Author Topic: KWH $$ cost  (Read 695 times)

Offline mnsherick

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
KWH $$ cost
« on: October 30, 2016, 05:22:17 pm »
My cost of electricity is $0.068000/KWH  when I try to enter my cost into vera plus it says it must be a positive number....

is this a bug?

Offline mvader

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 379
  • Karma: +29/-74
Re: KWH $$ cost
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2016, 11:32:52 am »
how are you getting that number?
what electric company charges such low rates?

Offline mnsherick

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: KWH $$ cost
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2016, 11:41:20 pm »
It's right on my bill from Reliant.

2,233 KWH @ $0.068000/kwh = $151.84

After the taxes, fees and other charges  ($93.69) my grand total is $245.53 for 2,233 KWH for the month of august (hottest month) coming to a "actual cost" of approx. $0.1099/kwh

so again I ask,  can the cost be modified in the system? Otherwise the energy monitoring is useless. Rates here in texas are typically between 6-12 cents per kwh.

thanks

-Matt

Offline mvader

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 379
  • Karma: +29/-74
Re: KWH $$ cost
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2016, 09:58:40 am »
It's right on my bill from Reliant.

2,233 KWH @ $0.068000/kwh = $151.84

After the taxes, fees and other charges  ($93.69) my grand total is $245.53 for 2,233 KWH for the month of august (hottest month) coming to a "actual cost" of approx. $0.1099/kwh

so again I ask,  can the cost be modified in the system? Otherwise the energy monitoring is useless. Rates here in texas are typically between 6-12 cents per kwh.

thanks
-Matt


those are pretty good rates, i would suggest just putting 7 in the settings box (not point 7 .7, but just the number 7 and nothing else)
user & account info -> unit settings -> electricity cost.

the dashboard usage appears to be wrong (says i'm spending $87 per hour) but when you go into the energy / current usage page, it's all right there.
this should be considered a close approximation. not something that you rely on for 100% accuracy.

« Last Edit: November 06, 2016, 10:00:48 am by mvader »

Offline barrytate01

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: KWH $$ cost
« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2017, 11:20:43 am »
works for me if i use 0.XXXXXXX.  will not work using .XXXXXXX

Offline doinitsideways

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: KWH $$ cost
« Reply #5 on: July 13, 2017, 07:17:30 pm »
10c/kwh!!!

FAAAARRRRRKKKK

In australia at the moment i pay around 27c/kWh and they sting us just over $1 a day to have the power connected!!

Offline Don Phillips

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 799
  • Karma: +18/-7
    • Worthington Engineering, Inc.
Re: KWH $$ cost
« Reply #6 on: July 13, 2017, 07:53:15 pm »
Europe also controls people's power usage with extremely high utility costs.
Vera 3, UI7 1.7.947, CT101 t-stat, Everspring motion detector, GE/Jasco switch, Leviton outlet, AeonLabs door sensor, Insteon garage control, Blue Iris, Sricam SP011, iPhone locator, APCUPSD, VeraMate, VeraAlerts, PLEG, House Modes, Countdown Timer, DVR, Virtual & Multi Switch, Weather, Sys. Mon.