We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Will it work?  (Read 1990 times)

Offline kwieto

Will it work?
« on: January 19, 2017, 04:22:21 pm »
I have to admit that I am completely new to scripting so I need an assistance at the beginning.

I have a scene which triggers a specific switch "ON" if a condition is met - this can be done in standard scene creator.
The problem I have is that this switch is a WiFi connected one and from time to time it fails to be switched after scene is executed, so the result is like nothing happened.

I thought about some kind of check mechanism and got an idea of creating a loop in which the status of the switch is checked after the change and, if the switch status remain unchanged, started once more. if status changed, then the process ends and the scene is finished.

The resulting code is as follow:

local device  = 63    --the switch ID

function switch_on()
    luup.call_action("urn:upnp-org:serviceId:SwitchPower1","SetTarget",{ newTargetValue="1" },device)   --turn on the switch
    luup.call_delay( 'check', 120) -- wait 2 minutes before checking the status
end

function check()
local dev_status = luup.variable_get("urn:upnp-org:serviceId:SwitchPower1", "Status", device)  --check status of the switch
  if (dev_status == "0") then  --if switch is still off then go back to the function switch_on, else do nothing and end the loop
    switch_on()
  else
end

Is this written correctly?

Offline kwieto

Re: Will it work?
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2017, 06:02:01 pm »
I did try to enter this code to a scene and received an error. So I did modifications and some experiment and I am stucked - the code saves properly only when the "if... then" part is deleted.
Whenever I add the if... then condition after saving the scene I am getting the "error in lua for scenes and events" message.

Any help/idea?

function switch_on()
    luup.call_action("urn:upnp-org:serviceId:SwitchPower1","SetTarget",{ newTargetValue="1" }, 62)