parameter 1: Use this parameter to switchfrom Fahrenheit to Celsius scale.
Values: 0 – Celsius. 1 – Fahrenheit (default). Size: 1 byte dec.

Parameter 2: Use it to set temperature change to be reported by the sensor.
Values: 1 - 50 (where 1 stands for 0.1 degree and 50 stands for 5 degrees). Default set to 1
degree (value 10). The sensor will report new temperature value to the controller
whenever temperature goes 1 degree up or down. Size: 1 byte dec.


Humidity Sensor
Reports relative humidity. Parameter 3: Use it to set humidity
percentage change to be reported by the sensor.
Values: 1 - 50 where 1 stands for 1% and 50 stands for 50%. Default set to 10%. Size: 1 byte dec.


Light Sensor
Reports light level in percentage (1-100). Parameter 4: Use it to choose light
percentage change to be reported by the sensor.
Values: 5 - 50 where 5 stands for 5% and 50 stands for 50%. Default set to 10%. Size: 1 byte dec.


Motion Sensor
Parameter 5: Use it to set trigger interval - the time when motion is reported again
after initial trigger. Values: 1 - 255 where 1 stands for 1 minute
and 255 stands for 255 minutes. Default set to 3 minutes. Size: 1 byte dec.
NOTE: Small interval will increase activity and decrease battery life.


Parameter 6: Use it to adjust PIR sensor sensitivity.
Values: 1 - 7, where 1 = very high sensitivity and 7 = very low sensitivity. Default set to 4.
Size: 1 byte dec.


LED notifications
LED indicator will flash every 3 minutes or whenever you press the Z-Wave button to
indicate temperature level. How to read LED indicator colors?
Green = under 60?F
Blue = 60?-75?F
Yellow = 75?-83?F
Purple = 83?-97?F
Red = over 97?F / motion detected / tamper switch triggered

Parameter 7: Use it to choose between LED indicator modes.
Mode 1 = LED indicator is turned off (no visual notifications).
Mode 2 = temperature indicated with pulsing light. Motion indicated with flashing light.
Mode 3 = temperature and motion indicated with flashing light.
Mode 4 = no indication for temperature, motion indicated with flashing light.

Values: 1 - 4. Default set to 3. Size: 1 byte dec.
NOTE: Mode 2 will increase activity and decrease battery life.
« Last Edit: June 10, 2017, 12:02:26 pm by Priest »

Offline erkme73

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 330
  • Karma: +11/-11
Re: Zooz ZSE40 4-in-1 Sensor
« Reply #39 on: June 10, 2017, 12:08:31 pm »
What is the longest any of you have gone on a set of standard alkaline batteries?  My best is about 4 months.  I've actually uninstalled mine.

Offline rafale77

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 713
  • Karma: +35/-20
Re: Zooz ZSE40 4-in-1 Sensor
« Reply #40 on: June 10, 2017, 12:36:36 pm »
What is the longest any of you have gone on a set of standard alkaline batteries?  My best is about 4 months.  I've actually uninstalled mine.

I have some of mine go for 9 months on the original batteries but they seem to vary a lot. I have one outdoor in the cold over the winter. After burning out the original alkalines I am switching them to eneloops NiMH rechargeable which give completely inaccurate battery readings of course but still works. Will see how long these last.
127 zwave nodes, 8 zigbee nodes, 256 devices, 17 apps, 128 scenes on a Vera Plus linked with Echo and HomeKit through bridges

Offline jsoto

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Zooz ZSE40 4-in-1 Sensor
« Reply #41 on: October 29, 2017, 01:53:39 pm »
In Device Options - do "Add Configuration Settings" then the number of the param you want; set it intially to Monitor Only to see what is currently set, then change it if desired.

I set mine to Mode 1 (no LED indications).  Note that I found I had to be close to the controller to do this and had to press the reset (bottom pinhole button) on my Monoprice branded 4-in-1 PIR to get the settings to take.  The image below is what it should look like if successfully programmed.

Offline bookemdano

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Zooz ZSE40 4-in-1 Sensor
« Reply #42 on: November 14, 2017, 11:32:04 am »
Bumping this thread because I got two of these (well, the Monoprice version) a few weeks ago and they're not working right with my Vera Plus on the latest (October 2017) firmware. They pair just fine--even choosing Generic Z-Wave Device (but I have also tried choosing the Vision Device--the only change was the setup instructions). They exchange security keys and then the three child sensors (Temp, Humidity and Light) show up.  I give them all names, assign them to a room and wait. Within 10-20 minutes, I see values for all those sensors show up in the UI and it looks like all is well.

Then, a few hours later Vera gives me "Can't Detect Device" for the motion sensor. It looks like values for temp, humidity and light continue to update periodically, however.

I then go through the exclusion process (successful), reboot Vera for good measure, and re-pair the device, leaving it right next to the Vera for hours, only to get the same result.

I am somewhat ignorant of the realities of battery-powered Z-wave devices like this. Is this because the device doesn't support polling and Vera is trying to poll it? When I look at the settings screen for the motion device, wakeup interval is 1800 and the polling field is blank (meaning default, but I have no idea what the default for this device is).

Should I set polling to 0? Should I change the wakeup interval? Can anyone who has these sensors working properly tell me what values they are using there? I don't know if I'm barking up the wrong tree with this or if the sensors are just defective (odd that two would have the exact same problem though).

Thanks for any ideas.

Offline Don Phillips

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 889
  • Karma: +18/-16
    • Worthington Engineering, Inc.
Re: Zooz ZSE40 4-in-1 Sensor
« Reply #43 on: November 14, 2017, 08:52:27 pm »
Then, a few hours later Vera gives me "Can't Detect Device" for the motion sensor. It looks like values for temp, humidity and light continue to update periodically, however.

This is common behavior with some devices. UI7 reports the device cannot be detected but otherwise works fine.  I have 2 door sensors that behave this way. My motion sensor (the only battery devices) works fine without the warning.  May folks have included/excluded, factory reset the device, etc. Does not seem to matter.
Vera 3, UI7 1.7.947, CT101 t-stat, Everspring motion detector, GE/Jasco switch, Leviton outlet, AeonLabs door sensor, Insteon garage control, Blue Iris, Sricam SP011, iPhone locator, APCUPSD, VeraMate, VeraAlerts, PLEG, House Modes, Countdown Timer, DVR, Virtual & Multi Switch, Weather, Sys. Mon.

Offline jethigh

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Zooz ZSE40 4-in-1 Sensor
« Reply #44 on: November 15, 2017, 07:04:37 am »
Hey bookemdano..... I have had the same experience as you during the last week.  In my case, the motion tripping never has worked nor has the temp flashed a color to indicate the temp range reading.  It will, however, correctly report the tamper function when opening the case. Does your motion actually trip?  Also Homewave does not even see the "motion device" as a motion device.  The temp, lux and humidity do appear and update correctly.  Sure is frustrating.