Author Topic: VeraLite to VeraEdge, VeraPlus or VeraSecure  (Read 2075 times)

Offline Timon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 164
  • Karma: +3/-9
VeraLite to VeraEdge, VeraPlus or VeraSecure
« on: February 21, 2017, 05:26:51 pm »
My VeraLite is just about ready to die. It can't go more than 2 days without the Wave controller locking up which require a power down, a reboot won't fixe it. So I have to make a change soon. VeraLite is running UI5. I see that basically everyone has problems trying to convert from a Lite to any other unit so it seems that the easiest way is to start over. However I would at least like to transfer all of the existing devices to the new Vera so both the old and new could access them.

Can one at least safely transfer the device information from the current VeraLite to the new Vera? I could then start reprogramming the new Vera while the old Lite maintains control till I'm done?

The next question is which new Vera to get, VeraEdge, VeraPlus or VeraSecure. I'm thinking that there is no reason to get the Edge since it a fairly old design so it's either the Plus or Secure. Basically the hardware difference between Secure verses and Plus is more memory, VeraLink radio, Cellular radio, builtin alarm speaker and builtin battery backup. So unless you trust the security features are really going to work I'm thinking stay with the Plus at $120.

However, with the price of the VeraPlus down to $120 I'm wondering if a new revision is coming out shortly.

Offline Jeff D

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: VeraLite to VeraEdge, VeraPlus or VeraSecure
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2017, 06:51:14 pm »
Just my $0.02, I just went through the same thing and reached the same decision. Given the drop in price (I've been told it's a temporary thing, not a new MSRP) I'd went with the Plus.
I like the secure features, but don't have much faith it's been done correctly and will work well enough.
I've got a Vera2, Vera3 and for some reason I keep going back to the same well for another drink... just can't find anything better given the features I want.

Offline Don Phillips

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 760
  • Karma: +18/-3
    • Worthington Engineering, Inc.
Re: VeraLite to VeraEdge, VeraPlus or VeraSecure
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2017, 08:14:49 pm »
My 3 has worked well for almost 4 years and if I get a new controller, it will be for the extra memory, Z-Wave Plus, and Bluetooth support so it will likely be the Secure. So far, the need has not risen to getting a new controller.
Vera 3, UI7 1.7.947, CT101 t-stat, Everspring motion detector, GE/Jasco switch, Leviton outlet, AeonLabs door sensor, Insteon garage control, Blue Iris, Sricam SP011, iPhone locator, APCUPSD, VeraMate, VeraAlerts, PLEG, House Modes, Countdown Timer, DVR, Virtual & Multi Switch, Weather, Sys. Mon.

Online Sammy2

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 434
  • Karma: +1/-3
Re: VeraLite to VeraEdge, VeraPlus or VeraSecure
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2017, 12:06:32 pm »
I like my Vera Plus and paid $150 for it a year ago when it was the new kid on the block. I'm not sure that the Secure offers enough for that extra $150 and especially not for that extra $180 it is right now. Before spending $300 on a controller I would look closely at doing something else with a computer actually as that would provide even more flexibility, albeit at the cost of more fussing around.. Eventually the Plus will be beyond its ability to provide what I need and I'll eat my words and get the Secure or whatever other device MiCasaVerde rolls out at that time, I suppose.

Did I confuse? I guess that is a long way of saying, I'd recommend the Plus unless you want to spring for more $$. I'd be most concerned about loss of power. I have my plus in the Master Bedroom which is locked most of the time and on a UPS that also powers the TV, a low power cable box (Ceton Echo), a Roku and a NUC computer so I don't worry much about power loss as I have battery back up for over an hour on it.

Offline SRACP

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: VeraLite to VeraEdge, VeraPlus or VeraSecure
« Reply #4 on: February 26, 2017, 04:21:35 pm »
I'm in the same boat. I have a Vera3 that seems to be on it's last leg. I'm not sure I want to pay the extra money for the Secure unless I can find more than the Siren being the main difference. Even with the Siren I will need an external one to go in the attic.

Offline wadesready

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +1/-4
Re: VeraLite to VeraEdge, VeraPlus or VeraSecure
« Reply #5 on: February 26, 2017, 07:06:50 pm »
My VeraLite is just about ready to die. It can't go more than 2 days without the Wave controller locking up which require a power down, a reboot won't fixe it. So I have to make a change soon. VeraLite is running UI5. I see that basically everyone has problems trying to convert from a Lite to any other unit so it seems that the easiest way is to start over. However I would at least like to transfer all of the existing devices to the new Vera so both the old and new could access them.

Can one at least safely transfer the device information from the current VeraLite to the new Vera? I could then start reprogramming the new Vera while the old Lite maintains control till I'm done?

