Author Topic: Has anyone attempted/accompished Google Home integration?  (Read 4907 times)

Offline baxy_AU

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 246
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Has anyone attempted/accompished Google Home integration?
« Reply #45 on: April 24, 2017, 01:45:16 am »
Yes my solution will require a windows, mac, or Linux box running a java app to be running all the time.

There are ways to do this all cloud  based ... but I would loose a number of features. The project is moving along nicely.

I have a very simple setup once Java is installed.
You do not need to stay logged in.
Hi Richard
I have been trying to wait patiently, but also dying to know more about your Google home integration project. Any update on how things are progressing?

Offline RichardTSchaefer

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 9302
  • Karma: +697/-128
    • RTS Services Plugins
Re: Has anyone attempted/accompished Google Home integration?
« Reply #46 on: April 24, 2017, 12:30:55 pm »
Google accepted it last  wed night ... they said it takes 24 hours after being accepted.
I submitted I help ticket on Friday ... they say that because of the large number of Agents being release it could take a week to get to the actual Google Home Voice recognition servers.

You can see the details of my App at:

http://VeraConcierge.com

Offline gwichman

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
  • Karma: +3/-1
Re: Has anyone attempted/accompished Google Home integration?
« Reply #47 on: April 24, 2017, 01:33:49 pm »
For what it's worth, I wish that I could customize what phrase i use for at least some things.. in general the current google home / ha bridge room commands are great (e.g. "hey google, turn kitchen lights on" and all the lights i threw into the kitchen room come on). You don't realize how really terrific voice commands are over handheld devices until you deploy it and then never touch them again.

But, other things are awkward i've found. Scenes in particular. e.g. "hey google, turn bedtime mode on" is difficult to remember for the average person/wife. Another example, I have one called "TV dinner mode" for when we eat dinner while watching TV (as apposed to at the dining room table). Saying "hey google, TV dinner mode on" is a bit weird to say and remember.

I wish instead that i could say "hey google, lets go to sleep" and it runs scene "bedtime mode". That sort of thing.. I want to be able to pick a phrase that i find natural, and tie it to running a scene. I don't want to have to say "on" either. Just run the damn scene :).
« Last Edit: April 24, 2017, 01:37:47 pm by gwichman »

Offline RichardTSchaefer

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 9302
  • Karma: +697/-128
    • RTS Services Plugins
Re: Has anyone attempted/accompished Google Home integration?
« Reply #48 on: April 24, 2017, 02:52:35 pm »
I do not use the standard device commands.
Check out my website for expanded capability compared to standard interface.

I already have an additional release with new capabilities ready to go ....

Offline gniknalu

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Has anyone attempted/accompished Google Home integration?
« Reply #49 on: May 01, 2017, 03:31:52 pm »

Check out my website for expanded capability compared to standard interface.


It appears your site is down . . . .

Offline RichardTSchaefer

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 9302
  • Karma: +697/-128
    • RTS Services Plugins
Re: Has anyone attempted/accompished Google Home integration?
« Reply #50 on: May 02, 2017, 12:23:12 pm »
My site is a Google Server ... it should not be down ...

http://VeraConcierge.com

Offline Khaztr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Has anyone attempted/accompished Google Home integration?
« Reply #51 on: May 19, 2017, 12:01:20 pm »
My site is a Google Server ... it should not be down ...

http://VeraConcierge.com

Don't want to turn this into a support forum for your site, but...

I want to try it!  But I get "Anonymous users does not have storage.objects.get access to object veraconcierge.appspot.com/ConciergeServerVersions/ConciergeServer.jar" when trying to download your program, even after logging in.

And BTW in certain browsers your link to "My Account" at the top is to "https:///VeraConcierge.appspot.com/web/Account" (note the extra '/' after https).

Let me know if you have a support email address you'd prefer to use.

Offline RichardTSchaefer

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 9302
  • Karma: +697/-128
    • RTS Services Plugins
Re: Has anyone attempted/accompished Google Home integration?
« Reply #52 on: May 19, 2017, 01:29:51 pm »
My fault ... Every time I do an update I have to upload 3 files and then mark them all public (even though 2 of them were already public).
I must have double clicked one of the public setting for one of the files causing it to NOT be public. It's fixed now.