Author Topic: VeraSecure  (Read 6159 times)

Offline kartcon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: VeraSecure
« Reply #15 on: May 26, 2017, 07:31:36 pm »
In another thread (http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,44019.msg312086.html#msg312086) the question was asked but not answered, if the 2Gig Ion security sensors would work with the Vera Secure. (iON Digital Plunger Wireless Door Security Sensor, 2GIG (Plunger-2GIG) here: https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIACNB59H9762). I had used a similar sensor with my Vera 3 and a DSC security panel and they worked very well. I am considering using them again for 4 door entry points but am unsure of the compatibility. Has anyone tried this particular sensor or have any feedback. I also see that there are standard 2Gig door/window sensors available that ARE compatible, but would prefer to use the Ion plungers for all four entry point doors, simply because they are more discrete. Any help would be appreciated.

Offline MNB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
  • Karma: +4/-9
Re: VeraSecure
« Reply #16 on: May 27, 2017, 11:52:10 am »
@kartcon, looking at your link it doesn't indicate that the sensor is z-wave unless one is to infer this from 2Gig association?
Edge-1.7.2607, VRI06-1LX Dimr (6), VS05-1LX Sw (4), GE ZW3002 Dimr (1), HA01C Outlet (12), HA02C Sw (6), HA04C Sw (4), GE Sw (2), HA05 Sw (3), MiniMote Contr (5), HSM200/100 Sensor (2), ZW100A Sensor (8), Nest thermostat (1) & Protect Fire/CO (6) Kwikset Locks (3), F18918W (1) & IP3M-9 (6) Cam's

Offline kartcon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: VeraSecure
« Reply #17 on: May 27, 2017, 08:13:43 pm »
Yes, the assumption was to associate them the Vera Secure via the 2Gig VeraLink method. In another thread today, it was noted that most 2Gig devices would work with Vera Secure, but then went on to say 'Only those specifically listed' were guaranteed to work. The sensor I was interested is NOT Z-Wave, but is compatible with 2Gig alarm panels via the 345 Mhz frequency. I was hoping that these door sensors might be recognized by Vera Secure, and that was the question of the original post. Anybody tried this yet?

Offline Sorin M.

  • Administrator
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: I am a geek!!
  • Karma: +48/-4
    • getvera.com
Re: VeraSecure
« Reply #18 on: May 28, 2017, 01:37:21 pm »
Hi there,


Current list of compatible 345Mhz 2GIG devices is the following, and can be seen on any VeraSecure if you go to Devices->Add devices-> Search for 2gig
 Make sure you have TXID id number on them to be able to be added to Vera. Otherwise they cannot be paired without this information.


2GIG Wireless Carbon Monoxide Alarm
2GIG-CO3-345


2GIG Thin Door/Window Contact
2GIG-DW10-345


2GIG Recessed Door Contact
2GIG-DW20R-345


2GIG Bypass Door Window Contact
2GIG-DW40-345


2GIG Glass Break Detector
2GIG-GB1-345



2GIG 4-Button Key Ring Remote
2GIG-KEY2-345


2GIG Panic Button Remote
2GIG-PANIC1-345


2GIG Passive Infrared Motion Detector
2GIG-PIR1-345


2GIG Wireless Smoke/Heat Alarm
2GIG-SMKT3-345


2GIG Tilt Sensor
2GIG-TILT1-345
« Last Edit: May 28, 2017, 01:39:07 pm by John M. »
Sorin M. ▾ Community Manager
Vera Control, Ltd. ▾ Smarter Home Control  ▾ support@getvera.com ▾www.getvera.com ▾ +1 (866) 966-2272

HOURS OF OPERATION (Pacific Time Zone, UTC -8 )
Monday - Friday   12:00 am ? 06:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday   04:00 am ? 06:00 pm

Offline MNB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
  • Karma: +4/-9
Re: VeraSecure
« Reply #19 on: May 29, 2017, 10:54:32 am »
@John M. thanxs for posting the compatible 2GIG devices. So for the technically challenged the 245Mhz devices are not Z-Wave but rather WiFi, or is it a proprietary communications?
Edge-1.7.2607, VRI06-1LX Dimr (6), VS05-1LX Sw (4), GE ZW3002 Dimr (1), HA01C Outlet (12), HA02C Sw (6), HA04C Sw (4), GE Sw (2), HA05 Sw (3), MiniMote Contr (5), HSM200/100 Sensor (2), ZW100A Sensor (8), Nest thermostat (1) & Protect Fire/CO (6) Kwikset Locks (3), F18918W (1) & IP3M-9 (6) Cam's

Offline integlikewhoa

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 5592
  • Karma: +154/-372
Re: VeraSecure
« Reply #20 on: May 29, 2017, 11:42:38 am »
@John M. thanxs for posting the compatible 2GIG devices. So for the technically challenged the 245Mhz devices are not Z-Wave but rather WiFi, or is it a proprietary communications?

