We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: GE 45631 [Z-Wave Wireless Keypad Controller] and Vera UI4  (Read 23608 times)

Offline myhomeserver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 874
  • Karma: +3/-5
  • http://www.MyZwave.net
Re: GE 45631 [Z-Wave Wireless Keypad Controller] and Vera UI4
« Reply #15 on: May 06, 2011, 03:26:42 pm »
I had the same issue with my older Vera1, I had to reset my Z-Wave network and start again, then it worked like a charm. try it...
MyZWave.net - See Our Z-Wave product Reviews
(formerly MyHomeServer)

Offline darrenl

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: GE 45631 [Z-Wave Wireless Keypad Controller] and Vera UI4
« Reply #16 on: June 06, 2011, 01:11:12 am »
@oTi@  Thanks for pointing me to those threads.  I have read through all of those posts.  I have spent a few hours on this and have never been able to get vera2 to execute a scene triggered by the GE45631. I have tried the order of operations suggested is some posts and dismissed some of the posts as irrelevant. I have looked through my logs and emailed micasaverde tech support and they have not been super helpful. 

Could someone post the relevant logs items showing a GE 45631 triggering a vera scene?

Offline RastusB2

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: +0/-1
  • I KNEW I shouldn't have stomped those grapes!
Re: GE 45631 [Z-Wave Wireless Keypad Controller] and Vera UI4
« Reply #17 on: July 08, 2011, 07:51:54 pm »
For thode of you who have a large amount of DEVICES already set up, check and see what is the NODE ID of the device you are trying to control with the GE #45631 wall controller. This controller cannot control devices with a NODE ID, higher than 32. If you want to re-build your network and include the devices you want this controller to handle,, FIRST!,, then they will work.
Then add the rest of your devices  ;)
GE/Jassco Duplex Outlets -16-, GE 3 Way Dimmer -6-, GE 2 Way Dimmers
-8-, GE Lamp Modules -6-. GE Appliance Module -8-, Leviton VRI06-1L  Vizia RF + 600W Incandescent Scene Capable Dimmer-VRI06-1LX, Schlage Dead Bolt, Schlage/Trane Thermostat, Schlage IP wired Camera -3,-Vera 3 UI5 v1.5.408

Offline Chimpware

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 426
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: GE 45631 [Z-Wave Wireless Keypad Controller] and Vera UI4
« Reply #18 on: September 11, 2011, 06:46:56 pm »
Can anyone else verify the node limitation?  I have more than 32 nodes and I was thinking about adding this controller.

Also is there any way to add labels to the 4 buttons?

Offline virginian

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
  • Karma: +1/-0
Controlling lamp module from the several wall plate remotes (GE ZW5302/45631)
« Reply #19 on: January 06, 2012, 10:16:46 am »
I've already have one and it works just fine.

Now I'm replacing my old X10 setup in the bedroom (three lamps controlled by three remotes).

In the X10 environment you can control one lamp unit by several remotes, but I'm not sure if it's possible in the ZWave network.

After adding three GE 45631 controllers to the Vera can I consequently create a group with the same lamp module on each controller?

Offline autotoronto

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
  • Karma: +0/-0
Can't speak for that device in particular, but in general you can control one device from multiple scene controllers and also include the same device in lots of "mini-scenes" initiated by routing slaves too.

Offline virginian

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
  • Karma: +1/-0
Can't speak for that device in particular, but in general you can control one device from multiple scene controllers and also include the same device in lots of "mini-scenes" initiated by routing slaves too.

Thanks.

Unfortunately, scenes don't work well with the GE ZW5302/45631 controller due to delays on turning device on. I added lamp module to a group in my existing wall plate controller and it turns lights on and off instantly.

Luckily I still have 5 spare node numbers under 32, I will check it out this evening.

By the way, should I add lamp module to Vera before or after adding it to the group?



Offline autotoronto

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
  • Karma: +0/-0
The way I have always added lamp modules to groups within switches is done through Vera anyway. If you don't want to do that I think you have to tell Vera not to reconfigure the device (ever) or you will lose your group associations. If you've added them through Vera then Vera knows about them and will keep them programmed during any reconfiguration.

I think.

Offline virginian

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
  • Karma: +1/-0
Thanks folks.

Long story short, mission completed.

Long story includes bricked Vera (two times), restores from backups, some surprising discoveries and so on. Putting it simple, business as usual.

Two important things I would like to share:

First, everybody knows form the prior topics that you can't assign controller to the node ID greater than 32, so add controllers first before adding any other devices.

Second, you can't assign controller to the node ID greater than 32 but you also can't control any device with the node ID greater than 32!

In my case  two of the 3 newly added lamp modules had node ID 33 and 34, so naturally all my attempts to add modules to the groups failed.

I have several gaps in the node lineup and I tried to change node ID ( from 33 to 3) but no luck.

Finally  I was able to reuse two other units with low IDs (I used them to control floor lamp and Christmas Lights) and replaced them with new units.


« Last Edit: January 08, 2012, 12:28:52 pm by virginian »

Offline oTi@

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4041
  • Karma: +32/-6
  • UI what ?!
[...]everybody knows form the prior topics that you can't assign controller to the node ID greater than 32
[...]can't control any device with the node ID greater than 32
Actually, the second observation I thought was the known issue with the GE 45631 controllers, whereas your first observation sounds new to me.
Dezwaved at the moment...

Offline virginian

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
  • Karma: +1/-0
[...]everybody knows form the prior topics that you can't assign controller to the node ID greater than 32
[...]can't control any device with the node ID greater than 32
Actually, the second observation I thought was the known issue with the GE 45631 controllers, whereas your first observation sounds new to me.


oTi@,

I think you're right, assigning controller itself to the 32+ node should be OK.

All my three controllers work just fine but I've already exhausted all Node numbers below 32.

I have several unused Node IDs and asked in the forum if there is any way to reuse them but so far no answer...

http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,8968.msg58692.html#msg58692

Offline Vreo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 338
  • Karma: +6/-4
Hi, I am new to Vera and new to the forum. Hi everyone. I have a 45631 Scene Controller, I have been reading the posts and I can't find if anyone has make it work all the way with scenes. After playing a few nights with it, I finally got to where I am right now and need to share this and see if anyone has solved this issue.

I finally discovered that first you have to make sure that neither the devices to control nor the Scene Controller itself, are using node higher than 32, assuming that is correct, then, you make 4 scenes that turns ON devices and assigned them via triggers to the "Scene is Activated" of the respective Scene Controller. The scenes in the remote are from top to bottom 1, 2, 3 and 4 respectively. You don't have to assign scenes to the "Scene is Deactivated" because they won't work, instead, what the off (left side) of the scene will do is the opposite as the scene you created by itself. For example, you create Scene 1 where the kitchen lights go on and assign a trigger to the Scene 1-on button of the controller, so when you press it, the lights will turn on and if you press the off button, the same lights will be the ones that turns off.

Hope this can help to someone. On the other side, I need some help because I have some Evolve LM-15 aka LM-as in my network and it is weird because those lights can be turned off with me 45631 but they aren't turned on. Of course they can be turned on and off from the "Run" button and the dashboard, but they are not working from the control, only the off side, any other devices different than the evolve, works fine on and off. Any clue? I have read somewhere that it is because the Evolve dimmers does not support direct association, but I have also read that with Vera you don't have to worry about that because the controller will take care of it, but I can't find how to do that, how to tell Vera that those lights does not support direct association so that it has to send the commando to turn them on.

Thanks for reading, hope it works for some people and hope you can help me with my issue.