Author Topic: Avoid the "new firmware" page?  (Read 1632 times)

Offline rge

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +10/-0
Avoid the "new firmware" page?
« on: February 21, 2017, 02:56:38 pm »
Is there some way to stop UI7 redirecting me to the firmware upgrade page every time?

I have no intention of updating my firmware now I have a stable system and since it doesn't seem to offer me anything useful.

But every time I access the web UI it bounces me to the firmware page, even if I put in the full URL with #dashboard or whatever.

Seriously, normally you get used to a UI, but Vera's just sucks more and more as I discover this crap.

And why not just use a notification?  They take up half the screen to show absolutely nothing of any use, and now here's an ideal use-case and it does a stupid redirect to a whole new page instead.  There's a reason it's called a dashboard - you're supposed to show important things there, not bypass it.

Offline rge

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +10/-0
Re: Avoid the "new firmware" page?
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2017, 04:22:00 pm »
Hack answer to my own question - slightly ironic to avoid a firmware upgrade warning, but...

make a backup copy and then delete this line from /www/cmh/js/main.js:

Code: [Select]
application.addEvent("on_ui_requireUpgrade", myInterface, "requireUpgrade");

Offline 1937BCS

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Avoid the "new firmware" page?
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2017, 10:41:05 pm »
Can you tell me where to find the file you refer to? I'm so tired of seeing the firmware upgrade message.

I'd appreciate any help since I'm not a programmer.

Thanks

Offline rge

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +10/-0
Re: Avoid the "new firmware" page?
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2017, 02:45:23 am »
If you're not comfortable with Linux or technical hacks then I wouldn't recommend it, but here are the instructions.

0. Backup your Vera

1. Attach to your Vera via SCP (e.g. using WinSCP), normal root login

2. In folder /www/cmh/js find the file called main.js (it's actually a symbolic link to the RO filesystem)

3. Copy it to main.js.old as a backup (or onto your PC somewhere)

4. Delete the file - this removes the symbolic link

5. Copy/upload main.js.old to main.js in that folder - you now have a "real" file you can edit

6. Edit the file to remove the line "application.addEvent("on_ui_requireUpgrade", myInterface, "requireUpgrade");" (WinSCP has an "Edit" option which automatically downloads the file and then uploads it back when you save and close the editor)

7. All done

You can also do it directly via SSH terminal, but bear in mind you have to replace the symbolic link with a real file, the location the link points to is read-only.

Offline anthonyris

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
  • Karma: +5/-1
Re: Avoid the "new firmware" page?
« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2017, 09:53:05 pm »
Oh... thanks much for this... That page was not only annoying but got hung up more than once in the redirect.

👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼
Vera3x2, Leviton, GE dimmers, relays and lamp modules, Sonos, Nests...

Offline icare

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Avoid the "new firmware" page?
« Reply #5 on: August 22, 2017, 01:41:26 am »
Thanks a lot! A most welcome contribution to allow my Vera Lite's to continue running without further upgrade, short om memory for that purpose anyway!

Offline Alex Waverley

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: Avoid the "new firmware" page?
« Reply #6 on: August 25, 2017, 03:40:43 pm »
Hack answer to my own question - slightly ironic to avoid a firmware upgrade warning, but...

make a backup copy and then delete this line from /www/cmh/js/main.js:

Code: [Select]
application.addEvent("on_ui_requireUpgrade", myInterface, "requireUpgrade");

Well done! Glad to be rid of the nag.
Please hold your applause until I have concluded my remarks.

Offline rafale77

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 697
  • Karma: +35/-20
Re: Avoid the "new firmware" page?
« Reply #7 on: August 27, 2017, 04:29:57 am »
Instead of deleting you can also comment out that line by adding "//" at the beginning
127 zwave nodes, 8 zigbee nodes, 256 devices, 17 apps, 128 scenes on a Vera Plus linked with Echo and HomeKit through bridges

Offline additude

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 201
  • Karma: +22/-17
Re: Avoid the "new firmware" page?
« Reply #8 on: September 07, 2017, 04:10:01 am »
This doesn't seem to be working consistently for me. It works locally with an IP but when connecting thru the mios relay server it still flashes the firmware page. I also tried // commenting out the line, but that never worked. I had to delete the line.
If you want something that you have never had before, then you are going to have to do something that you have never done before.

Offline rafale77

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 697
  • Karma: +35/-20
Re: Avoid the "new firmware" page?
« Reply #9 on: September 07, 2017, 11:56:59 am »
I can confirm that this trick only works locally but since I never login through the portal... it doesn't matter.

I am not sure how it is possible for the commenting out of the line not to work though. I've been running this way for weeks.
127 zwave nodes, 8 zigbee nodes, 256 devices, 17 apps, 128 scenes on a Vera Plus linked with Echo and HomeKit through bridges

Offline additude

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 201
  • Karma: +22/-17
Re: Avoid the "new firmware" page?
« Reply #10 on: September 07, 2017, 01:41:03 pm »
Yea, I agree....
Commenting it out should have worked just fine. The interpreter is 100% ....
Maybe there was residual latency or something... maybe I screwed up...
But I have two controller's... maybe mios was bouncing between local and relay
and I wasn't paying attention..
Thanks for the reply back.
If you want something that you have never had before, then you are going to have to do something that you have never done before.

Offline rafale77

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 697
  • Karma: +35/-20
Re: Avoid the "new firmware" page?
« Reply #11 on: September 07, 2017, 01:51:41 pm »
No Problem. Hope you get your geofence problem resolved. Or even better for mcv to finally release a truly working firmware as opposed to alphas and betas. I am still puzzled by how they release features on new firmwares without beta testing and then occasionally run a beta to try to fix released firmware issues and almost forcing people to upgrade to more unstable/untested firmwares than the previous with this "new firmware" page.
127 zwave nodes, 8 zigbee nodes, 256 devices, 17 apps, 128 scenes on a Vera Plus linked with Echo and HomeKit through bridges

Offline additude

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 201
  • Karma: +22/-17
Re: Avoid the "new firmware" page?
« Reply #12 on: September 08, 2017, 04:42:32 am »
Yea.... agreed..
Maybe they only have a couple of programmers doing all the coding.....
I'm not sending them a monthly use fee so it is what it is.
For that I'll be patient.
If you want something that you have never had before, then you are going to have to do something that you have never done before.