Author Topic: Amcrest ProHD 1080P  (Read 7443 times)

Offline shabuboy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Amcrest ProHD 1080P
« on: July 14, 2016, 12:55:08 pm »
Hello

New to automation and looking into getting the Veralite or VeraEdge and Amcrest ProHD 1080P camera.
Will I be able to set scenes/triggers? Can't find much info on the cameras.
« Last Edit: July 14, 2016, 02:13:25 pm by shabuboy »

Offline tedp

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: +4/-2
Re: Amcrest ProHD 1080P
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2016, 08:00:30 pm »
I've had partial success getting images from my Amcrest IP3M-956E as a generic camera. If you are looking to set triggers on motion detection and such, then a plugin will have to be written. Old Foscams (non-HD versions) were able to send HTTP requests on a motion event, and thus you could have used something like the virtual motion sensor plugin (or the old Foscam plugin itself) to generate triggers within Vera.

Newer cameras seem to lack this functionality, (perhaps to push people to the manufacturers' cloud storage service). I'm looking at the Amcrest CGI, and it might be possible to use one of its commands to generate events in Vera. I'll be playing with it over the next few weeks to see if I can get something going.

If you want to take a look at it, the CGI can be downloaded here:
https://support.amcrest.com/hc/en-us/articles/213155128-Amcrest-HTTP-API-SDK-IP2M-841-

The command I am looking at is in section 6.10 (called "attach")
« Last Edit: July 14, 2016, 08:02:03 pm by tedp »

Offline tomgru

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1402
  • Karma: +18/-6
Re: Amcrest ProHD 1080P
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2016, 10:23:10 am »
I've had partial success getting images from my Amcrest IP3M-956E as a generic camera. If you are looking to set triggers on motion detection and such, then a plugin will have to be written. Old Foscams (non-HD versions) were able to send HTTP requests on a motion event, and thus you could have used something like the virtual motion sensor plugin (or the old Foscam plugin itself) to generate triggers within Vera.

Newer cameras seem to lack this functionality, (perhaps to push people to the manufacturers' cloud storage service). I'm looking at the Amcrest CGI, and it might be possible to use one of its commands to generate events in Vera. I'll be playing with it over the next few weeks to see if I can get something going.

If you want to take a look at it, the CGI can be downloaded here:
https://support.amcrest.com/hc/en-us/articles/213155128-Amcrest-HTTP-API-SDK-IP2M-841-

The command I am looking at is in section 6.10 (called "attach")

Something to think about.  I use Blue Iris for managing my cameras... it's far more powerful than trying to use Vera as a PVR.  There is a great BI plugin that also include motion sensor capability for whatever camera you have in BI... I use it to switch all my tablets to a front door camera view when it detects motion.  Otherwise, I use the BI apps for camera views most of the time.

Offline shabuboy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Amcrest ProHD 1080P
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2016, 04:53:23 pm »
Thanks for the comments!

I am looking more for a "if camera detects movement, turn the light on" action. If possible at all.
The camera will be saving to my FTP server, so no need for PVR. Just trying to take advantage of the motion sensor on camera.

So far, it seems the two will have to be on their own:
- Manage and record the camera on its own
- get a motion detection monitor supported by Vera, as well as bulbs.

Offline shabuboy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Amcrest ProHD 1080P
« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2016, 07:23:46 pm »
If you want to take a look at it, the CGI can be downloaded here:
https://support.amcrest.com/hc/en-us/articles/213155128-Amcrest-HTTP-API-SDK-IP2M-841-

The command I am looking at is in section 6.10 (called "attach")

Thanks for that info, trying to make some sense out of it... Will keep trying. But if you have a link to some kind of API demo, let mw know.
New to all this whole automation thing...

Offline shabuboy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Amcrest ProHD 1080P
« Reply #5 on: July 18, 2016, 08:14:20 pm »
Update 1:

So far, from reading AMCREST_CGI_SDK_API.pdf and testing on a browser, cannot get the VideoMontion on 6.10 to work.
http://192.168.18.115/cgi-bin/eventManager.cgi?action=attach&codes=VideoMotion

While these other two work fine:
http://192.168.18.115/cgi-bin/snapshot.cgi?channel=1
I get a pic of current footage

=============== 6.9 GetEventIndexes ================

http://192.168.18.115/cgi-bin/eventManager.cgi?action=getEventIndexes&code=VideoMotion
Answer: channels[0]=0

Any ideas?

Offline tedp

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: +4/-2
Re: Amcrest ProHD 1080P
« Reply #6 on: July 18, 2016, 09:35:27 pm »
I'm hoping to try and replicate what you did. The documentation isn't clear if the command is a poll or sets up an unsolicited event. My camera is remote, so there are only limited tests i can run on it.

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk


Offline tedp

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: +4/-2
Re: Amcrest ProHD 1080P
« Reply #7 on: July 19, 2016, 12:33:58 am »
I played with it for a bit, and I couldn't get much out of it either. Without spending a ton of time investigating, it's hard to imagine what is going on. My only guess is that perhaps, a long timeout is needed for the http response (i.e. keep the connection open), so WHEN an event happens, the response is received.

