We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Vera Plus Flooding Lan  (Read 689 times)

Offline A Lancashire Lad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-1
Vera Plus Flooding Lan
« on: December 18, 2016, 03:59:16 am »
Hi,
Woke up this morning to find that my network had been knock off line by my Vera Plus, for the 2nd time in as many weeks.
No access to web or devices on my network including the Vera Plus, just have a switch port activity led flashing madly unable to access dashboard from smartphone either.
Only way to cure was to power down the Plus and power up again. Does it store old log files? cause once reboots current log file is overwritten so I cant see what the Plus was doing at the time of the crash

Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2409
  • Karma: +112/-140
Re: Vera Plus Flooding Lan
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2016, 10:41:45 am »
Vera has a setting to 'discover devices on the local network'. I'm not 100% sure where it is in the settings as I am running a zwave backup at this time (trying to get the upgrade to take) You may want to switch that option off and see if that fixes your flood issue. I have it off by default as my camera's (IP devices) are managed by Blue Iris and I don't need Vera to discover them and create duplicate devices.
Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W

Offline andrewgarfield

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
  • Karma: +11/-1
Re: Vera Plus Flooding Lan
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2016, 05:48:50 pm »
BOFH, I didn't know this setting existed.  Thanks for that!

I was having perhaps related problems.  Several of my more sensitive multicast devices kept getting kicked off my network for a long time.  I just upgraded to a managed switch and was able to completely disable multicast traffic from the port of which my VeraPlus is connected and this solved my problem.

I'd love to hear if unchecking "discover devices" fixed the issue for others.  Then maybe I can go easier on the VeraPlus's restrictions once again.

Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2409
  • Karma: +112/-140
Re: Vera Plus Flooding Lan
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2016, 10:53:02 pm »
OK, My Ui7 Vera 3 is up and running again. The settings is at Settings -> Net & WiFi

Automatic Device Detection
uncheck   'Auto detect devices on my home network'
Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W