We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: 3 way switch question (Leviton)  (Read 8988 times)

Offline ballroller

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
  • Karma: +0/-0
3 way switch question (Leviton)
« on: November 14, 2010, 11:44:02 am »
Hi all,

I have a number of 3-ways switches that I am converting to Zwave. I'm using Leviton Vizia RF switches.

I installed the Vizia switch on a bank of lights I want to control. By itself it works just fine. But when I use one of the other legs of the circuit, it begins to act strangely. Sometimes it comes on and off, and sometimes it "dims up" like I'm activating the Vizia. Sometimes you have to switch it twice to get it to work at all.

Am I required to use a second Leviton switch on the other leg(s) of the bank that that circuit for it to work properly?

Thanks.

Offline guessed

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 5301
  • Karma: +92/-22
  • Release compat is not a bolted-on afterthought
Re: 3 way switch question (Leviton)
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2010, 12:25:34 pm »
I have 4x Leviton VRI06 Dimmers in 3-way setups. 

Each has a Leviton VP00R "matched" at the other end.  If you're running 3-way setups, I believe you need to use these VP00R switches at "the other end(s)".

Offline ballroller

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: 3 way switch question (Leviton)
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2010, 04:03:35 pm »
Thanks. Can this be used on 4 ways circuits also?

Offline guessed

  • Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 5301
  • Karma: +92/-22
  • Release compat is not a bolted-on afterthought
Re: 3 way switch question (Leviton)
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2010, 04:49:23 pm »
The Box for the Vizia +  VP00R-1LX indicates:

Quote
    Dimming control from up to 5 locations

and lists on the back, in the Features section:

Quote
  • Adds convenient on/off and dim/bright control for up to 4 more locations
  • Neutral connection required
  • 3-May or Multi-location Dimming


Offline ballroller

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: 3 way switch question (Leviton)
« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2010, 04:53:12 pm »
Thank you! Looks like I need a bunch more switches!!

Offline steveg

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: 3 way switch question (Leviton)
« Reply #5 on: November 15, 2010, 12:13:54 pm »
You can use either VP00R-1LX or VP00R-10X. The 1LX version replicates the LEDs so all ends display status. The 10X version doesn't do this (and would be useful in places where the LED could be annoying).

These are much cheaper than the Vizia RF+ switches. Typically around $15 US. They are part of the regular Vizia (non-Z-wave) product family and are more readily available via regular electrical supply channels.

(Note: replace X at end with Z if you want a difference set of colors).

I tried to get these to work for me but the #$%^&* previous owner/electrician remodeled the kitchen and used non-standard wiring that didn't leave enough wires in the switch boxes to support this stuff (fixtures are low voltage recessed cans and I was trying to fix a buzzing sound by switching to the correct dimmer -- one that needed a neutral). I ended up using a Z-wave controller at the "remote" end. That still didn't fix the buzzing (likely caused by years of abuse from the cheap incandescent only dimmer - will replace fixtures when the kitchen gets a major overhaul in a few years).

Offline ballroller

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: 3 way switch question (Leviton)
« Reply #6 on: November 16, 2010, 12:14:01 am »
Thanks SteveG. Very helpful info!

Just curious- why won't a regular 3 way switch work if you don't need the Zwave anyway? Is it a Vizia compatibilty issue?

Also, can I use the VP00R-1LX as a regular dimmer in a non-zwave circuit? I would like to keep the look standard in the house.

Thanks.
« Last Edit: November 16, 2010, 12:48:32 am by ballroller »

Offline ASIHome

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 347
  • Karma: +2/-3
Re: 3 way switch question (Leviton)
« Reply #7 on: November 16, 2010, 10:19:14 am »
They do not just switch power like a regular 3-day, there is communication that is sent between the two.

Offline ballroller

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: 3 way switch question (Leviton)
« Reply #8 on: November 16, 2010, 10:34:56 am »
Ok, that makes sense, thanks.

Offline steveg

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: 3 way switch question (Leviton)
« Reply #9 on: November 18, 2010, 02:28:20 am »
The VP00R are for the "non dimmer" end of the 3-way. You will still need a Vizia dimmer in the circuit even if it's not Vizia RF+. Non zwave Vizia dimmers (without the RF tag) are pretty cheap and some models are even available at Lowes/Home Depot.

The nice thing about this 3-way setup is that you can dim the lights from either end. The dimmer is placed based on how the boxes are wired but after installationheir you use the LED version of the VP00R, the end user won't see any difference. Everything automatically shows the correct status.

For 4-way (or higher) use one dimmer and the rest VP00R.

Every manufacturer has a similar solution but they are not interchangeable. Some manufacturers don't even support using different product families on the same light.

Offline ballroller

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: 3 way switch question (Leviton)
« Reply #10 on: November 18, 2010, 10:59:42 pm »
Thanks again for your knowledge on this. It really has been a big help.