I'm probably going to give up on this camera and try a hikvision equivalent. Looking at their API http://oversea-download.hikvision.com/uploadfile/Leaflet/ISAPI/HIKVISION%20ISAPI_2.0-IPMD%20Service.pdf, (see section 8.11.31) you can generate http requests on events. Assuming it all works, you would be able to use the Virtual Motion Sensor plugin http://apps.mios.com/plugin.php?id=8301 to generate triggers for scenes within Vera.

I've kind of had it with this Amcrest camera.

Offline shabuboy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Amcrest ProHD 1080P
« Reply #8 on: July 20, 2016, 09:03:50 pm »
Which model will you be trying? The only one listed as compatible on the vera list is https://www.amazon.com/Hikvision-DS-2CD2132-I-Fixed-Focal-Camera/dp/B00EJXK0I6. But then again, it does not seem to offer FTP video storage, which was the selling point for Amcrest over all those other cloud/smart cameras.

But I contacted Vera support and was told:
"The most important feature for a camera to work with the Vera unit, is to support the MJPEG Protocol and also to be able to have a URL method for obtaining a snapshot or JPG image."

And the camera does have that with the following commands:
These two worked:

http://user:passwd@192.168.18.11/cgi-bin/snapshot.cgi?1

http://user:passwd@192.168.18.11/axis-cgi/mjpg/video.cgi?camera=0

Not sure if the last command is needed, but the camera does support mjpg for video encode modes

Waiting on support to see what would be next...

Offline tedp

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: +4/-2
Re: Amcrest ProHD 1080P
« Reply #9 on: July 20, 2016, 11:30:20 pm »
You contacted Vera support --- you're brave :)

I have a DS2CD-2032F-I that I've been playing with. I haven't integrated it to Vera yet, but what the support person told you is mostly correct. The way the baseline Vera works is to grab static jpeg images for display purposes. So the snapshot.cgi url is the one to use. I believe front-ends like altUI support direct streaming. For inside my house, I don't use vera to see what is going on my cameras -- I use an android app (ipcam viewer pro). I do use vera remotely for occasional monitors.

All that being said, if what you're  ultimately trying to do is to trigger a scene on motion, you don't really need to even display the images or video from the camera through vera. What you need (and what I am trying to also do) is to send a MESSAGE from the camera to Vera when it detects motion. That's the hard part -- you can always do what another user suggested on this thread and just use BlueIris. For my application, I don't want to spin up a computer just to run that software, but that's probably the EASIEST thing to do.

As for the Hikvision -- I'll try seeing if I can get images to show up on Vera. The key thing I am trying to figure out now is to figure out how to form a http request from the Hikvision per section 8.11.31 of their API.

Offline GaryTTirn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Amcrest ProHD 1080P
« Reply #10 on: August 26, 2016, 01:09:11 pm »
I attached implementation file for Amcrest HD cameras that enables Pan/Tilt/Preset control support in Vera

I tested it on my IP2M-841B-UK ProHD on Vera Edge
Zoom is untested as I don't see the Zoom controls in UI7 but I still enabled the actions in LUA code and ZoomWIde & ZoomTele URLs seems to work from a browser.

Upload the I_Amcrest_ProHD.xml to Vera via Apps->Develop apps->Luup files

Set as implementation file for the Amcrest camera
Cameras->Amcrest->Advanced Settings->Extra Parameters->impl_file

In case you want to control Motion Detection from Vera these can be handy.

--Enable MotionDetect in scene LUUP code
      luup.inet.wget("http://<userid>:<password>@<ipaddress>/cgi-bin/configManager.cgi?action=setConfig&MotionDetect[0].Enable=true",5)
--Disable MotionDetect in scene LUUP code
      luup.inet.wget("http://<userid>:<password>@<ipaddress>/cgi-bin/configManager.cgi?action=setConfig&MotionDetect[0].Enable=false",5)

I use it to enable sending of motion detection alerts to my email.
It seems there is no direct way to make the camera let Vera know that motion detection has been tripped. 
« Last Edit: September 05, 2016, 10:51:01 am by GaryTTirn »

Offline kendad

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
  • Karma: +1/-4
Re: Amcrest ProHD 1080P
« Reply #11 on: August 26, 2016, 11:07:58 pm »
I attached implementation file for Amcrest HD cameras that enables Pan/Tilt/Preset control support in Vera

Thanks for the file. Installed with my IP2M-841B and it works great. Can Pan, Tilt and select presets. Makes the camera much more useful with my VeraPlus. Will try the motion code later.

Offline dpaik

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Amcrest ProHD 1080P
« Reply #12 on: September 02, 2016, 05:53:04 pm »
Wow this is great thanks for writing this!!!  Works on the IPM-721

Offline GaryTTirn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Amcrest ProHD 1080P
« Reply #13 on: September 03, 2016, 02:41:21 am »
Amcrest has published just one HTTP API specification, so it was more than likely this would work on all their PTZ cameras.

Offline antilley

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Amcrest ProHD 1080P
« Reply #14 on: September 09, 2016, 08:28:30 pm »
Set as implementation file for the Amcrest camera
Cameras->Amcrest->Advanced Settings->Extra Parameters->impl_file

Apologies for the newb question.... i am not sure what to do with this portion on the vera plus.

any help would be appreciated.


dan