Author Topic: Z-Uno  (Read 6610 times)

Offline pjpankhurst

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Z-Uno
« Reply #30 on: August 15, 2017, 04:06:51 am »
I found the learning curve in C++ was the hardest, although nearly all of the functions are simply copy & paste. It's just getting them the right order!


I'm still in the curve but the possibilities that Z-Uno gives is very exciting in particular the possibility of a central room device that can monitor, control power to multiple devices & sense. The 10 channel example is a great introduction to the possibilities.

I've seen a couple of posts about z uno using C++, it doesn't, it is based on C which is a lot simpler as it is non object oriented.

Offline poordom

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
  • Karma: +3/-2
Re: Z-Uno
« Reply #31 on: August 17, 2017, 06:49:48 pm »
Crazy question, about C.

Which primary language is used by the Arduino / Z-Uno.

Dom

Offline pjpankhurst

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Z-Uno
« Reply #32 on: August 24, 2017, 02:14:47 pm »
The language reference for Arduino is here:

https://www.arduino.cc/en/Reference/HomePage

The z-uno one is based on this, and can be found here:

https://z-uno.z-wave.me/Reference/

The definitive reference for the C Language is the book written by Kernighan & Ritchie

Offline Stiansen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Z-Uno
« Reply #33 on: December 03, 2017, 02:35:59 am »
Hi

Have any of you had problems adding the z-uno again after excluding it? I cant get the Vera to accept the z-uno inclusion after deleting it from Vera. I have tried to reset the zuno and also a recover. On Vera I have tried to go back to an earlier backup to see if a new z-network would work. No solution there either.. I tried to upload different sketches as well but that did not help either.

I have no idea what to do now, dont want to buy a new one either since the zuno seems fine.
« Last Edit: December 03, 2017, 02:38:16 am by Stiansen »

Offline Michal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Z-Uno
« Reply #34 on: December 05, 2017, 07:10:01 am »
Hi

Have any of you had problems adding the z-uno again after excluding it? I cant get the Vera to accept the z-uno inclusion after deleting it from Vera. I have tried to reset the zuno and also a recover. On Vera I have tried to go back to an earlier backup to see if a new z-network would work. No solution there either.. I tried to upload different sketches as well but that did not help either.

I have no idea what to do now, dont want to buy a new one either since the zuno seems fine.

Make sure that you have set the right Z-wave frequency band in Arduino IDE (EU/US/RU/etc). By default it is Russia!

Offline zedrally

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1070
  • Karma: +4/-4
  • Black Cat Control Systems
Re: Z-Uno
« Reply #35 on: December 05, 2017, 04:44:51 pm »
I also have experienced this with Vera.
My diagnosis was that if hadn't been Excluded or the Exclusion process was not complete.
The solution was to Exclude Z-UNO with HomeSeer.
No more problems after that. For reasons unknown the Vera Inclusion/Exclusion process is not robust and in some cases requires multiple attempts before the device is off the network after which it can be included easily.
Living in the Land of Oz, give me a vegemite sandwich. Home Seer, Vera Lite & Edge, Popp, Black Cat Smart Hub & Vera G, Black Cat Lite 1 & 2's a Black Cat Dimmer or 2, Fantem Tec and then some  Black Cat Cat's Eye PIR's & Door-Window Sensors, RFXComm, Broadlink RMPro & Mini plus a Z-UNO or 2.

Offline Stiansen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Z-Uno
« Reply #36 on: December 06, 2017, 08:08:07 am »
Thanks for replies!

Will check the frequency setting today but since I got it included the first time I assume its set to Europe.

The problem happened when I uploaded a new sketch without excluding the zuno. After that it was not detected by Vera anymore. In the end I had to delete it from Vera since I had no way of contacting the zuno. I went back to a backup from way before the zuno to see if that helped (old z-wave network), and thus trying to eliminate Vera as the problem. That did not work either so I have my doubts regarding the zuno reset/recover function not working properly..

Have thought of one last attempt: Thinking of taking a full backup of Vera, deleting the z-wave network completely and check if the zuno will then get included. That way I can 100% write off Vera if it still doesn't work.

Tried contacting the zuno guys as well without any response..

Offline zedrally

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1070
  • Karma: +4/-4
  • Black Cat Control Systems
Re: Z-Uno
« Reply #37 on: December 06, 2017, 03:24:22 pm »
If you are using Windows 10 OS the latest update has updated the usb driver to a version that does not work with ZUNO, I have had reports of the uzbser.sys failing which causes no COMM with the ZUNO.
Roll back to the original driver results in communication restored.
Attached copy of the original which works, you need to rename .txt to .sys

EDIT: If you want an answer from the Z Wave guys you need to post a forum topic. PM's often go missing.
« Last Edit: December 06, 2017, 03:30:01 pm by zedrally »
Living in the Land of Oz, give me a vegemite sandwich. Home Seer, Vera Lite & Edge, Popp, Black Cat Smart Hub & Vera G, Black Cat Lite 1 & 2's a Black Cat Dimmer or 2, Fantem Tec and then some  Black Cat Cat's Eye PIR's & Door-Window Sensors, RFXComm, Broadlink RMPro & Mini plus a Z-UNO or 2.

Offline Stiansen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Z-Uno
« Reply #38 on: December 07, 2017, 02:16:40 am »
Thank you thank you!!

Got it working last night and I have to embarrassingly admit that it was set to Russian frequency..... I opened a new window in Arduino IDE when I uploaded the second sketch, then it probably changed to Russian by default. But thank you again for the support! :)

Now got it up and running with 4 channels and temp&humidity. Pretty great.

