We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Wall Plate GE ZW5302/45631  (Read 39309 times)

Offline gferry

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Wall Plate GE ZW5302/45631
« on: December 07, 2010, 12:01:47 pm »
OK, I sort of got the Remote control working.  Here's my take on the wall plate:

Once you have the Remote Control (GE45601) programmed, you can send this programming to the wall plate (GE ZW5301/45631).
Do this operation with the devices close to each other.
1) Put the wall plate into receive mode:
1a) Press and hold [ADD] and [REMOVE] until the orange light blinks
1b) Sequentially, press [DownArrow] of the 1 (top, left), then 2, then 3, then 4.  The orange light will begin to blink
2) Put the Remote Control into send mode
2a) Press and hold [SETUP] until "LGHT SETUP" appears in the display
2b) Press the [-->] button five times until "TRANSFER" appears in the display.
2c) Press [OK] and "PRIMARY" will appear
2d) Press [-->] and "SECONDARY" will appear
2e) Press [OK] and "ALL" will appear
2f) Press [OK] once more to send the data.
In the display of the Remote Control, "SENDING" will appear, at the same time, the orange light on the Wall Plate will continue to blink.
Shortly, the display of the Remote Control, "SUCESS" will appear, briefly, at the same time, the orange light on the Wall Plate will blink green twice.  This indicates success.  I assume that anything other than this sequence indicates failure.

Of course, every time you change the Remote Control, you have to do this.


Unexplained Features
=========================================
When turning on from the Wall Plate, it will take a significant number of seconds for the command to be executed.

On the Wall Plate, be sure to press [SCENE] before pressing one of the buttons.

Offline shady

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1331
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • This monkey knows his Window Coverings!
Re: Wall Plate GE ZW5302/45631
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2010, 05:42:26 pm »
I am having trouble including my 45631 and I was wondering if I understand correctly.  So you just copied from the GE controller that you have included in Vera to the 45631 and the 45631 operates without being included in Vera?  I assume because whatever scenes you replicated to the GE handheld controller were to a similar amount of buttons (4) as is on the 45631 and the same scenes are being fired off of the 45631.

For some reason I thought that I would have to include each of the scene controllers I was going to use in my house into Vera.  But if I am going to have basically the same button assignments on all of them that I only have to include one to Vera and then replicate the scenes to all controllers.

Or maybe is that why there is such a delay when using the 45631 as you have mentioned.  Do you know if Vera is firing off the scenes, or is the separate scene controller doing it as a secondary?
Vera3 1.5.346, Schlage (3)DB (2)Lever, Kwikset (1)Lever, RCS TZ43 Thermo, (2) Vizia RZI06-1LX 600W Dimmers, (17) Monster (Leviton) Dimmers (6) Monster (Leviton) IWC Scene Controllers (1) Etherrain-8, (3) HSM 100's (1)GE 3-Way set

Offline mbairhead

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 516
  • Karma: +5/-2
Re: Wall Plate GE ZW5302/45631
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2011, 10:28:00 pm »
Why is it I can get the scenes to show up in the remote but it won't run them?
« Last Edit: January 08, 2011, 12:38:30 am by mbairhead »

Offline ASIHome

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 347
  • Karma: +2/-3
Re: Wall Plate GE ZW5302/45631
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2011, 10:19:29 am »
Did you re-include the 45631 after you assigned the events to the scene buttons? That is what I had to do in order to get this working on my Vera. Also, make sure you press the Scene button before hitting the buttons that you want the Vera to respond to.

Offline mbairhead

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 516
  • Karma: +5/-2
Re: Wall Plate GE ZW5302/45631
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2011, 10:36:23 am »
Yes, I re-included 4 times and made sure to hit the "scene" before going for an adult beverage and watching TV while giving this thing dirty looks as it sat on my coffee table. My usual response to stuff not working is try it until you want to throw it across the room (just before actually) and walk away and try again another day. I haven't gotten to the "try again another day" point in this project yet but any tips and or tricks would be greatly appreciated.

Offline shady

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1331
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • This monkey knows his Window Coverings!
Re: Wall Plate GE ZW5302/45631
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2011, 12:41:51 pm »
try it until you want to throw it across the room (just before actually) and walk away and try again another day

Same here.

There seems to be something missing from the steps to include it properly.  I have followed it several times and have had no luck as well.  Also, I don't understand that when I reinclude it to Vera I get a second scene controller added.  I have been told to ignore that second switch/controller icon and stick it in an unused room, but I don't think it is updating the original switch with Vera scenes.  I belive @myhomeserver says to operate it using the Group buttons and procedure, but that doesn't seem right.  I have tried both and it doesn't seem to include the same way that a HA07 does when it does update the original icon during the reinclude and doesn't create a second icon.

Step by step instructions written for a 6 year old using terminology from those instructions would help me...  :)
Vera3 1.5.346, Schlage (3)DB (2)Lever, Kwikset (1)Lever, RCS TZ43 Thermo, (2) Vizia RZI06-1LX 600W Dimmers, (17) Monster (Leviton) Dimmers (6) Monster (Leviton) IWC Scene Controllers (1) Etherrain-8, (3) HSM 100's (1)GE 3-Way set

Offline aa6vh

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 642
  • Karma: +15/-0
Re: Wall Plate GE ZW5302/45631
« Reply #6 on: January 11, 2011, 10:45:57 am »
This was discussed in a similiar thread: http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php?topic=4350.0

I never got scenes to work, but I was able to locally program groups on the GE 45631.

