We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: "All Lights" Controls and exempting a switch  (Read 2494 times)

Offline boojew

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
  • Karma: +0/-0
"All Lights" Controls and exempting a switch
« on: August 18, 2016, 12:49:54 am »
Hey guys -

I like the idea of the turn off all lights that was added in UI7; however is there a way to exclude a specific light or if needed make it so that shortcut instead calls a specific scene... or even replace it all together? Thanks

Offline Z-Waver

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 4437
  • Karma: +249/-120
Re: "All Lights" Controls and exempting a switch
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2016, 05:54:25 pm »
If you change the subcategory on the advanced tab of the light you want to exclude from 1(Interior Light) to 4(Refrigerator) it will not be affected by the All Off button.

You can also create your own scene, but that's cumbersome.

Offline Mike Yeager

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 603
  • Karma: +11/-12
Re: "All Lights" Controls and exempting a switch
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2016, 02:51:16 pm »
I have two lights (one dimmer and one regular), both are subcategory 0 but only the dimmer shows on the dashboard where he's speaking of...

Offline Z-Waver

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 4437
  • Karma: +249/-120
Re: "All Lights" Controls and exempting a switch
« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2016, 08:42:11 am »
I'm not seeing your point. Do you have a question, or are you boasting?

Offline ember1205

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 418
  • Karma: +5/-21
Re: "All Lights" Controls and exempting a switch
« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2016, 12:59:42 pm »
I've been down this path.

There is NO consistency to the "All Lights" thing in UI7 on the mobile app, and trying to get switches to be excluded is semi-pointless. There is no "absolute way" to do it.

IMHO, you need to be able to configure devices for inclusion in "All On" or "All Off" controls, or you need to be able to make a Scene a favorite for easy access and program the scenes to do this.

Offline Mike Yeager

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 603
  • Karma: +11/-12
Re: "All Lights" Controls and exempting a switch
« Reply #5 on: August 20, 2016, 03:42:28 pm »
Z-Waver, I was making a statement. I tried to change the one to 4 but it made no difference. I'm sure there's a reliable way to do this somewhere but, as the other poster stated, a simple way to add to all on / all off is what is needed.

Offline charettepa

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 314
  • Karma: +5/-0
Re: "All Lights" Controls and exempting a switch
« Reply #6 on: September 01, 2016, 01:17:30 pm »
@ zwaver

how would you explude a dimable light
i have a ge 12730 fan control
detected as dimable light

i even changed the catagory from 2(dimable light) to 3(switch) with subcatagory 4
it still stays included in the all on/off group

i restarted the luup engine and rebooted
the cat shows as 3 and sub as 4
but still remains included

personally i think they should just add a fan subcategory to dimable light

any ideas?

tried to call support, but, vera just does not answer their support line and does not return voicemails

Offline ember1205

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 418
  • Karma: +5/-21
Re: "All Lights" Controls and exempting a switch
« Reply #7 on: September 01, 2016, 01:23:06 pm »
@ zwaver

how would you explude a dimable light
i have a ge 12730 fan control
detected as dimable light

i even changed the catagory from 2(dimable light) to 3(switch) with subcatagory 4
it still stays included in the all on/off group

i restarted the luup engine and rebooted
the cat shows as 3 and sub as 4
but still remains included

personally i think they should just add a fan subcategory to dimable light

any ideas?

tried to call support, but, vera just does not answer their support line and does not return voicemails

Same issue here and this is a big part of why I posted that you can't always override the handling.

Offline charettepa

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 314
  • Karma: +5/-0
Re: "All Lights" Controls and exempting a switch
« Reply #8 on: September 01, 2016, 01:41:30 pm »
I re-enabled the device to cat 3 subcat 4. 3 times in a row.  It NOW sees it as a refrigerator and is not in the on off group. I will now try to make it a different group that makes a bit more sense, like window cover instead of fridge. I will report back, but for now fridge works if you apply multiple times.

Sent from my ONE A2005 using Tapatalk


Offline ember1205

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 418
  • Karma: +5/-21
Re: "All Lights" Controls and exempting a switch
« Reply #9 on: September 01, 2016, 01:42:34 pm »
I re-enabled the device to cat 3 subcat 4. 3 times in a row.  It NOW sees it as a refrigerator and is not in the on off group. I will now try to make it a different group that makes a bit more sense, like window cover instead of fridge. I will report back, but for now fridge works if you apply multiple times.

Sent from my ONE A2005 using Tapatalk

Is it still "dimmable"? That's necessary for a fan control...

Offline charettepa

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 314
  • Karma: +5/-0
Re: "All Lights" Controls and exempting a switch
« Reply #10 on: September 01, 2016, 01:43:35 pm »
It sure is. The function and display remains unchanged. Only it's removed from all on off.

Sent from my ONE A2005 using Tapatalk


Offline charettepa

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 314
  • Karma: +5/-0
Re: "All Lights" Controls and exempting a switch
« Reply #11 on: September 01, 2016, 01:55:53 pm »
Ok. So using other categories works. In most cases you need to apply it more than once.  I tried 5.3 hvac custom but it listed as nest and I did not like that. So I ended up on 8.1 window covering and it displays as unknown category. Still works as needed and dimmer displays and slides properly. It also looks and works properly in the Vera Android app and in automation hd.

Sent from my ONE A2005 using Tapatalk

Offline ember1205

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 418
  • Karma: +5/-21
Re: "All Lights" Controls and exempting a switch
« Reply #12 on: September 01, 2016, 02:04:04 pm »
Applied and restarted the HA. Recognized the change right away at that point.

Offline charettepa

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 314
  • Karma: +5/-0
Re: "All Lights" Controls and exempting a switch
« Reply #13 on: September 01, 2016, 03:27:53 pm »
So it's working for you too now?

Sent from my ONE A2005 using Tapatalk