However, I got one small problem. I have not got my 4 channel relay yet (plan is to control the ventilation system), but do you guys know why my outputs are inverted? I have connected diodes but when I set the digital output high the diode turns off, and on when I turn the output low. Also need to pulse the output signal since I just want it to send a control signal to turn on different settings.

Offline Michal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Z-Uno
« Reply #39 on: December 29, 2017, 01:53:41 am »
Thank you thank you!!

Got it working last night and I have to embarrassingly admit that it was set to Russian frequency..... I opened a new window in Arduino IDE when I uploaded the second sketch, then it probably changed to Russian by default. But thank you again for the support! :)

Now got it up and running with 4 channels and temp&humidity. Pretty great.

However, I got one small problem. I have not got my 4 channel relay yet (plan is to control the ventilation system), but do you guys know why my outputs are inverted? I have connected diodes but when I set the digital output high the diode turns off, and on when I turn the output low. Also need to pulse the output signal since I just want it to send a control signal to turn on different settings.

Great that you found the error.  How are your diodes connected? Could you post a sketch/photo?

Offline Stiansen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Z-Uno
« Reply #40 on: January 31, 2018, 09:18:39 am »
Sorry for delayed response.

Got it working directly with my ventilation system now, see attached picture.

Using PLEG to monitor CO2 through netatmo and moisture in bathrooms, ventilation will then go high and go low again when its under a set limit. Works as intended! :)

Thanks for alle the help.

Offline Tillsy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 207
  • Karma: +9/-3
Re: Z-Uno
« Reply #41 on: February 10, 2018, 04:52:59 pm »
G'day guys

I am really enjoying experimenting with the Z-UNO, and have no problem with OUTPUTS - as many as I like.

INPUTS, however, are driving me insane - the documentation, and the guy who supports it on the official forum, acknowledge this but talk in riddles so am hoping some of you can better explain.

When I create a single input it works a treat.  Define the channel, create the getter, and then in the main loop read the relevant and if a change is detected raise a zuneSendReport(x).

The problem is when there are multiple inputs.  Let's say even just two.  Define TWO channels, create both getters, and in the main loop read both ports and if a change is detected on the first one raise a zuneSendReport(1) (assuming it is the first defined channel) and the other obviously zuneSendReport(2).

Only the first works - you can see the flicker of the green LED that traffic is being send over Z-WAVE and my Vera Plus shows the input status change.  However for the second one nothing happens.  I can write debug code and see that it is executing - and I can swap the two channels around and transfer the problem between them.  Likewise I can create 3, 4, 5 inputs and only the first works.

The official documentation does state that, when it comes to inputs, if you have more than one of the same type then only the first will work.  Okay great that's my exact scenario.  It then goes on to say that you need to use MultiChannel Association Command Class and that instead of association of Life Line group with node 1 (controller) use association with 1:0 (node 1, channel 0).  Cool, so what the heck does that mean?

I've hunted through the programming reference, the Arduino IDE setting, the device settings in Vera, and cannot for the life of me work this out.

The official support guy suggests a couple of things to people who ask this same question:
1. "Set parameter 12" - no difference :(
2. "Please try to remove node #1 (controller is usually it is #1) from the the Association group #1 and add in MCA #1:0 (channel 0 of the controller)" - this is as meaningless to me as the similar description above
3. "Multi channels are not available in the user interface, only by raw commands" - still no help?
4. Various other explanations of the above, but in English sentences that don't make sense (I'm thinking the guy is not native English) - so still no help

I'm thinking I am missing something really obvious, but it has me stumped as you would think you simply define a bunch of inputs and they simply work... just like with outputs.  But it is made VERY clear that is not the case, that by design you need to do something, but finding out exactly what it is I need to do has frustrated me for two days now.  I notice a few of you have posted here saying it has worked well for you, so hopefully someone can clarifying what I'm missing :)

Cheers
Chris

Offline Tillsy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 207
  • Karma: +9/-3
Re: Z-Uno
« Reply #42 on: April 13, 2018, 09:27:09 am »
I forgot to update this thread last month.

The solution was to go into the main device for the Z-UNO and do the following:
1. Click Device Options
2. Type 1 for Group ID, click "Add group", and click "OK" to confirm
3. Click Set
4. Tick Z-Wave and _Scene Controller
5. Click "Save" and then click "OK" to confirm

Wait a few moments and all your sensors/etc should light up like a Christmas tree :)

Offline akbooer

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 5884
  • Karma: +252/-69
  • "Less is more"
Re: Z-Uno
« Reply #43 on: April 14, 2018, 03:14:44 am »
Got it working directly with my ventilation system now, see attached picture.

Can I ask what application you used to generate the wiring diagram?  Looks useful!  Thanks.
3x Vera Lite-UI5/Edge-UI7, 25x Fibaro, 23x TKB, 9x MiniMote, 2x NorthQ Power, 2x Netatmo, 1x Foscam FI9831P, 9x Philips Hue,
Razberry, MySensors Arduino, HomeWave, AltUI, AltHue, DataYours, Grafana, openLuup, ZWay, ZeroBrane Studio.

Offline zedrally

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1070
  • Karma: +4/-4
  • Black Cat Control Systems
Re: Z-Uno
« Reply #44 on: April 14, 2018, 03:35:59 am »
I use Fritzing, it looks the same as the above.


fritzing.org
Living in the Land of Oz, give me a vegemite sandwich. Home Seer, Vera Lite & Edge, Popp, Black Cat Smart Hub & Vera G, Black Cat Lite 1 & 2's a Black Cat Dimmer or 2, Fantem Tec and then some  Black Cat Cat's Eye PIR's & Door-Window Sensors, RFXComm, Broadlink RMPro & Mini plus a Z-UNO or 2.