Offline ASIHome

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 347
  • Karma: +2/-3
Re: Wall Plate GE ZW5302/45631
« Reply #7 on: January 11, 2011, 12:20:08 pm »
Ok so I know that some posters have been having trouble with this. My Z-Wave was reset when I moved so I had no 45631 in my system.

I just added a 45631 to my Vera and have it working.

To add the 45631 to the Vera:

1. Hold the Add and Remove buttons until the Orange LED blinks twice
2. Press the Off side (left) on each of the 4 Scene buttons, the Orange LED will start blinking
3. Start inclusion on the Vera (I use the Full Power option)

Name your controller and then create the scenes for the on/offs for each button (8 total). For each scene setup the events button 1 is Scene 1 and so on. The On is Activated and the Off is Deactivated.

After all of your scenes are setup, Save. Once you are done, re-include the 45631 to the Vera using the above steps.

Once the re-inclusion is done. Press the Scene button on the 45631 and then press the desired Scene you wish to turn on or off. For reference the 45631 is backwards to most controllers, the Left side is Off and the Right side is On.

I currently have Buttons 1+2 turning On/Off Leviton Lamp Modules, Button 3 turning On/Off a HomeManageables Lamp Module and Button 4 turning On/Off an Intermatic Lamp module. I have also previously had ACT lamp modules working.

Also, as a side note, the devices take about 10-15 seconds to come On aftter the button is pushed but go Off almost instantly.

Hope this helps anybody get theirs up and running.

Vera 1 running UI4 1047.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2011, 12:23:16 pm by ASIHome »

Offline myhomeserver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 874
  • Karma: +3/-5
  • http://www.MyZwave.net
Re: Wall Plate GE ZW5302/45631
« Reply #8 on: January 11, 2011, 02:58:29 pm »
Thanks barry, I'll have to try this in Scene mode. I have it using group mode and it's instant when turning on a light since it's directly communicating.  Much quicker than waiting for Vera
MyZWave.net - See Our Z-Wave product Reviews
(formerly MyHomeServer)

Offline kaldoon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 258
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Wall Plate GE ZW5302/45631
« Reply #9 on: January 11, 2011, 03:11:25 pm »
According to the Jasco folk at the show the 45631 does not support the scene class at this point - there wasn't enough memory to include it maybe next go around

Offline shady

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1331
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • This monkey knows his Window Coverings!
Re: Wall Plate GE ZW5302/45631
« Reply #10 on: January 11, 2011, 06:37:50 pm »
Thank you Barry,

If I can't get it to work after following your explicit instructions then I'll just give up.  I believe I have been doing it just as you have written.

One important question though...

When you re-add the controller does Vera create a new scene controller device icon in the UI?  So that you end up with the original scene controller that you renamed, assigned scenes, and put in a room, as well as a second scene controller in the UI that ends up blank, in the Devices section under Mios Marketplace????

If not, that must be where I am going wrong and Vera isn't sending the scene info back to the controller, but just adding it again as if it were new.  I can get a HA07 to add as you described, but not with the 45631 (maybe I have an older version of firmware that doesn't support scene info as @Kaldoon states).
Vera3 1.5.346, Schlage (3)DB (2)Lever, Kwikset (1)Lever, RCS TZ43 Thermo, (2) Vizia RZI06-1LX 600W Dimmers, (17) Monster (Leviton) Dimmers (6) Monster (Leviton) IWC Scene Controllers (1) Etherrain-8, (3) HSM 100's (1)GE 3-Way set

Offline mbairhead

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 516
  • Karma: +5/-2
Re: Wall Plate GE ZW5302/45631
« Reply #11 on: January 12, 2011, 07:39:59 am »
Followed and still failed. I readily accept the possibility (likelihood even) that I'm an idiot and this is totally my fault but it's just not happening for me.

When I create the scenes and add the scenes (4 or 5 times) they show up in the scene controller but it just won't play them. When I hit "scene" and then choose one of the buttons, the lights on the remote flash twice and it looks like it's going to work but then nothing. I set up one Vizio switch and one GE, just to make sure it wasn't the switch causing the problem, or at least greatly reduce the likelihood it was the switch.

I had put a lot of eggs in this basket, very disappointed.

Offline myhomeserver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 874
  • Karma: +3/-5
  • http://www.MyZwave.net
Re: Wall Plate GE ZW5302/45631
« Reply #12 on: January 12, 2011, 07:50:34 am »
The same issue was happening to me, I ditched the "scene" mode and programmed the group buttons, it worked perfectly
MyZWave.net - See Our Z-Wave product Reviews
(formerly MyHomeServer)

Offline ASIHome

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 347
  • Karma: +2/-3
Re: Wall Plate GE ZW5302/45631
« Reply #13 on: January 12, 2011, 10:02:21 am »
The Vera did not create a second device. It said it was updating the scenes. Mine all have a date code of 1024. 24th week of 2010. I am wondering now if this is a Vera1 versus Vera2 thing.

Offline mbairhead

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 516
  • Karma: +5/-2
Re: Wall Plate GE ZW5302/45631
« Reply #14 on: January 12, 2011, 10:52:06 am »
The Vera did not create a second device. It said it was updating the scenes. Mine all have a date code of 1024. 24th week of 2010. I am wondering now if this is a Vera1 versus Vera2 thing.

I am using Vera2 with UI4