Author Topic: Geofence  (Read 165 times)

Offline doinitsideways

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +2/-0
Geofence
« on: July 11, 2017, 08:35:38 pm »
Hi,

I have three Vera users. My main account and one user for my wife and another user for my wall mounted ipad in the kitchen.

My issue is getting Vera to switch over to away mode. I have my and my wifes geofence zones setup and the tickboxes turned on for enable geofence and also the set to home when 1 home and set to away when nobody is home. The third wall mounted app is set to NOT enable geofencing. But does that mean it is Always reporting as home and not allowing the modes to change when my wife and i both leave the home fence??

Cheers,
Josh

Offline owend

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Geofence
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2017, 06:02:49 pm »
I am also having the problem of VeraPlus not setting Away or Home with geofence.
I updated to the latest firmware and IOS app today and it is still not working.  I have had a ticket open for 8 months with support and was told I am one of the very few that is is not working for.  I have only been told to wait for the next update and it may work for me. 
Is this working for everyone like support says?
If not, what are other people doing to get geofence to work?  Does anyone have geofence working to set Home and Away?
Thanks for any information you can provide.

Offline Don Phillips

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 752
  • Karma: +17/-2
    • Worthington Engineering, Inc.
Re: Geofence
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2017, 01:16:32 pm »
Never had any consistent performance with geofencing so I have been using iPhone Locator for many years.
Vera 3, UI7 1.7.947, CT101 t-stat, Everspring motion detector, GE/Jasco switch, Leviton outlet, AeonLabs door sensor, Insteon garage control, Blue Iris, Sricam SP011, iPhone locator, APCUPSD, VeraMate, VeraAlerts, PLEG, House Modes, Countdown Timer, DVR, Virtual & Multi Switch, Weather, Sys. Mon.

Offline Inzax

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 225
  • Karma: +19/-59
Re: Geofence
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2017, 08:42:12 am »
I am also having the problem of VeraPlus not setting Away or Home with geofence.
I updated to the latest firmware and IOS app today and it is still not working.  I have had a ticket open for 8 months with support and was told I am one of the very few that is is not working for.  I have only been told to wait for the next update and it may work for me. 
Is this working for everyone like support says?
If not, what are other people doing to get geofence to work?  Does anyone have geofence working to set Home and Away?
Thanks for any information you can provide.

My geofence was working very well for an extended period of time.  Wife is on a Samsung G6.  I was on an android Motorola Maxx.  No issues.  I switched to a Samsung G7 and the bottom fell out.  Spent two months tweaking obscure settings.  (setting vera to unmanaged in battery interface, disabling do not disturb, etc...)  I also got the "wow...you are the only one its not working for" response.  In the end, it seemed like the samsung shut down the app in a day regardless of settings dictating otherwise. 

After two months my samsung bricked.  Replacement GS7 has NO issues leading me to believe my original phone was just bad from the start.

On my old crappy phone I did have a brief period of success before it died.  I downloaded the beta version of the app.  This seemed to work reliably. 
Proud Member of the Epic Smite Thread.
Go ahead. Make my day.  Smite me!