Author Topic: Switching to Vera: Question about Sonos.  (Read 376 times)

Offline brandon125

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
Switching to Vera: Question about Sonos.
« on: April 30, 2017, 03:49:54 pm »
I am pre ordering the Vera Secure. I am currently using Smartthings and it is not so reliable and hopefully I get better results from Vera Secure. One thing hopefully I don't miss with ST is the Sonos sounds. I have it setup so when there is a fire it states that there is a fire in a certain room. Also, when someone attempts to break in, my loud Sonos AMP speakers blare dogs barking.

 Is there a way I can achieve this? I am good with computers and networking. Terrible at coding.

Thanks!

Offline reneboer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1062
  • Karma: +53/-30
Re: Switching to Vera: Question about Sonos.
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2017, 07:13:54 am »
Hi,

There is a plugin for Sonos. You can read all about it here. http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/board,47.0.html

TTS should be working, but mine stopped and have not been able to figure out why yet.

Cheers Rene
2xVeraLite, VeraEdge, openLuup, ALTUI, 20 switches, 10 dimmers, 20 sensors, 10 scene controllers, 1 Harmony Hub, many plug-ins. Not enough time.

Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2341
  • Karma: +107/-136
Re: Switching to Vera: Question about Sonos.
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2017, 08:49:54 am »
Are you using the Microsoft TTS? If so, MS may have turned it off as they said they would...
Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W

Offline reneboer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1062
  • Karma: +53/-30
Re: Switching to Vera: Question about Sonos.
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2017, 11:42:16 am »
Hi BOFH,

No, using responsive voice. It gets the mp3 from that just fine. It is the Sonos not playing any mp3's I throw at it from my Vera for what ever reason. I do see en UPNP types error 500 or something (would need to look at it again to know the exact error)

Cheers Rene
2xVeraLite, VeraEdge, openLuup, ALTUI, 20 switches, 10 dimmers, 20 sensors, 10 scene controllers, 1 Harmony Hub, many plug-ins. Not enough time.

Offline BOFH

  • Sr. Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2341
  • Karma: +107/-136
Re: Switching to Vera: Question about Sonos.
« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2017, 11:44:27 am »
Rene, do you have the uPnP plugin installed? and setup correctly in the Sonos devices?
Vera3 UI5 UI7 Edge Plus
Trane TZEMT400AB32 | Schlage BE369 FE599 | GE 45601 45602 45603 45604 45606 45609 45631 | Intermatic HA01C HA03C HA05C HA07C CA600 CA3000 | Aeon DSC06106 | Telguard GDC1 | Foscam FI8910W FI8905W FI9821W | D-Link 930L | Wanscam JW0011 | ZModo ZPIBH13W

Offline reneboer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1062
  • Karma: +53/-30
Re: Switching to Vera: Question about Sonos.
« Reply #5 on: May 04, 2017, 11:53:23 am »
Hi BOFH,

UPNP is running and it has been working for a couple of weeks. I did not have had much time to debug so might be something silly. It is running on openLuup btw.

Cheers Rene
2xVeraLite, VeraEdge, openLuup, ALTUI, 20 switches, 10 dimmers, 20 sensors, 10 scene controllers, 1 Harmony Hub, many plug-ins. Not enough time.

Offline becky

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Switching to Vera: Question about Sonos.
« Reply #6 on: May 04, 2017, 03:46:32 pm »
This section of the forum is filled to the brim with all kinds of resources! It was how I got my feet wet with Lua, and I found that the sonos controls on Vera are a million times more flexible than they are with smart things. I highly recommend checking it out!

http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/board,47.0.html