Author Topic: Security of comms to server questions  (Read 474 times)

Offline samyoue

• Sr. Newbie
Security of comms to server questions
« on: June 29, 2017, 07:42:40 pm »
Hi all, I've been asked by a big potential client "what protocol/type of message is sent to the exterior vera server."

I've searched and searched and can only find scraps of info which I'm not sure answer my clients concerns. Somewhere I read that Vera uses SSL encryption but is this from phone/desktop to server or Vera controller to server?

I also read that it uses MMS authentication (of which I could find very little info online) from UI6 upwards but again is this from client to server or controller to server?

On top of the encryption method, is there a particular type of message the Vera is sending to the server? ie PHP data or HTML info (I dont have a clue on this bit)

to clarify I'm a hobbyist programmer with a little DIY experience in JavaScript and Lua and my client asking the questions is an IT Project Manager... The Vera is a small but critical component of this project and my lack of knowledge of the deeper details is stalling the whole thing so please help me ASAP!!!

Thank you very much

Sam

Edit: If it makes a difference it will be a Vera Plus running UI7
« Last Edit: June 29, 2017, 07:45:14 pm by samyoue »

Online RichardTSchaefer

• Master Member
    • RTS Services Plugins
Re: Security of comms to server questions
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2017, 08:02:25 pm »
See:
http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,24942.msg174468.html#msg174468

This is used by all mobile apps for remote access since UI6.

There is a simple interface for LAN access to Vera.
To view the interaction between the client and Vera (LAN Access) or the client and Vera remote servers (Remote access)
1) Use Chrome to display the Vera control panel.
2) Right mouse button in the Vera window ... and select Inspect
3) Select the Network tab.