There was a typo in your post. 245 is actually 345mhz. Wifi doesn't operate at 345mhz (2.4ghz and 5ghz) range. This not wifi or z-wave.

Offline MNB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
  • Karma: +4/-9
Re: VeraSecure
« Reply #21 on: May 29, 2017, 08:20:40 pm »
So what standard is it?
Edge-1.7.2607, VRI06-1LX Dimr (6), VS05-1LX Sw (4), GE ZW3002 Dimr (1), HA01C Outlet (12), HA02C Sw (6), HA04C Sw (4), GE Sw (2), HA05 Sw (3), MiniMote Contr (5), HSM200/100 Sensor (2), ZW100A Sensor (8), Nest thermostat (1) & Protect Fire/CO (6) Kwikset Locks (3), F18918W (1) & IP3M-9 (6) Cam's

Offline TDehnke

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: +1/-2
Re: VeraSecure
« Reply #22 on: May 30, 2017, 01:21:45 am »
MNB The VeraLink (345MHz) protocol seems to be based off of the 2GIG (345MHz) protocol and is similar to some of the Honeywell (345MHz) and InterLogix (319MHz) protocols.

Offline MNB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
  • Karma: +4/-9
Re: VeraSecure
« Reply #23 on: May 30, 2017, 08:51:08 am »
@TDehnke, many thanxs for info, out of ignorance with this protocol what are the Pro's/Con's vs z-wave and/or WiFi devices? Mike
Edge-1.7.2607, VRI06-1LX Dimr (6), VS05-1LX Sw (4), GE ZW3002 Dimr (1), HA01C Outlet (12), HA02C Sw (6), HA04C Sw (4), GE Sw (2), HA05 Sw (3), MiniMote Contr (5), HSM200/100 Sensor (2), ZW100A Sensor (8), Nest thermostat (1) & Protect Fire/CO (6) Kwikset Locks (3), F18918W (1) & IP3M-9 (6) Cam's

Offline integlikewhoa

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 5592
  • Karma: +154/-372
Re: VeraSecure
« Reply #24 on: May 30, 2017, 10:29:31 am »
@TDehnke, many thanxs for info, out of ignorance with this protocol what are the Pro's/Con's vs z-wave and/or WiFi devices? Mike

It's not a standard as it only works with 2gig and vera. That's also a downside but the upside should be longer range and more secure transmission.

Offline MNB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
  • Karma: +4/-9
Re: VeraSecure
« Reply #25 on: May 30, 2017, 04:00:50 pm »
@integlikewhoa, thanxs again for the edumacation (sic)  ;D. I have a VeraSecure sitting on my desk still in its box (haven't had time to convert from VeraEdge) but have been following the various related threads. I take it that you have converted to the Secure? if so how was the transition?

Back to your answer, so you indicating longer range and more secure xmission, is it encoded? Have you acquired any of these 345mhz devices and if so what are you using and for what (e.g. alarm system)?
« Last Edit: May 30, 2017, 04:02:34 pm by MNB »
Edge-1.7.2607, VRI06-1LX Dimr (6), VS05-1LX Sw (4), GE ZW3002 Dimr (1), HA01C Outlet (12), HA02C Sw (6), HA04C Sw (4), GE Sw (2), HA05 Sw (3), MiniMote Contr (5), HSM200/100 Sensor (2), ZW100A Sensor (8), Nest thermostat (1) & Protect Fire/CO (6) Kwikset Locks (3), F18918W (1) & IP3M-9 (6) Cam's

Offline integlikewhoa

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 5592
  • Karma: +154/-372
Re: VeraSecure
« Reply #26 on: May 30, 2017, 05:31:32 pm »
@integlikewhoa, thanxs again for the edumacation (sic)  ;D. I have a VeraSecure sitting on my desk still in its box (haven't had time to convert from VeraEdge) but have been following the various related threads. I take it that you have converted to the Secure? if so how was the transition?

Back to your answer, so you indicating longer range and more secure xmission, is it encoded? Have you acquired any of these 345mhz devices and if so what are you using and for what (e.g. alarm system)?

I have no plans on getting a VeraSecure.

Lower the frequency (with all others being the same) means better penetration and range but less data transfer speed (which is not needed for this say vs. wifi). Alarm panels sensors don't work off a mesh but will still report from a max up to like 350ft open area. Z-wave says 100ft open area. In real life alarm sensors easily hit 100-150 where z-wave is more like 50-60ft ish.  I would say it is encoded but I don't have any specs to prove it. Z-wave also has encoding depending on the devices.

I have a GE Caddx Alarm that is integrated into the home automation. They use a 319mhz frequency. I like wired so everything in the house is wired but a detached garage does have some wireless in it and its pretty far from the keypad receiver.

