Author Topic: Tasker Integration  (Read 21180 times)

Offline radix

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Tasker Integration
« Reply #15 on: May 26, 2012, 01:20:09 am »
As you note on the Tips and Tricks page the data format for intents changed in v.28 from what you see in the video. The problem is however on the website you list the new data format as homebuddy://activate=<vera id>&scene=<scene id> but on the changelog for Home Buddy you list it as homebuddy://activate?vera=<serial no>&scene=<scene id> Looks like the changlog is correct and the website is wrong. You should use the the activate?vera= format rather then the activate=<vera id> suggested on the website. rakstar would you update the website please? this was kinda a pain the in the rear for me.

Offline rakstar

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 342
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • Home Buddy - Home Automation for Android and BlackBerry Playbook
Re: Tasker Integration
« Reply #16 on: May 27, 2012, 08:53:55 am »
Site update... so sorry about the typo  :-[

Offline stuartluck

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Tasker Integration
« Reply #17 on: July 28, 2012, 06:19:53 am »
I have successfully used Tasker to active a scene in Homebuddy when I connect to my wifi and have included a task to generate a notification when the profile is activated. I use the notification as Homebuddy only briefly displays a message which could be missed.

However this method may not be a true notification that the scene has been actioned in Homebuddy as this is assumed by Tasker. I would like to know if it is possible to set up a task to pick up the return confirmation message from Homebuddy to action a notification and signal a confirmed scene activation.

 

Offline rakstar

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 342
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • Home Buddy - Home Automation for Android and BlackBerry Playbook
Re: Tasker Integration
« Reply #18 on: July 28, 2012, 10:55:13 am »
Right now there's no way to do that, but what about if I add a "notify" parameter to the url, for example:

homebuddy://activate?vera=<vera id>&scene=<scene id>&notify=true

this would tell Home Buddy to create a notification instead of a toast message -- will that work for you?

Offline Will H

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Tasker Integration
« Reply #19 on: July 28, 2012, 11:32:38 am »
I'm interested in a true notification as well, and what you propose would work for me.

Offline groovydude

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Tasker Integration
« Reply #20 on: July 30, 2012, 10:06:26 am »
Are there any similar solutions for the iPhone platform?  I've been looking for something simliar to this to help control door locks and such as I enter and exit my home.

Offline garrettwp

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6376
  • Karma: +226/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: Tasker Integration
« Reply #21 on: July 30, 2012, 10:12:15 am »
Not that I know of. You might have better luck asking in the Automator forum.

- Garrett

Offline stuartluck

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Tasker Integration
« Reply #22 on: July 31, 2012, 12:19:54 pm »
Right now there's no way to do that, but what about if I add a "notify" parameter to the url, for example:

homebuddy://activate?vera=<vera id>&scene=<scene id>&notify=true

this would tell Home Buddy to create a notification instead of a toast message -- will that work for you?

This would work for me.

Offline SteveZ

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 328
  • Karma: +4/-1
Re: Tasker Integration
« Reply #23 on: October 02, 2012, 09:21:50 pm »
I am having a problem with homebuddy crashing every time i test the scene in tasker, I have a newer version of tasker then the video shows but everything is the same. in the execute its not called action intent its called send intent and i have followed the new formate listed above, any ideas what could cause it to not work?

Thanks


Offline rakstar

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 342
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • Home Buddy - Home Automation for Android and BlackBerry Playbook
Re: Tasker Integration
« Reply #24 on: October 02, 2012, 11:40:50 pm »
Another user had a similar problem because he left the "<" and ">" characters in.  Does your intent look like the following?

homebuddy://activate?vera=12345&scene=1

Offline SteveZ

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 328
  • Karma: +4/-1
Re: Tasker Integration
« Reply #25 on: October 03, 2012, 10:21:51 am »
yes that is what it looks like but i have that in the data box and the android.intent.action.VIEW in the action box. does that sound right?

thanks for your help


Offline rakstar

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 342
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • Home Buddy - Home Automation for Android and BlackBerry Playbook
Re: Tasker Integration
« Reply #26 on: October 03, 2012, 10:38:20 am »
Did you set Target to Activity as shown here?

Offline SteveZ

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 328
  • Karma: +4/-1
Re: Tasker Integration
« Reply #27 on: October 03, 2012, 12:12:09 pm »
Yes I did


Offline rakstar

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 342
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • Home Buddy - Home Automation for Android and BlackBerry Playbook
Re: Tasker Integration
« Reply #28 on: October 03, 2012, 12:52:51 pm »
Can you email me your user data and the intent string?

Offline SteveZ

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 328
  • Karma: +4/-1
Re: Tasker Integration
« Reply #29 on: October 03, 2012, 04:54:28 pm »
Okay I found the problem, I had the v in Vera capitalized  and didn't see it.

Thank you for your help I really appreciate it