Author Topic: Alexa with virtual switch  (Read 6013 times)

Offline Isablend

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Karma: +1/-3
Re: Alexa with virtual switch
« Reply #15 on: May 12, 2017, 04:45:05 am »
Been following this thread, and have created a virtual switch and updated the D_VSwitch.xml file, however it is not appearing as a device in Alexa (all my other light switch etc are shown).  I have deleted all devices and done a re-discover, any thoughts on what else I might do to get the virtual device visible to Alexa?  I have also re-started Vera and everything is working including the virtual switch in the form I want it.


Offline shallowearth

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 964
  • Karma: +45/-9
Re: Alexa with virtual switch
« Reply #16 on: May 12, 2017, 05:12:56 am »
Does the virtual switch show up in the config page in the Vera that tells it what switches and scenes to expose to Alexa? Or does it just not show up in Alexa after you checked it in Vera Alexa Settings?

Did you check on the advance parameter tab of the virtual switch device  that it says category_num 3
If it doesn't say that something went wrong with the file you editted/uploaded
Try again and then restart the Vera.


Offline Isablend

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Karma: +1/-3
Re: Alexa with virtual switch
« Reply #17 on: May 12, 2017, 07:18:05 am »
Does the virtual switch show up in the config page in the Vera that tells it what switches and scenes to expose to Alexa? Or does it just not show up in Alexa after you checked it in Vera Alexa Settings?
 - Yes the VSwitch appears in Vera, it doesn't appear as a device exposed to Alexa.   What do you mean by Vera Alexa Settings.

Did you check on the advance parameter tab of the virtual switch device  that it says category_num 3
 - Yes, I updated the D_Vswitch.xml file and category is correctly set as 3

If it doesn't say that something went wrong with the file you editted/uploaded
 - All loaded correctly.

Try again and then restart the Vera.
 - Have done and I can use the VSwitch correctly, its just not being exposed to Alexa, v.frustrating.

Offline shallowearth

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 964
  • Karma: +45/-9
Re: Alexa with virtual switch
« Reply #18 on: May 12, 2017, 10:32:00 am »
Did you actually go in to the Vera UI for the device.  Click on advanced and see the param category_num was listed and has a 3 in the value?

Before you click discover device in Alexa there is a Vera Webpage that you go to that lists what devices you want to make available to Alexa and what friendly name you want to give them.  Is the Virtual Switch showing up there so that you can click the check box?
« Last Edit: May 12, 2017, 10:33:36 am by shallowearth »

Offline MNB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 689
  • Karma: +4/-9
Re: Alexa with virtual switch
« Reply #19 on: May 12, 2017, 11:04:01 am »
For education sake are you implying that once identified to Alexa that one can use the virtual switch? How would you tell her which switch and/or function you want selected? Mike
Edge-1.7.2607, VRI06-1LX Dimr (6), VS05-1LX Sw (4), GE ZW3002 Dimr (1), HA01C Outlet (12), HA02C Sw (6), HA04C Sw (4), GE Sw (2), HA05 Sw (3), MiniMote Contr (5), HSM200/100 Sensor (2), ZW100A Sensor (8), Nest thermostat (1) & Protect Fire/CO (6) Kwikset Locks (3), F18918W (1) & IP3M-9 (6) Cam's

Offline Isablend

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Karma: +1/-3
Re: Alexa with virtual switch
« Reply #20 on: May 12, 2017, 11:56:08 am »
In my case  I have a virtual switch call 'House Shield', which when I say "Alexa turn on house shield" will turn on the appropriate house alarm mode, and then broadcast "House perimeter has been secured" via my Sonos groups throughout the house, then "Alexa turn off house shield" does the opposite.

Turns out that in order to get the virtual switch exposed to Alexa requires you to disable the Skill in Alexa and then re-enable.   This shows a list of available devices which have to be selected to then make them discoverable within the Alexa App, which you do by pressing the discover device button.  All sorted now.  Many thanks.

Offline MNB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 689
  • Karma: +4/-9
Re: Alexa with virtual switch
« Reply #21 on: May 12, 2017, 02:35:45 pm »
Thanxs for the comeback and clarification @Isablend, typically virtual switch has eight switches 1-8 are your saying that your somehow naming a single switch (of the eight) or is your device a single switch that's named "House shield", thanxs Mike
Edge-1.7.2607, VRI06-1LX Dimr (6), VS05-1LX Sw (4), GE ZW3002 Dimr (1), HA01C Outlet (12), HA02C Sw (6), HA04C Sw (4), GE Sw (2), HA05 Sw (3), MiniMote Contr (5), HSM200/100 Sensor (2), ZW100A Sensor (8), Nest thermostat (1) & Protect Fire/CO (6) Kwikset Locks (3), F18918W (1) & IP3M-9 (6) Cam's

Offline shallowearth

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 964
  • Karma: +45/-9
Re: Alexa with virtual switch
« Reply #22 on: May 12, 2017, 06:18:49 pm »
Virtual Switch is a different plug in than Multi Switch.  Multi Switch is the one with 8 and does not work with Alexa.