Personally I don't like to throw all my eggs in one basket. The Secure will be great for some but if vera fails you and you leave to another home automation what are you to do with the sensors you have that only work with 2gig or vera. People have come to vera from other systems and left to other systems. Z-wave picks right up and moves without an issue. My alarm panel I have has functioned with and without any home automation and it has functioned with VERA and with Homeseer.

Other companies have designed sensors and switches that work with not only their controller but others as well (stuck to a "standard" like Z-wave). This 345mhz, is a bit to proprietary for my liking. So while I like to mix it up I'll stick with devices that work with the future I might have, not only what VERA has for me. I might also think differently if I thought 2gig alarms were on the same level as DSC, Honeywell, GE.
 

Offline MNB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
  • Karma: +4/-9
Re: VeraSecure
« Reply #27 on: May 30, 2017, 06:37:59 pm »
@integlikewhoa, thanxs for your in depth explanation of your situation. Looking on Amazon I see that UTC seems to have purchased GE Caddx Alarm and accessories. Out of curiosity how (interface wise) are you communicating between your Alarm panel and VERA and/or homeseer? Between the two platforms (Vera vs Homeseer) are you planning on moving away from Vera? Mike
Edge-1.7.2607, VRI06-1LX Dimr (6), VS05-1LX Sw (4), GE ZW3002 Dimr (1), HA01C Outlet (12), HA02C Sw (6), HA04C Sw (4), GE Sw (2), HA05 Sw (3), MiniMote Contr (5), HSM200/100 Sensor (2), ZW100A Sensor (8), Nest thermostat (1) & Protect Fire/CO (6) Kwikset Locks (3), F18918W (1) & IP3M-9 (6) Cam's

Offline integlikewhoa

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 5592
  • Karma: +154/-372
Re: VeraSecure
« Reply #28 on: May 30, 2017, 08:24:33 pm »
@integlikewhoa, thanxs for your in depth explanation of your situation. Looking on Amazon I see that UTC seems to have purchased GE Caddx Alarm and accessories. Out of curiosity how (interface wise) are you communicating between your Alarm panel and VERA and/or homeseer? Between the two platforms (Vera vs Homeseer) are you planning on moving away from Vera? Mike

Honeywell is probley the oldest most trusted alarm IMO.
DSC is probley the most popular to use right now.
GE is probley 3rd on my list if I were buying today.

GE connects to VERA with a USB to serial Adaptor. I have this one.
https://www.amazon.com/TRENDnet-Converter-Prolific-Chipset-TU-S9/dp/B0007T27H8

You also need to make or buy a serial to serial adapter to plugin into the alarm panel.
https://www.123securityproducts.com/p-0003.html?utm_source=google&utm_medium=cpc&scid=scplpP-0003&sc_intid=P-0003&gclid=CjwKEAjwsLTJBRCvibaW9bGLtUESJAC4wKw1RrJ71PxYwjhMSdlgcGpVqXJqNlfWMRjDbSXm_n3F5BoCMPfw_wcB

I also use a gender changer in to the middle to make the two above connect together.

I think I spent 30.00 total on the cable. Plugin is free on vera or Homeseer for GE/Caddx panels. On Homeseer I run it on a mini windows PC and it has a serial input on the computer so I don't use the Serial to USB anymore. Just plug the DB9 serial into a open serial port on the computer. I can run what ever length serial I need but I keep most of my electronics in a media rack in one place.

For the DSC or Honeywell it costs a bit more (80-90.00) but you can get a network (cat5e) cable connection to your panel with a "EnvisaLink4" network modual. This lets you get your panel on the network then vera or Homeseer can connect to it from anywhere in the house.

I moved away from VERA to Homseer around a year ago. I have more then one smart house and had veras at each. Both started with Vera lites, then Edges, then the Plus is where I had to stop. You can search for those threads.


Offline RichardTSchaefer

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 9820
  • Karma: +742/-136
    • RTS Services Plugins
Re: VeraSecure
« Reply #29 on: June 02, 2017, 12:59:55 am »
Yes UI7 was very painful ... it took over 2 years from the time they released the Edge and Plus that required UI7  for them to get a relatively stable system. And that was a very painful time ... I personally stayed on UI5 for all but the last 6 months of this cycle.

But it is more reliable now than my UI5/Vera 3 system ... but mostly because I was running out of memory.
I still hate the UI ... I have more than 200 devices .... and its very painful ... but I only use it to configure my system.
I am extremely automated ... And now I use my Google Homes and Phone for any manual control.
I am planning on much more automation now ... I have not done much with my Audio/Video setup ... I will be moving to that soon ... and of course leveraging Google Home as I go ... I already have a Google Cast connected to my Stereo/TV ... and I use Google Home to select what I cast there ... and often just listening to music. But I have to manually configure to many things.