Author Topic: Gas powered fireplace switch  (Read 7141 times)

aaronbailey

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Gas powered fireplace switch
« on: November 08, 2010, 05:19:24 pm »
My indoor gas fireplace has a normal non-z-wave switch to turn it on and off. Can I simply replace that switch with a z-wave enabled switch?

fall-line

  • Beta Testers
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Gas powered fireplace switch
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2010, 09:56:40 am »
You should be able to replace this standard on/off lightswitch with a z-wave relay (on/off) style switch, yes.  You'll need to make sure there is a Neutral wire at (or near) the switch as all z-wave relay style switches require this (so the switch itself can be powered). Also you should always be sure you know how much power your load is going to draw and make sure your switch is rated appropriately (this shouldn't be a concern for you since these fireplace controls use very little power).

Finally I would urge you to really consider the worst case scenario for any device that you want to be controlled by your vera. What if something goes wrong with the code (UI4 is still in beta, mind you) and your fireplace turns on and stays on? Probably not the end of the world, but since we are talking about combusting gas inside your home, you should really be sure that you "trust" the vera and the switch you use.  I've personally had great experiences with my Vera's reliability, but I still limit myself to controlling items that have a relatively low chance of burning my house down (no space heaters, fireplaces, etc), or reducing my security (no door locks, alarm systems).. for now. That's just me though.. It's just something to think about before you move ahead.


woodsby

  • Beta Testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 467
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Gas powered fireplace switch
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2010, 05:54:03 pm »
It depends on what kind of circuit you're switching. Most gas fireplaces are a low voltage circuit that needs to be closed to turn the fire on, or open to turn it off. If this is the case, you will need to get an isolated contact closure like a zrw113, but you will also need to get 120v into the same box to power the switch. Beware that code requires that all the wiring in the box be rated for the highest voltage in the box - typically, we use 600V rated wire for this, but you can get by with anything rated for 250V.
If your switch is actually closing a 120V circuit to the fireplace, any zwave switch should be fine, but make sure you have a neutral available at the switch. Gas fireplaces are easy to work since you usually have voids in the wall around the fireplace to pull wiring, and you have 120v available under the fireplace if you need to extend it to the switch box b
Vera1 (1.1142), Vera2 (1.1182), VRI06 (12), VRS15 (3), VRS05 (2), VRF01 (2), VRCS4 (2), ZRW113, ZRF113 (2), 45602, 45603, TZMT400 (2), FE599 (2), 99100, Thinkstick, Harmony 890Pro (2), Harmony RF Extender, Nevo S70, Nevo NC-50, Minimote, SQ Remote, SQ Blaster, EtherRain-8, Cliste ActiveRFID, TED5002

jackpot

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Gas powered fireplace switch
« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2010, 06:11:56 pm »
Here's how I did this..........

I used an Intermatic wall recepticle for the Z-wave control. Bought a 120VAC relay and wired it with a cord plug and plugged it into the Intermatic recepticle. Now wire the thermostat wires from the fireplace to the normally open set  of contacts on the Relay. Way cheaper than purchasing a dedicated Z-wave dry contact device.

Later on I wired a battery powered thermostat in SERIES with the Relay contacts so the Gas Fireplace would turn off at temperature setpoint or buy Z-wave command.

Be sure to follow all codes during wiring !

Hope this helps
Vera 3....1.5.622

woodsby

  • Beta Testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 467
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Gas powered fireplace switch
« Reply #4 on: November 09, 2010, 06:44:23 pm »
@jackpot, that seems awfully complicated to save $10-$20.
Vera1 (1.1142), Vera2 (1.1182), VRI06 (12), VRS15 (3), VRS05 (2), VRF01 (2), VRCS4 (2), ZRW113, ZRF113 (2), 45602, 45603, TZMT400 (2), FE599 (2), 99100, Thinkstick, Harmony 890Pro (2), Harmony RF Extender, Nevo S70, Nevo NC-50, Minimote, SQ Remote, SQ Blaster, EtherRain-8, Cliste ActiveRFID, TED5002

jackpot

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Gas powered fireplace switch
« Reply #5 on: November 09, 2010, 07:37:06 pm »
I'm a Electrician by trade so it kind of what I do. Fun for me and just wanted to throw out another way of doing the job. Of course the simplest way would be to purchase a proper Z-wave device. Didn't mean to upset anyone............
Vera 3....1.5.622

woodsby

  • Beta Testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 467
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Gas powered fireplace switch
« Reply #6 on: November 10, 2010, 03:24:37 am »
Ha, not upset - and I had a feeling you were an electrician - as am I - and what you described sounds like the kind of fun I would enjoy. Just pointing out that a zrw113 is pretty cheap - if you can wait for it to come into stock.
Vera1 (1.1142), Vera2 (1.1182), VRI06 (12), VRS15 (3), VRS05 (2), VRF01 (2), VRCS4 (2), ZRW113, ZRF113 (2), 45602, 45603, TZMT400 (2), FE599 (2), 99100, Thinkstick, Harmony 890Pro (2), Harmony RF Extender, Nevo S70, Nevo NC-50, Minimote, SQ Remote, SQ Blaster, EtherRain-8, Cliste ActiveRFID, TED5002

aaronbailey

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Gas powered fireplace switch
« Reply #7 on: November 23, 2010, 05:15:48 pm »
Thanks for the feedback everyone. I've decided to follow fall-line's advice and not go forward with this due to security/safety.

fall-line

  • Beta Testers
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Gas powered fireplace switch
« Reply #8 on: November 23, 2010, 10:34:02 pm »
I just wanted to be sure you are thinking about it carefully with heat and flame involved. Personally I think a z-wave controlled fireplace would be pretty cool if done right. Always better to err on the side of caution though if you aren't sure.


renato

  • Guest
Re: Gas powered fireplace switch
« Reply #9 on: November 24, 2010, 09:43:58 am »
i for one, dont want my gas fireplace running when no one is around the house. gas fireplaces are more for looks than heating the room. therefore, i dont want any zwave receptacles, relay or switch hooked up with my gas fireplace. i am pretty much comfortable using the remote control to turn it on/off. just my 2 cents. thanks for the advice.

mda

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 197
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: Gas powered fireplace switch
« Reply #10 on: December 04, 2010, 01:39:55 am »
hi jackpot, would you mind posting a link to the 120VAC relay you used? thanks.

jackpot

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: Gas powered fireplace switch
« Reply #11 on: December 04, 2010, 06:21:42 am »
"MDA" I used a relay I had in my junk box. If you have a Radio Shack in your area you could use this one........

http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2049721

You would also need to purchase a relay socket for this relay.

I really should not recommend anything as you are dealing with 120vac witch could kill you if you don't know what you are doing. Be very careful in the wiring ect. You should also install a 1/2 amp fuse in the 120vac feeding the relay coil.  I'm an Electrician by trade so it's no big deal for me but if your not completely sure of what your doing get help from someone who does. '
Sorry for all the warning but I don't what you or anyone to get hurt.
Vera 3....1.5.622

kaldoon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 258
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Gas powered fireplace switch
« Reply #12 on: December 04, 2010, 10:27:40 am »
Smarthome-Products has the ZRW113 Relay Switch in stock  - here is the Instruction Manual if you need to look at it.  8)

mda

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 197
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: Gas powered fireplace switch
« Reply #13 on: December 07, 2010, 09:59:39 pm »
thanks

(ps: i will most definitely be hiring an electrician to do this, life is short and i don't need to make it any shorter ;)