Author Topic: Has anyone attempted/accompished Google Home integration?  (Read 8657 times)

Offline baxy_AU

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 258
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Has anyone attempted/accompished Google Home integration?
« Reply #45 on: April 24, 2017, 01:45:16 am »
Yes my solution will require a windows, mac, or Linux box running a java app to be running all the time.

There are ways to do this all cloud  based ... but I would loose a number of features. The project is moving along nicely.

I have a very simple setup once Java is installed.
You do not need to stay logged in.
Hi Richard
I have been trying to wait patiently, but also dying to know more about your Google home integration project. Any update on how things are progressing?

Offline RichardTSchaefer

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 9830
  • Karma: +743/-137
    • RTS Services Plugins
Re: Has anyone attempted/accompished Google Home integration?
« Reply #46 on: April 24, 2017, 12:30:55 pm »
Google accepted it last  wed night ... they said it takes 24 hours after being accepted.
I submitted I help ticket on Friday ... they say that because of the large number of Agents being release it could take a week to get to the actual Google Home Voice recognition servers.

You can see the details of my App at:

http://VeraConcierge.com

Offline gwichman

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
  • Karma: +3/-2
Re: Has anyone attempted/accompished Google Home integration?
« Reply #47 on: April 24, 2017, 01:33:49 pm »
For what it's worth, I wish that I could customize what phrase i use for at least some things.. in general the current google home / ha bridge room commands are great (e.g. "hey google, turn kitchen lights on" and all the lights i threw into the kitchen room come on). You don't realize how really terrific voice commands are over handheld devices until you deploy it and then never touch them again.

But, other things are awkward i've found. Scenes in particular. e.g. "hey google, turn bedtime mode on" is difficult to remember for the average person/wife. Another example, I have one called "TV dinner mode" for when we eat dinner while watching TV (as apposed to at the dining room table). Saying "hey google, TV dinner mode on" is a bit weird to say and remember.

I wish instead that i could say "hey google, lets go to sleep" and it runs scene "bedtime mode". That sort of thing.. I want to be able to pick a phrase that i find natural, and tie it to running a scene. I don't want to have to say "on" either. Just run the damn scene :).
« Last Edit: April 24, 2017, 01:37:47 pm by gwichman »

Offline RichardTSchaefer

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 9830
  • Karma: +743/-137
    • RTS Services Plugins
Re: Has anyone attempted/accompished Google Home integration?
« Reply #48 on: April 24, 2017, 02:52:35 pm »
I do not use the standard device commands.
Check out my website for expanded capability compared to standard interface.

I already have an additional release with new capabilities ready to go ....

Offline gniknalu

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: +2/-1
Re: Has anyone attempted/accompished Google Home integration?
« Reply #49 on: May 01, 2017, 03:31:52 pm »

Check out my website for expanded capability compared to standard interface.


It appears your site is down . . . .

Offline RichardTSchaefer

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 9830
  • Karma: +743/-137
    • RTS Services Plugins
Re: Has anyone attempted/accompished Google Home integration?
« Reply #50 on: May 02, 2017, 12:23:12 pm »
My site is a Google Server ... it should not be down ...

http://VeraConcierge.com

Offline Khaztr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Has anyone attempted/accompished Google Home integration?
« Reply #51 on: May 19, 2017, 12:01:20 pm »
My site is a Google Server ... it should not be down ...

http://VeraConcierge.com

Don't want to turn this into a support forum for your site, but...

I want to try it!  But I get "Anonymous users does not have storage.objects.get access to object veraconcierge.appspot.com/ConciergeServerVersions/ConciergeServer.jar" when trying to download your program, even after logging in.

And BTW in certain browsers your link to "My Account" at the top is to "https:///VeraConcierge.appspot.com/web/Account" (note the extra '/' after https).

Let me know if you have a support email address you'd prefer to use.

Offline RichardTSchaefer

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 9830
  • Karma: +743/-137
    • RTS Services Plugins
Re: Has anyone attempted/accompished Google Home integration?
« Reply #52 on: May 19, 2017, 01:29:51 pm »
My fault ... Every time I do an update I have to upload 3 files and then mark them all public (even though 2 of them were already public).
I must have double clicked one of the public setting for one of the files causing it to NOT be public. It's fixed now.

Offline cw-kid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1310
  • Karma: +7/-2
    • Phaze1 Digital
Re: Has anyone attempted/accompished Google Home integration?
« Reply #53 on: November 28, 2017, 06:48:16 am »
Hi

I just bought a Google Home mini to test. I have been using Alexa with HA bridge.

