Author Topic: How to Integrate Our Concord 4  (Read 343 times)

Offline gniknalu

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: +1/-1
How to Integrate Our Concord 4
« on: May 09, 2017, 12:13:32 pm »
In our previous house, we integrated our alarm system with Vera using an EyezOn EnvisaLink 3.  In our new place, we have a GE Concord 4 alarm system. I see everywhere posts about the Concord plugin but I don't see any posts about how to integrate the hardware with our Vera system. Can someone please connect the dots for me? (Been searching google for a while this morning and have found nothing useful.)

THANK YOU

Offline Inzax

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 232
  • Karma: +19/-61
Re: How to Integrate Our Concord 4
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2017, 12:29:45 pm »
Proud Member of the Epic Smite Thread.
Go ahead. Make my day.  Smite me!

Offline Inzax

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 232
  • Karma: +19/-61
Re: How to Integrate Our Concord 4
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2017, 12:33:39 pm »
sorry for another post...

To clarify.  There are some important hardware issues sprinkled throughout the thread.  As you go through make notes.  The issues on cables and interface are discussed at various points.
Proud Member of the Epic Smite Thread.
Go ahead. Make my day.  Smite me!

Offline gniknalu

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: How to Integrate Our Concord 4
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2017, 12:48:57 pm »
http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,12000.0.html

A long read....but a must read.

I did read through that thread but threads like that tend to be convoluted and confusing. For example, on the thread there are four configurations I've seen posted:

#1:
GE Automation Module
Prolific USB to RS232

#2:
GE Security 60-783-02 SuperBus 2000 Automation Module
SF Cable, 3 ft DB9 M/F Serial Extension Cable RS232
USBGear 6ft. USB to RS232 Converter for Windows 7 (32/64bit) FTDI CHIP RX/TX LED

#3:
GE automation module
MUSB2serial cable with the prolific chipset on board

#4: (similar to #2)
SuperBus 2000 RS-232 module
FTDI USB to RS232 cable.

Each of those has sub-discussions interwoven in the main thread. It would be cool if someone posted a thread that clears up the different approaches and which is the favored approach.

Hence the reason for my "new" thread

Offline shallowearth

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 905
  • Karma: +42/-9
Re: How to Integrate Our Concord 4
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2017, 02:03:54 pm »
The GE Automation Module and the SuperBus 2000 are all the same thing.
There is only one piece of hardware out there you can buy.
Here is an example on amazon:  https://www.amazon.com/GE-Security-60-783-02-SuperBus-Automation/dp/B0028PU6LI/ref=sr_1_sc_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1494352650&sr=8-1-spell&keywords=ge+suberbus+2000+automation


The serial cable is the same deal, they are all describing the same thing, but what is available on Amazon changes over time.
The main thing is that you want a USB to Serial cable that has a male serial end (the one with pins) and those with the FTDI or Prolific chip set work best.
This one is the one I used with a FTDI chipset, works great:  https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B006AA04K0/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Just make sure the connector has screws that go into the SuperBus Connection.  The first one I bought strangely had a male adapter but female screw socket which blocked it from fitting into the SuperBus 2000 serial port.

Offline gniknalu

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: How to Integrate Our Concord 4
« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2017, 02:13:45 pm »
The GE Automation Module and the SuperBus 2000 are all the same thing.
There is only one piece of hardware out there you can buy.
Here is an example on amazon:  https://www.amazon.com/GE-Security-60-783-02-SuperBus-Automation/dp/B0028PU6LI/ref=sr_1_sc_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1494352650&sr=8-1-spell&keywords=ge+suberbus+2000+automation


The serial cable is the same deal, they are all describing the same thing, but what is available on Amazon changes over time.
The main thing is that you want a USB to Serial cable that has a male serial end (the one with pins) and those with the FTDI or Prolific chip set work best.
This one is the one I used with a FTDI chipset, works great:  https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B006AA04K0/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Just make sure the connector has screws that go into the SuperBus Connection.  The first one I bought strangely had a male adapter but female screw socket which blocked it from fitting into the SuperBus 2000 serial port.

Thank You!

I just now ordered (before I saw your post) a "Interlogix GE 60-783-02 Automation Module Sb2000 Rs232" and a "USBGear 6ft. USB to RS232 Converter for Windows 7 (32/64bit) FTDI CHIP". Thank you for clarifying the items and I look forward to getting this on-line with my VeraSecure when it finally arrives.

Take care!