The next question is which new Vera to get, VeraEdge, VeraPlus or VeraSecure. I'm thinking that there is no reason to get the Edge since it a fairly old design so it's either the Plus or Secure. Basically the hardware difference between Secure verses and Plus is more memory, VeraLink radio, Cellular radio, builtin alarm speaker and builtin battery backup. So unless you trust the security features are really going to work I'm thinking stay with the Plus at $120.

However, with the price of the VeraPlus down to $120 I'm wondering if a new revision is coming out shortly.

I am planning on buying the secure, provided they keep the price down around $249 like it is today.  I will not be paying $299.  THe only reason I want one is MORE power!  lol  seriously, the specs say it has double the cpu, and more memory.  I have a Plus right now, and I am for the most part happy with it.  (as happy as you can be owning a vera product)  I have owned a veralite, a vera3, and the veraplus.  and my greatest frustration is waiting for the user interface to respond....NOT waiting and waiting is worth the cost to entry...

Offline blingal

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: VeraLite to VeraEdge, VeraPlus or VeraSecure
« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2017, 06:18:28 pm »
I have been running a Veralite for about 3 years and all and all am happy with it. It works and its stable.... BUUUUT i still find it slow when running scenes even when using PLEG. Running a scene can from time to time take up to 3-4 seconds (but we got used to it by now)

So my question is, to those of you who have used other Veras. Will more memmory and processor power run my scenes faster? Is it worth upgrading to a Veraplus?

Offline ScottHammet

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: VeraLite to VeraEdge, VeraPlus or VeraSecure
« Reply #7 on: April 24, 2017, 06:19:57 pm »
I have been running a Veralite for about 3 years and all and all am happy with it. It works and its stable.... BUUUUT i still find it slow when running scenes even when using PLEG. Running a scene can from time to time take up to 3-4 seconds (but we got used to it by now)

So my question is, to those of you who have used other Veras. Will more memmory and processor power run my scenes faster? Is it worth upgrading to a Veraplus?

I went from the VeraLite to the Edge.  It was a big improvement in performance.  I'm going to move to the Secure for the same reason.

Offline pentium

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 191
  • Karma: +9/-0
Re: VeraLite to VeraEdge, VeraPlus or VeraSecure
« Reply #8 on: May 20, 2017, 12:15:19 pm »
I have a slight variant to this question.  I am running ui5 on a vera lite.  maybe 30 devices plus my honeywell alarm system.  Last night my vera lite lost the ability to connect to the internet due to massive lightning storm.  the blue light and orange lite come on but the top lite doesn't shine.  Thus, I am probably going to finally take the plunge to ui7 and a new box.  I have a vera edge, new in the box that i have had since they first came out.  But frankly, I wouldn't mind the expense of a vera plus if you all think that I would be better off in the long run starting out that way.  I don't want to use the edge and then have to go through all of this rebuild again.  I really haven't had memory problems or anything really, so if that is the main reason to use something newer than the edge then I won't get the plus.  I suppose the biggest question is if i build my system with the edge, will i have to rebuild it if i want to upgrade later? 

Offline jb2017

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: VeraLite to VeraEdge, VeraPlus or VeraSecure
« Reply #9 on: May 22, 2017, 01:39:43 pm »
While I am very interested in the dual core processor and extra memory on the Vera Secure, I am wondering how much of that capacity is eaten up by the Vera Secure features?

If I do not use any of the Vera Secure-specific features, will my apps/devices get the extra headroom? If not, it seems like a waste and instead I should go with the Vera Plus (and save $150).

Offline wilme2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 994
  • Karma: +18/-13
Re: VeraLite to VeraEdge, VeraPlus or VeraSecure
« Reply #10 on: June 27, 2017, 11:24:14 am »
While I am very interested in the dual core processor and extra memory on the Vera Secure, I am wondering how much of that capacity is eaten up by the Vera Secure features?

If I do not use any of the Vera Secure-specific features, will my apps/devices get the extra headroom? If not, it seems like a waste and instead I should go with the Vera Plus (and save $150).

I wonder the same thing.  I haven't heard much first hand experience with the Secure...
Long Live UI5!

Offline gtallan

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: VeraLite to VeraEdge, VeraPlus or VeraSecure
« Reply #11 on: June 28, 2017, 11:18:33 pm »
While I am very interested in the dual core processor and extra memory on the Vera Secure, I am wondering how much of that capacity is eaten up by the Vera Secure features?

If I do not use any of the Vera Secure-specific features, will my apps/devices get the extra headroom? If not, it seems like a waste and instead I should go with the Vera Plus (and save $150).

I wonder the same thing.  I haven't heard much first hand experience with the Secure...

By the specs, the secure and the plus have the same dual-core processor... no difference there. Secure does have twice the memory..

I upgraded from Lite to Plus about 6 months ago... started from scratch with all devices but it went pretty well. I think the bugs are mostly out of UI7 by now. The new hardware certainly performs a lot better.