Author Topic: Possibility to choose icon  (Read 9890 times)

Offline Maartenvt

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
  • Karma: +0/-0
Possibility to choose icon
« on: August 21, 2010, 07:38:34 pm »
It would be great to let the user choose his own or the availible icons himself per device.
Vera Edge (Firmware rev. 1.7.2406), 1x Düwi INTERACT³ light switch, 1x  ZIR010 Motion Sensor.

Offline dtortora

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Possibility to choose icon
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2010, 07:03:06 pm »
+1

This would be great...

Offline Vera1234

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: +0/-0
Possibility to choose icon
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2012, 07:38:48 am »
Great feature to have ;-)

Offline strangely

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3722
  • Karma: +33/-2
  • Vera 1,3 & V light
Re: Possibility to choose icon
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2012, 11:31:44 pm »
Often asked, but whatever reason its ignored! It bugs me no end that I have appliance modules shown as light bulbs!
Kwickset locks, HA01C, HA14C, HA02C, HA03C, HA05C, HA04C, HA07C, HA09C, Aeon HEM, GE 45604, 45606, 45609, ZDP100, VRF01-1LZ, WDTC-20, HA18WD, WDHA-12R, HRDS1, HM-TS001, AC1-ZW, TV-IP110, BL-C210A, LUUP control- EtherRain8, DSC Alarm, HDMI matrix, HR24-200, Panasonic TV, SQblaster

Offline pgrover516

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1013
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Possibility to choose icon
« Reply #4 on: May 28, 2012, 12:10:16 am »
It would be great to let the user choose his own or the availible icons himself per device.
+1   8)
V1,V2,V3,VLite,Express Controls HSM-100,Intermatic HA20C, HA04C,HA02C,HA09, Leviton VRP15-1LW, VRS15-1LX,Home Manageables HM-TS001,Schlage FE599, Schlage BE369, Cooper RF9500, Aeon Labs Minimote, Schlage TZEMT400AB32MAA+more

Offline mcvflorin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1759
  • Karma: +11/-3
Re: Possibility to choose icon
« Reply #5 on: May 28, 2012, 04:22:06 am »
The problem is that right now the icons are per device type. Making the icons be per device is a major change which requires a lot of work. Given that maybe less than 5% of Vera users will use this feature, I think that the time it would take implementing it would be better spent fixing issues that affect a greater number of users.

Offline chevdor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Re: Possibility to choose icon
« Reply #6 on: May 28, 2012, 05:01:59 am »
It would be great to let the user choose his own or the availible icons himself per device.

+1
I would start with a difference between doors and windows.....

 2

Offline capjay

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 674
  • Karma: +9/-3
Re: Possibility to choose icon
« Reply #7 on: May 28, 2012, 05:43:46 am »
The problem is that right now the icons are per device type. Making the icons be per device is a major change which requires a lot of work. Given that maybe less than 5% of Vera users will use this feature, I think that the time it would take implementing it would be better spent fixing issues that affect a greater number of users.

doesn't need to be complicated. it's possible to keep the icon per device type, and add an "optional" icon option per device. The GUI should give preference to displaying the device icon, if not available/not set, display the device type icon.


Offline futzle

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3242
  • Karma: +187/-9
Re: Possibility to choose icon
« Reply #8 on: May 28, 2012, 05:49:33 am »
Making the icons be per device is a major change which requires a lot of work. Given that maybe less than 5% of Vera users will use this feature, I think that the time it would take implementing it would be better spent fixing issues that affect a greater number of users.

Let's see how many users want this feature, really.

I've raised a feature request issue on mantis (2399).

Forum users, if you really care about this feature, go to Mantis, register for an account, and add a "+1" comment. Votes here on the forum don't count.

MCV, if you close this issue without either implementing it or stating "no intention to implement", I will re-open it.

I personally would use this feature, but I'm only one vote. Let's get some closure on the matter so we can move on.

Offline Vera1234

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Possibility to choose icon
« Reply #9 on: May 28, 2012, 08:33:22 am »
Being able to better visualize controls, improves the acceptance factor of other people who live in the same house. Meaningful icons are key.

Added my vote to mantis.

Offline jwiz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
  • Karma: +0/-0
Possibility to choose icon
« Reply #10 on: May 28, 2012, 09:16:57 am »
+1 here too

John


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

Offline strangely

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3722
  • Karma: +33/-2
  • Vera 1,3 & V light
Re: Possibility to choose icon
« Reply #11 on: May 28, 2012, 11:13:40 am »
In my opinion it really is just pure laziness to have it implemented the way it is now and it just another half arsed effort that makes it look like an unpolished product.

By the way @mcvflrorin to make a statement about less than 5% would use this, that sounds like a statement I'd expect from some of your colleagues (mentioning no names)

I will add my +1 to the mantis also, as well as a +1 here too!
Kwickset locks, HA01C, HA14C, HA02C, HA03C, HA05C, HA04C, HA07C, HA09C, Aeon HEM, GE 45604, 45606, 45609, ZDP100, VRF01-1LZ, WDTC-20, HA18WD, WDHA-12R, HRDS1, HM-TS001, AC1-ZW, TV-IP110, BL-C210A, LUUP control- EtherRain8, DSC Alarm, HDMI matrix, HR24-200, Panasonic TV, SQblaster

Offline pgrover516

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1013
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Possibility to choose icon
« Reply #12 on: May 29, 2012, 12:33:23 pm »
added vote to mantis, good thought futzle   8)
V1,V2,V3,VLite,Express Controls HSM-100,Intermatic HA20C, HA04C,HA02C,HA09, Leviton VRP15-1LW, VRS15-1LX,Home Manageables HM-TS001,Schlage FE599, Schlage BE369, Cooper RF9500, Aeon Labs Minimote, Schlage TZEMT400AB32MAA+more

Offline chris66

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 277
  • Karma: +9/-7
Re: Possibility to choose icon
« Reply #13 on: May 30, 2012, 09:41:10 am »
+1 of course, it's something that should be implemented ASAP :)

Offline garrettwp

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6376
  • Karma: +227/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: Possibility to choose icon
« Reply #14 on: May 30, 2012, 10:16:01 am »
It would be a nice feature. But if it requires a lot of back end work as MCVFlorin mentioned earlier, outstanding bugs should come first before adding additional features.

- Garrett