Author Topic: Fibaro button vera support...?  (Read 15097 times)

Offline smargi

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +0/-1
Fibaro button vera support...?
« on: September 07, 2016, 02:39:42 am »
Does anyone know if the vera plus controller support the new fibaro button...?

Offline indymax84

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Fibaro button vera support...?
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2016, 01:09:21 pm »
Got mine today. Added as a generic device and it's not responding. Will have another play later on and report back.

Offline indymax84

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Fibaro button vera support...?
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2016, 04:19:06 pm »
No further along i'm afraid.

Had a play with categories and sub categories to get it recognised as a switch but no luck. Vera detects a state change but can't interpret it. Ive got a call in with support but its only just been released so I would expect it to be a while until it gets some attention. 

Offline smargi

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Fibaro button vera support...?
« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2016, 11:41:19 am »
Too bad just ordered mine hope vera will support it soon... let me know if you have any progress with it.

Offline Marc Shenker

  • Sr. Manager of Community Relations and Development
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 554
  • Karma: +91/-265
    • http://www.getvera.com
Re: Fibaro button vera support...?
« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2016, 01:59:37 pm »
It would appear that the Button does not conform to the Z-Wave command class structure that allows Z-Wave devices to be plug and play. That is becoming more and more previlant with Z-Wave Plus devices. Usually you can get limited functionality if you pair via the standard method vs the secure method.

I have mentioned this device to the Device Integration Team.
Marc Shenker ▾ Sr. Manager of Community Relations and Development
Vera Control, Ltd. ▾ Smarter Home Control ▾ www.getvera.commarc@getvera.com ▾ +1 (866) 966-2272 x814

Offline indymax84

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Fibaro button vera support...?
« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2016, 02:46:37 pm »
So i've made a bit of progress and its thanks to Versternet support. Shoutout to Jonatas.

He suggested changing it to a scene controller.

Device_type: urn:schemas-upnp-org:device:SceneController:1
Device_file: D_SceneController1.xml
Device_json: D_CentralSceneController1.json

and reloading the luup engine.

I now have a partially working button. It doesn't recognise the multi presses but at least I can use it a bit now.

If i get any more functionality out of it I will let you know.

Offline reiteravi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Fibaro button vera support...?
« Reply #6 on: September 14, 2016, 02:00:41 pm »
thanks
now vera recognizes state change of the button but it wont run the scene
any idea ?

Offline indymax84

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Fibaro button vera support...?
« Reply #7 on: September 15, 2016, 03:06:51 pm »
Ive got it working with two out of the 6 actions

1 click and 2 clicks.

On the scene setup pick the button as the trigger and then when it asks for the scene controller settings I picked the following.

Whenever Fibaro Button...
A scene is activated
Which scene number
1
How is the button pressed
The key is pressed 1 time.

The button always works on scene 1 and then key presses after that.



Offline Sender

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 757
  • Karma: +532/-439
  • Sr. manager of my Vera
Re: Fibaro button vera support...?
« Reply #8 on: September 15, 2016, 03:46:30 pm »
It would appear that the Button does not conform to the Z-Wave command class structure that allows Z-Wave devices to be plug and play. That is becoming more and more previlant with Z-Wave Plus devices. Usually you can get limited functionality if you pair via the standard method vs the secure method.

I have mentioned this device to the Device Integration Team.

Marc, I am not meaning to be rude here. But why is it that most of the competitors DO support the new zwave devices fully and fast, fibaro, zipato, domoticz? At least all stores selling these 3 including vera have the support selected for all but not vera...

How does this align with the zwave device support statement from vera?

Thank you.
Good firmware is more important than good karma. (and this costed me lots of Karma)

Offline reiteravi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Fibaro button vera support...?
« Reply #9 on: September 15, 2016, 03:50:21 pm »
thanks  indymax84  but when pressing  i see device is changing state on the alerts but not triggering the scene
 ???

Offline indymax84

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Fibaro button vera support...?
« Reply #10 on: September 15, 2016, 04:34:32 pm »
Can you post a screenshot of your scene settings?

Offline reiteravi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Fibaro button vera support...?
« Reply #11 on: September 16, 2016, 09:53:18 am »
the scene screenshot

Offline reiteravi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Fibaro button vera support...?
« Reply #12 on: September 16, 2016, 10:21:16 am »
actually 1 press works sometimes but double click wont
as i have 2 buttons i assigned 1 to unlock by 1 click
and the other to lock on 1 click
sometimes it takes more than 1click once to operate
the alert say lost connection with the device
then it looks like 1st click wakes it and 2nd click triggers
but double click accepted as tampering attempt
since the buttons wont fully function right now i dont mind using them just 4 that
still double click would double the limited usefulness   :(
thanks

Offline indymax84

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Fibaro button vera support...?
« Reply #13 on: September 16, 2016, 11:03:14 am »
That looks right to me. My button shows the same alert but does seem to work with separate 1 and 2 click scenes.

Offline Ma2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Fibaro button vera support...?
« Reply #14 on: September 23, 2016, 02:28:14 pm »
Hi,

had the sam problem with Fibaro Button. Sometimes the button reacted to press sometimes not. It seems a design fault because the button part (knob) sometimes stops before it reaches the micro switch inside the knob. I just took a sandpaper and shortened the bottom part of the knob by 1/2 millimeter and now I can clearly hear the micro switch klick when I press the button.

Hope it helps with strange behave of The Button.