Virtual Switch allows you to create one or more on/off switches that you can use to trigger  scenes.  By updating the file as described it can be used through Alexa like a normal light switch. 

Offline MNB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 689
  • Karma: +4/-9
Re: Alexa with virtual switch
« Reply #23 on: May 12, 2017, 09:13:45 pm »
Got it! thanxs for the clarification. Mike
Edge-1.7.2607, VRI06-1LX Dimr (6), VS05-1LX Sw (4), GE ZW3002 Dimr (1), HA01C Outlet (12), HA02C Sw (6), HA04C Sw (4), GE Sw (2), HA05 Sw (3), MiniMote Contr (5), HSM200/100 Sensor (2), ZW100A Sensor (8), Nest thermostat (1) & Protect Fire/CO (6) Kwikset Locks (3), F18918W (1) & IP3M-9 (6) Cam's

Offline RichardTSchaefer

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 10061
  • Karma: +760/-141
Re: Alexa with virtual switch
« Reply #24 on: May 12, 2017, 09:19:40 pm »
F.Y.I.
Vera treats each Multi-Switch as a separate switch ... so you can turn each on/off.

You can create an on/off scene for each Multi-Switch for Alexa.

Offline Don Phillips

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1259
  • Karma: +31/-32
Re: Alexa with virtual switch
« Reply #25 on: May 12, 2017, 09:38:16 pm »
MNB, I use IPhone Locator to switch a Multiswitch. When both of us are gone, house goes to Away mode, which triggers a bunch of stuff including notifications to both of us. When either of us is home, the Multiswitch is off.
Vera 3, 1.7.1030, CT101 t-stat, Everspring motion detector, GE/Jasco switch, Leviton outlet, AeonLabs sensor, NuTone garage door, Blue Iris, Sricam SP011, iPhone locator, APCUPSD, VeraMate, VeraAlerts, PLEG, House Modes, Countdown Timer, DVR, Virtual/Multi Switch, Weatherunderground, LB60Z-1 bulb

Offline Isablend

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Karma: +1/-3
Re: Alexa with virtual switch
« Reply #26 on: May 13, 2017, 04:57:51 am »
I've done something similar, but just used two individual virtual switches to track where we are.  Use geofence to determine house mode and update virtual switch and do various other actions.

Offline MNB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 689
  • Karma: +4/-9
Re: Alexa with virtual switch
« Reply #27 on: May 13, 2017, 11:04:29 am »
@RTS, thanxs for the input, as I'm experimenting with RPI I'm currently using scene(s) do the very same. As to Alexa I was hoping I could directly demand the mulit-switch.

@Don, understand since re-adopting iPhone Locator plugin I too have used my Multi-switch to turn On/Off my Home labeled switch.

@Isablend, you make mention of "Geofence" how has that worked for you? I had read mixed reviews in earlier thread discussions and was hoping that the function had matured to something that works reliably.
Edge-1.7.2607, VRI06-1LX Dimr (6), VS05-1LX Sw (4), GE ZW3002 Dimr (1), HA01C Outlet (12), HA02C Sw (6), HA04C Sw (4), GE Sw (2), HA05 Sw (3), MiniMote Contr (5), HSM200/100 Sensor (2), ZW100A Sensor (8), Nest thermostat (1) & Protect Fire/CO (6) Kwikset Locks (3), F18918W (1) & IP3M-9 (6) Cam's

Offline pls90

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 303
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Alexa with virtual switch
« Reply #28 on: May 14, 2017, 06:42:11 am »
regarding geofences, I'd like to recommend you try VeraProximity to switch your virtual switches. Working quite well for me.

Gesendet von meinem SM-G930F mit Tapatalk


Offline MNB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 689
  • Karma: +4/-9
Re: Alexa with virtual switch
« Reply #29 on: May 14, 2017, 11:35:18 am »
@pls90 thanxs for the suggestion, I thought VeraProximity was for Android devices only?
Edge-1.7.2607, VRI06-1LX Dimr (6), VS05-1LX Sw (4), GE ZW3002 Dimr (1), HA01C Outlet (12), HA02C Sw (6), HA04C Sw (4), GE Sw (2), HA05 Sw (3), MiniMote Contr (5), HSM200/100 Sensor (2), ZW100A Sensor (8), Nest thermostat (1) & Protect Fire/CO (6) Kwikset Locks (3), F18918W (1) & IP3M-9 (6) Cam's