I expected I could do the same with GH and link it to the emulated Philips Hue bridge aka HA bridge.

However it seems I am late to the party as of sometime last month Google / Philips have changed the way GH links to a hue bridge and it is now on longer possible to connect it to the local HA bridge.

Was searching for a Vera Google Home beta do they have one?

And found this thread mentioning Vera Concierge, which I've not heard of before.

So with Vera Concierge I assume you have to give commands like "Hey Google ask Vera Concierge" to do something like run a Vera scene or control a device?

My wife's first language is not English, I don't think she could even say the word "Concierge".

How well does Vera Concierge work?



Thanks

« Last Edit: November 28, 2017, 10:54:03 am by cw-kid »

Offline Inzax

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 261
  • Karma: +19/-61
Re: Has anyone attempted/accompished Google Home integration?
« Reply #54 on: November 28, 2017, 07:03:30 am »
Hi

I just bought a Google Home mini to test. I have been using Alexa with HA bridge.

I expected I could do the same with GH and link it to the emulated Philips Hue bridge aka HA bridge.

However it seems I am late to the party as of sometime last month Google / Philips have changed the way GH links to a hue bridge and it is now on longer possible to connect it to the local HA bridge.

Was searching for a Vera Google Home beta do they have one?

And found this thread mentioning Vera Concierge, which I've not heard of before.

So with Vera Concierge I assume you have to give commands like "Hey Google ask Vera Concierge" to do something like run a Vera scene or control a device?

How well does Vera Concierge work?

Thanks

As far as having to say "Hey google ask vera concierge" Yes....but you can use google shortcuts.  I have mine set up so I can say "kitchen light on" and google hears "Hey google ask vera concierge to turn kitchen light on." 

Works great.   Also works with scenes. 

More details below:
http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,49205.msg335141.html#msg335141
Proud Member of the Epic Smite Thread.
Go ahead. Make my day.  Smite me!

Offline cw-kid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1310
  • Karma: +7/-2
    • Phaze1 Digital
Re: Has anyone attempted/accompished Google Home integration?
« Reply #55 on: November 28, 2017, 07:20:11 am »
Hi Inzax

So does that mean you no longer have to say "Hey google ask vera concierge" at all for anything now ?

Thanks
« Last Edit: November 28, 2017, 07:33:30 am by cw-kid »

Offline Inzax

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 261
  • Karma: +19/-61
Re: Has anyone attempted/accompished Google Home integration?
« Reply #56 on: November 28, 2017, 07:35:24 am »
Hi Inzax

So does that mean you no longer have to say "Hey google ask vera concierge" at all for anything now ?

Thanks

Correct. I would have to say "Hey google ask vera concierge" ONLY if it is something I have not set up with google shortcuts.  Which in my case, does not happen often in the last 48 hours I have had things set up.  If I do come up with something I want to include its easy.  Just set up another shortcut.
Proud Member of the Epic Smite Thread.
Go ahead. Make my day.  Smite me!

Offline cw-kid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1310
  • Karma: +7/-2
    • Phaze1 Digital
Re: Has anyone attempted/accompished Google Home integration?
« Reply #57 on: November 28, 2017, 08:15:53 am »
Hi Inzax

So does that mean you no longer have to say "Hey google ask vera concierge" at all for anything now ?

Thanks

Correct. I would have to say "Hey google ask vera concierge" ONLY if it is something I have not set up with google shortcuts.  Which in my case, does not happen often in the last 48 hours I have had things set up.  If I do come up with something I want to include its easy.  Just set up another shortcut.

OK many thanks !

Offline RichardTSchaefer

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 9830
  • Karma: +743/-137
    • RTS Services Plugins
Re: Has anyone attempted/accompished Google Home integration?
« Reply #58 on: November 28, 2017, 10:08:17 am »
Once I get through the next phase with google review ...

You will be able to just say ...

 OK Google turn on the Office Light.

But there are more things you will be able to do if you start with
 OK Google Talk to Vera Concierge

Offline cw-kid

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1310
  • Karma: +7/-2
    • Phaze1 Digital
Re: Has anyone attempted/accompished Google Home integration?
« Reply #59 on: November 28, 2017, 10:53:00 am »
I've got the jar file running on my Windows server and I think i have linked all the accounts correctly. I can ask to talk to my Vera Concierge on the GH mini.

But it just kept asking me "which switch" and didn't seem to respond to any of my "turn on" requests. Probably user error.

I need to sit down and work out what all the settings do. Also looks like I need to purchase a licence which I will look in to now.

Is there a dummy user setup guide ?

Thanks.